Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£375.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2012
Photography is really amazing, and the book is full of useful information even for amateur cooks. However, I definitely recommend thinking twice and reading for example modernistcuisine.com (homepage of the book) before buying, except if you are professional cook with really high-end kitchen.

For amateur cook, I would recommend buying this book, if

1) it feels like good idea to buy and read over two thousand pages of information, and almost zero useful recipes - majority of recipes in the book are rather complicated, and requires exotic cookware, chemistry lab hardware and/or exotic ingredients.
2) you can and want to use long periods of time for making single (albeit really good) dinner.
3) you are interested in making food in more "scientific way" - measuring all ingredients precisely , using more exact temperatures and so on - instead of traditional way "just add everything until it feels good". Of course, buying and reading this book series doesn't exclude traditional cooking, but for that, it doesn't add really much anything.
4) You are willing to read hundreds of pages of text about cooking.

Still, I'm happy to give 5/5 for the book. It's hard to beat this good information package - I think majority of the information is available out there in the Internet, but it's just impossible to find it and filter out completely wrong ones.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Nuff said! This is the most comprehensive and beautiful set of books on cuisine out there. It will give me many many years of information and data to work off of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
really good book from elementary to professional explained.recomended for young chefs interested about "modernist cuisine" style of cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Wonderful! Love the information and the pictures. Would recommend to anyone serious about cooking. I have learned a lot and great for reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This is the ultimate in recipe books. It’s not something I’d pick the evening meal from, but it is absolutely perfect for understanding the science and rationale for why dishes are assembled the way they are. Beautiful photography, fascinating insights and some phenomenal recipes (most of which take at least a few hours to make).Perfect collection as a gift of to keep at home (although you’ll need a very sturdy bookcase)!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking
This huge sized collection is a must. Great inspirational recipes and tricks and tips for the advanced cook. If you have a passion for food & techniques this is the book/s for you. Don't be put off by the price - its worth every penny.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
From the moment my husband heard about the release of this book, he so dearly hoped that he could some day have it. It was the greatest surprise birthday present that he's ever received...without a doubt!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
There isn't much needs saying about this book other than WOW. This tome of the best part of 25k is just amazing in both presentation and content. More aimed towards a professional chef or VERY avid amateur this book is all you'll need for years to come for the many new techniques flooding the industry. Not only is everything meticulously explained but it is also beautifully photographed.
So many of the pictures I wish I could frame as they would look great on a wall as well as in the book.
Don't buy this book if you don't want to spend hours reading followed by hours in the kitchen.
Do buy it if you want to change your understanding of how things cook and if you REALLY want to challenge yourself in the kitchen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Beautiful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)