Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. The definitive book for the passionate home cook - nothing else comes close
This book has just arrived and already I can't praise it enough. To get some idea of the sheer content and breadth of this book - check out the content list on their site: [...] - I can't even begin to review the detail of the topics covered but will give a couple of lines on who it may suit.

I'd describe myself as an enthusiastic home cook with a growing...
Published 21 months ago by samwise

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pale shadow of its predecessor
If you're American you'd probably like this a lot more than a European because you'd at least be familiar with the items which they give recipes for. I had hoped that it would be a version of Modernist Cuisine without the need for complex (and expensive) equipment. It isn't. It is mainly a collection of techniques and recipes to produce Modernist versions of American...
Published 17 months ago by Kitchen fiend


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. The definitive book for the passionate home cook - nothing else comes close, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
This book has just arrived and already I can't praise it enough. To get some idea of the sheer content and breadth of this book - check out the content list on their site: [...] - I can't even begin to review the detail of the topics covered but will give a couple of lines on who it may suit.

I'd describe myself as an enthusiastic home cook with a growing shelf of cooking books and countertop of kitchen gadgets (including a sous vide cooker). I'm happy to take time over recipes but don't possess the skills or resources of a professional kitchen.

I have read (or at least dipped into) a large number of cookbooks which have excellent content including the full version of modernist cuisine. The recipes that inspire you in the likes of the Fat Duck Cookbook, Under Pressure and titles of similar calibre are mainly beyond what one can reasonably hope to replicate in the home kitchen due to all the individual parts that go into each dish. This book manages to contain similar dishes but quickly gets to the crux of why something should be cooked in a certain way, explains it simply and gives an interesting recipe that incorporates it (without requiring 8 other parts to be prepared before plating). The stunning photography challenges any coffee table cookbook yet this is not a book that is likely to remain there. There are so many recipes that will inspire you and all are accessible to a (enthusiastic) home cook.

It's printed on the highest quality art paper and includes a cooking proof kitchen manual that includes all the recipes on washable, tear resistant paper. If you have a passion for cooking (or know someone that does) just buy the book - it's well worth the cost and there's no way you can be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is useful for all skill levels, An Inspirational Purchase.., 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
Most recipes require some novel equipment for your kitchen (e.g. sous-vide equipment, ice cream maker, smoker, NO2/CO2 siphon). If you are not interested in buying some of this equipment, this book (and style of cooking) just is not for you. Nothing wrong with that; just don't buy the book to become disappointed.

This should be your first book on modernist cooking (or molecular gastronomy or whatever you want to call it). I like the focus on every-day cooking as opposed to fancy cooking
- it makes it easier to take some of the techniques on board. (I do own the big Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking, which is more encyclopaedic and directed towards professional chefs its an overwhelming book.) In contrast, the current book only makes use of equipment that easily can be bought in most large kitchen stores. If I had written this publication, I would have pushed the envelope a little bit further, but I understand the choice made my its authors. Naturally, there is quite a bit of overlap in content between the two books, but the authors have really written a new book. The recipes all seems to be new. They must have continued to experiment after the first publication and then decided to write it all up. So if you are an amateur chef like me that feels a bit overwhelmed by the big set, you will like this book.
If you are a professional chef, I think this book is for you as its easy to digest and let you then use your creativity.

The book provides a lot of recipes that are variations on a theme. In the regard the book resembles Ash's John Ash: Cooking One on One : Private Lessons in Simple, Contemporary Food from a Master Teacher. Even though that book does not have any modernist cuisine at all only classic cuisine that is tried & tested.

One thing which I find great & is VERY helpful, which I wish would become the standard for cookbooks from now on: measurements are given in weight, volume and scaling percentages! that's right! Weighing is much easier and more efficient. The scaling method is very useful when wanting to make a recipe for 2 or for 12 or even 20. Digital scales are so cheap and useful that I believe that every kitchen should have one sitting on the work top. If you haven't used one when baking, borrow one from a friend and try it -- once you do, you'll be a convert, and you'll thank Myhrvold and Bilet and all the team at The Cooking Lab for this extra measure of help and usefulness. Now if only other cookbook writers and their publishers would take their cue and provide us this.

I have also bought Heston Blumenthal at Home, which is more a rather random collection of modernist cuisine dishes that can be done at home. I like the book, but this current book is a much better choice.
Stay away from The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria. Given the title it it hard to believe, but that book is not written by Adria and it is not about home cooking. (you can read my reviews on both)

My only real complaint is the book has a long chapter of what equipment to buy. I wish the authors would provide some additional comments and tests of equipment on their webpage. Currently, their website has such a section, but it sadly contains largely out of date weblinks.

So don't let the size and weight of the book put you off -- that is just for reading and reference even though it has the recipes in it. What you will use in the kitchen is the smaller spiral bound plasticized pages book with just the recipes. Splattered? The pages wipe clean. Open it up to a recipe and the pages lie flat. Easy to use in kitchen while cooking.
But wait, there's more: there are charts giving guidance on various cooking methods for various cuts of meat, etc., such as best cooking methods for tough cuts of meat and then listing the various ways -- pressure cooker, braising, sous vide, etc for different cuts of meat. And excellent overview. As I say, this book is useful for all skill levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book for the home cook seeking to get the most out of equipment and ingredients., 22 Oct 2012
By 
Njl Andersen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
Modernist Cusine at home is a fantastic book demonstrating how to use the science in a home environment. It is a practical guide to "how to get it done"; whereas the original Modernist Cuisine goes in details on why and takes no short cuts and makes no compromises. In short, it is the volume which pulls the first set together for those without an extensive professional kitchen and unlimited access to ingredients and equipment.

The focus of the book is on techniques and use of equipment which are new or recently had a renaissance. Favorite equipment includes pressure cooker, water bath / CVAP oven and vacuum sealer. As many do not have a water bath and vacuum sealer, makeshift alternative solutions are given. Common to the equipment is that their best use can often be explained by science, thus taking the guesswork out of the equation.

The sections focus on common dishes, such as pizza, burgers, steaks, roast chicken, salmon, vegetables and pies. Many of the recipes offer alternative variations, encouraging the cook to use the fundamental technique while creating their own dishes. By using the on common dishes, it becomes more clear how the techniques can then be applied to many other tried, tested and true recipes.

The book is not meant as an entry level cook book for someone who needs to learn some tricks to keep themselves fed. It is geared towards those who want to learn how to make the most out of available tools and characteristics of various foods, and raise the flavor to a new level. Although in no way necessary, it is my belief this book will inspire more to buy the first set, so as to gain a deeper understanding.

The book keeps the extremely high standard for food photography, a pure delight to look at, also making it a great book for the coffee table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book but Beware of Amazon packaging!, 12 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
This is a superb production, that more than lives up to expectations.

Thankfully it is more affordable than it's predecessor!

My only gripe is the way Amazon has chosen to send this weighty tome!

The book arrived without packaging yesterday, which I find incredible considering it's worth and size. It was simply sent at the mercy of the courier!

I informed Amazon and requested a replacement which arrived today with..........out packaging again!

Unbelievable, I now have two extremely damaged copies to return.

I have had clothing sent in ridiculously large packaging and other items sent in packaging that is way too small.

Surely someone somewhere could get this right?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robs Cook book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
My son always had a fixation on this writer and wanted the full version that is available ,however this single version has given him plenty of excellent ideas to use in his Restaurant .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
It's bigger than I expected!
It has a big book with extraordinary photos and design. The texts and recipes are quite accessible. The smaller book is very convenient version of the bigger one, suitable to keep in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing look at food from scientific perdpective, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
The information and pictures in this book are truly amazing. I have only made one recipe so far, the caramelized carrot soup, and it has totally opened my eyes. Who knew carrots could taste so amazing?! I have made 3 or 4 variations of it with different veggies, all good. The only potential negative is that about 90% of recipes require either pressure cooker or sous vide machine. (They do describe a method of cooking sous vide using mostly stuff you already have to avoid costly equipment purchase but we havent tried that yet.) We bought a pressure cooker because of this book and are so glad we did. Also some recipes ask for slightly off the beaten track ingredients and we live in Norway where odd ingredients and interesting cuts of meat are hard to find but anyone in UK, US or places with big grocery stores wont have a problem. That being said I still consider this a most worthy investment in our cooking and look forward to showing off our new food to friends and family :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pale shadow of its predecessor, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
If you're American you'd probably like this a lot more than a European because you'd at least be familiar with the items which they give recipes for. I had hoped that it would be a version of Modernist Cuisine without the need for complex (and expensive) equipment. It isn't. It is mainly a collection of techniques and recipes to produce Modernist versions of American comfort food dishes. At around 80 it's very poor value, unlike Modernist Cuisine at 5 times the price which is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to say it arrived in perfect condition, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
This is a Christmas present so I won't be able to have a look through book until then, but having read from other reviewers that it arrived damaged etc. I was a little apprehensive about buying it-but at such a good price I couldn't resist. But I think Amazon must be listening to the complaints because the book arrived in a box, within a box, and then wrapped in a mountain of bubble wrap- so it was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Cookery book ever, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Nicolas Dreyfus (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
This is a mammoth work achieved by a very professional team.
Each book is so well written, presented and full of knowledge shared with beautifully created photographs.
Although some what expensive a must for professional chefs.
This will change the way you understand food and cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modernist Cuisine at Home
Modernist Cuisine at Home by Maxime Bilet (Hardcover - 29 Oct 2012)
85.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews