Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmed Returns in Style
Just like the successful Buffy, the Vampire Slayer Season 8 comics, Charmed has also returned in comic form and it is a welcome return for the series. The story picks up about a year and a half after the end of Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] which saw the sisters settling down and beginning demon free and magic lite lives. However, there are new evil forces at work who plan to...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by D.J. Graham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Forever charmed?
This was a bit confusing to follow, in the sense of the time line. If this is set 18 months after the end of series 8 then Wyatt and Chris grew too quick! Unless it is meant to be set after the 'flash forward' scene where Chris and Wyatt go school, then it would make sense. It isn't very clear.
Also the characters don't feel quite true to the characters on the show...
Published 3 months ago by Alpha Luna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmed Returns in Style, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
Just like the successful Buffy, the Vampire Slayer Season 8 comics, Charmed has also returned in comic form and it is a welcome return for the series. The story picks up about a year and a half after the end of Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] which saw the sisters settling down and beginning demon free and magic lite lives. However, there are new evil forces at work who plan to not only resurrect one of the sisters' greatest foes, but also to unite the underworld against the Charmed Ones. The story is told over five five issues which make up the following "chapters":

Issue #1 - Charmed Lives
The sisters are enjoying their lives away from fighting demons, however magic still remains a part of their lives with Piper and Phoebe's daughters coming into their powers and Paige teaching at Magic School. Meanwhile, two mysterious enemies Neena and Hogan begin their plot to resurrect The Source.

Issue #2 - No Rest For The Wicca
Phoebe and Piper attend the funeral of their first innocent, Brittany, who has mysteriously died and reverted back to the old age she was after being attacked by the demon Javna the sisters rescued her from. Phoebe has a premonition which shows her that all of The Charmed Ones' past innocents are all in danger.

Issue #3 - Innocents Lost
The sisters attempt to figure out who is after their past innocents which leads them to Tyler Michaels, a firestarter they once helped. As the realise that they must return to fighting demons, Neena and Hogan successfully resurrect The Source.

Issue #4 - Mortal Enemies
The sisters' innocents turn against them after The Source casts a spell, sending the sisters to Magic School in order to devise a plan to stop him. Meanwhile, Piper searches for the place to open her restaurant.

Issue #5 - Unnatural Resources
The sisters go up against The Source after devising a clever plan to vanquish him forever. However, as Neena's plan comes together it appears that this is only the beginning of The Charmed Ones' return to fighting evil.

Also included is Issue #0 a recap issue which came out before Issue #1 which quickly explains the characters and all major events and storylines throughout the series. A special extra story is also included "To The Warren Born" which is a prequel story set during Charlotte Warren's pregnancy with Melinda. It appears that this may have some larger ties to the overall story than simply being an extra, but we'll have to wait and see if it is indeed part of a larger story.

This is a strong opening arc for Charmed, and although it starts off slow, the story does improve issue by issue and by the final issue of the arc Charmed is well and truly back on form. There are many references to past events, as well as some old characters returning and some really nicely put together stories, some of which are self contained such as Phoebe helping Romeo and Juliet and others which are bound to pop up again (Piper's restaurant, Henry and Paige overcoming Henry's actions while under a spell) and I'm not sure if its because of a fresh set of eyes writing the series but the storyline does seem new and exciting and I think it is safe to say that there is still so many more stories that can be told about the Halliwell sisters.

The artwork is mixed, the original artist departs after Issue #3 and a much stronger and capable artist draws Issue #4 onwards. The artwork is incredibly important in a comic book, especially one bases on a TV show as we need to see the characters we know come to life in a new way, which is something the new artist Marcio Abreu does wonderfully. The story itself is written by Paul Ruditis who wrote two Charmed guides as well as a few novels, so the writing is being done by someone who is familiar with the show and it really shows as he has a good grasp of the characters as well as past events.

If you are a Charmed fan then this is highly recommended, especially if you are one who also enjoyed reading Buffy Season 8. I'd say that so far Charmed manages to feel more like what Charmed did on TV than what the Buffy comics do, and I hope they keep going in the direction that they have started because it's great having the show back in this form and hopefully the comics will continue for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Just Brilliant., 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
Buffy, Angel and Charmed, three of some of the best shows ever.

I was very happy when the Buffy and Angel comics were announced. I read them. They are very good. Very, very, very good infact. But one problem. They are much different to the show. The essence has changed and the stories are much bigger.

However, the Charmed comics by Zenoscope remain rooted in the world of the TV show. The first issue picks up 18 months after the series 8 finale and we see the girls adapt to an almost normal life. Piper's opening a restaurant. Phoebes working at the paper again and Paige is teaching. But it isn't charmed without demons or magic.

The writers keep the stories from getting too big, keeping the stories and character on a basic family level. Where they should be. It is a great start to a new season. A must by for Charmed fans and comic fans of the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
If you have read the buffy series you will like this. Easy to read in one go or to pick up for 5 mins. Have you seen the tv show? Are you in to comics? If so this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually Amazing, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
I received this a week ago and finished it in a day. It is sooooo gripping. For any charmed fan its just like the series with its twists and gripping story lines, plus the comedy factor is still there. For any newbies , there is a catch up for you so you can find out the back ground of the story, with a year by year account. This is a Charmed Fan MUST!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought the Halliwells were gone for good..., 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
Warning: Spoilers...
Season 9 of Charmed gets off to a fantastic start in this 5 issue volume. Written by Paul Ruditis and illustrated by various talented artists, season 9 is gripping and continues the series in a way that is just as enchanting as the show. A lot of comic adaptations for TV shows end up being very sci-fi and lose the feel of the original show, Charmed manages not to do this, staying true to the characters, the story and remembering the events of season 1-8 in order to keep continuity.
This first storyarch focuses on two new enemies, Neena and Hogan, who ressurect the Source in the form of a Golem. However, nothing is as simple as it seems. All three sisters are now mothers and have to deal with their children's developing powers aswell as get used to some power advancements of their own. You may not be into comics, I'm not so big on comics myself, but this is Charmed and can easily be imagined on TV. Buy it, you will not be dissapointed with the latest chapter of the Charmed story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Charmed all over again!, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
Ever since its debut on UK TV, I've loved Charmed. I love the premise, the characters, the music, the plot twists, and so on. Despite the fact that my interest in the programme starting to dwindled by the 7th season and I can probably write an essay on why I think Charmed's Season 8 was complete tripe, I do still consider it one of my favourite TV shows and was highly excited about the new comic series which came to fruition thanks to the success of Buffy's season 8 comics (which I also read). Buffy's trend setting of continuing a story after it's finished on television has affected other programmes; including Angel, Pushing Daisies and now Charmed.

Volume 1 contains the issues 0 - 5 of the official season 9 comic of Charmed, plus a bonus prelude story.

It opens up with what looks like pages taken from the Book of Shadows itself, recapping the past 8 years of Charmed; the characters, their families, note-worthy demons and most famous spells from it. It's a fantastic start as it even uses pictures of the actors themselves (such as Prue), illustrations of the best Charmed moments and we feel we've completely caught up with the Charmed ones before we move onto the new adventures. Great opening pages.

The story itself takes place 18 months after the series has ended; the Charmed ones have moved from their old days of demon hunting; they're happily married, had children, advanced in their careers, and so on. All seems peaceful until Piper and Phoebe attend the funeral of the first innocent they saved, Brittany, only to discover her death had unusual circumstances surrounding it. The problem turns out to be much bigger than they realised as it turns out that EVERY innocent they've saved or been associated with in the past 10 years are now in danger!
I loved the premise of the story; it calls back from the very early episodes to the most recent, so every Charmed fan is catered for. The build up of the plot and payoff is greatly handled and the main villain is an old favourite. Plus there's 2 new demonic threats intertwined with it, set to become involved more with an even bigger plot arc later on. It's a great opening narrative that sticks to its original roots as a family orientated and character driven programme, with the sense of humour being mostly spot on. But the story didn't play safe either; it was also bold enough to hold its own as a new story without alienating its core audience. I'm highly looking forward to later volumes and seeing where it all goes.

The Bonus Prelude Story is very quick and entirely skippable; it tries to add more back story to the Melinda Warren ancestry by adding light to the woman who gave birth to her. An interesting idea but since the pages don't really add much to what we already know, it's easy to skim read.

The art I'm mixed about; like Buffy, the cover art for each issue and the book are stunning, characters are very much like the original actors. They also capture the essence of the show brilliantly and the colouring is great. For the actual comic itself however, it's a big step down and it doesn't help that 3 different art styles are used across the book. Issues 1 - 3 have a more cartoon style, quite colourful and character models very soft on the edges. I liked this style the least as the artist obviously had the smallest amount of knowledge of the original programme. The well known locations such as the Halliwell Manor don't look correct to the programme and all 3 Charmed ones had the EXACT SAME female face with only minor hair details to separate them, making it difficult to tell them apart! The artist who worked on issues 4 - 5 made more of an effort for the main leading females (especially Paige & Billie, recognised them straight away) but still had trouble with the males who all had the same generic macho faces and hair styles. The magic used also within the book don't match entirely to the show, adding glows to make the powers look a bit cheap, but without the special effects of a TV programme I can understand why it was added. I also couldn't help but find amusing that Phoebe, the character with the most eccentric and elaborate wardrobe of the show, had rather bland outfits in comic.

First volume of the Charmed comic left me quite pleased that the numerous delays waiting for my copy to arrive were worth it in the end. I was much more positive about the potential future of the series than I felt when I read the first Buffy Season 8 comic, so I hope the 2nd Charmed volume doesn't get pushed back. If you're a Charmed fan, pick this up - be spellbound with the power of 3 all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint!, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Miss H. Wright (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 (Paperback)
This is the first comic book product I've purchased in a very long time. It's not that I'm against comic books, I just prefer regular novels. But as this is Charmed, and is what would/could have happened in Season 9, I found myself tempted by it.

My first impression of this though, was that the artwork is absolutely beautiful, if not stunning! All the artists have done a great job. And the plots are just as strong as the artwork! I was disappointed when I got to the end of this though, as this was just Volume 1; and I'd have to wait, at the time - four whole months, for the next one! So I am currently waiting in anticipation for Volume 2 (which, according to Amazon, is due next month) just to find out what happens next!

This is the next best thing to having another real-life action series! So if you are a big Charmed fan and want to continue following the sisters' story beyond Season 8 - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Followed on from TV series quite well. Not a replacement for the show as nothing could be as good but still an easy, likeable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the show, loved the guys and I LOVE the comic! Can't wait to get and read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forever charmed?, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a bit confusing to follow, in the sense of the time line. If this is set 18 months after the end of series 8 then Wyatt and Chris grew too quick! Unless it is meant to be set after the 'flash forward' scene where Chris and Wyatt go school, then it would make sense. It isn't very clear.
Also the characters don't feel quite true to the characters on the show. If you grew up watching Charmed, as I did, then you get a feeling of how they would react in certain situations and I don't think those expectations were met.
Another issue is that the characters don't really look like the actresses/actors. I know they can't be expected to get them to look 100% correct but at some points it was hard to tell the difference between Leo and Henry or between the sisters. The only feature that seems to have been caught correctly is Paige's chin.
The story/plot felt very rushed and could have gone on for a couple more chapters.
I know this review reads like a long winded moan but I feel a bit let down by this especially after reading the reviews. Being a huge fan of the Charmed franchise I have collected many things over the years from collector cards to the fiction books and this is the first thing I have bought that hasn't been up to the usual standard.
Having written all that this is just my opinion. Some may feel that I am being too picky but that's just how I feel.
It is a decent price for what it is so I would say to others to try it out for yourself. If you have never watched the show before that won't really matter as an explanation about the characters and their past is given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1
Charmed: Season 9 Volume 1 by Paul Ruditis (Paperback - 15 Feb 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews