Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a mind bogglingly good read...
Oriana Small has written frank, honest, funny, sometimes gross, heart wrenching, matter of fact account of her time in the porn industry. Throughout she is likeable, funny and totally honest. It is a no frills account of the reality behind the hype...of drug addiction, infections, bodily fluids, not eating for 2 days before shoots..enemas...and still bodily fluids (!),...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by emski

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More airport trash than porn expose
Firstly, let me address a popular myth. It is a common assumption that because people work in porn, they must be stupid. One of the reviews here begins with "most porn stars find it hard to string a few words together, never mind write anything down". Perhaps this reviewer knows a number of them personally, and thus feels qualifies to make such a statement. I would...
Published 12 months ago by James the King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a mind bogglingly good read..., 13 Aug. 2012
By 
emski "emski" (nordrhein westfalia, DE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlvert: A Porno Memoir (Paperback)
Oriana Small has written frank, honest, funny, sometimes gross, heart wrenching, matter of fact account of her time in the porn industry. Throughout she is likeable, funny and totally honest. It is a no frills account of the reality behind the hype...of drug addiction, infections, bodily fluids, not eating for 2 days before shoots..enemas...and still bodily fluids (!), sometimes sadistic cruelty (being pushed to perform unwillingly, sometimes through tears, being bruised, afraid and ruptured), and sometimes anarchistic adventure and fun, wild partying, life on the edge, of finding the boundary where there is no boundary. Oriana is not sensationalist...she has no need to be, she sees each new act suggested to her by directors as pushing her to further endurance heights (in the same way many of us would consider running a heptathlon) with the stubborn attitude "You will not break me". Some nearly do, they want to see her choke, to be punished: to break....she mostly defies them. There seems to be little account (unsurprisingly) of sensuous enjoyment, rather the achievement of enduring the acts, and a sense of having disempowered legions of men into climax. She takes satisfaction in having pushed herself to the limits of human experience....not many could and put together such a measured, reflective account. It is also a book about co-dependency...in drugs, relationships, sex and with food. Oriana is no victim, she has the insight to rescue herself just in time. Throughout the book you begin to wonder if she will make it out the other side. You really want her to. She has no time for regrets or condemning the industry, which she may or may not return to...her story and events speak for themselves... A must read for anyone thinking of getting into the adult industry or watching it (it strips away any 'glamour' allusion), since it is time the audience understood its objects as subjects, as people with emotions and pain sensors. A great read, a highly recommended reality check about the industry.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic but compelling autobiography., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this memoir. It's candid and frank and the author is quite graphic, when describing her career. She appears to have been quite successful in the porn industry. However the dark side of porn i.e the exploitative directors and fairly exploitative film franchises and relationships with other porn stars lurk ominously in the background throughout. So many porn stars are sucked in and then spat out by the porn industry but Oriana Small, aka Ashley Black, seems to have come out of it to tell this compelling and vivid memoir. Interesting to see what she does next, in terms of writing. She obviously has a flair for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling the truth, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Girlvert: A Porno Memoir (Paperback)
Girlvert is the compelling story of Oriana Small, aka porn star Ashley Blue, during her time as a pornographic film star. This 'porno memoir' takes the reader into the very heart of female porn 'performance' and, without the need to ever watch a frame of pornography, anyone who reads this book will gain a deeply authentic picture of what being a young porn star performer is really all about.

Girlvert is not without humour but most grippingly it evokes strong and at times painful emotions - never more so than in the passages that focus on Oriana's need for appropriate love and attention while reading about her tightrope walk between coercion and free choice to take part in her sometimes gruelling scenes.

For anyone seeking knowledge of the inside story of porn this is sure to be THE classic of the genre - Small takes no prisoners and pulls no punches but writes the most engaging narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girlvert really can write!, 13 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlvert: A Porno Memoir (Paperback)
I stumbled across the work of Oriana Small aka Ashley Blue while working in Brazil when I was left a large colection of pornography. I amongst this smorgasbord of smut was several of the Girlvert series. This was far from your usual porn fair....it had a bizarre plot and lead protagonist.....crazy situations...it was almost art...very low brow but it was the rarest thing...porn where you wanted to see the actual plot that sews together the sex scenes. Ashley Blue is a master of filthy prose, spouting venemous bile and darkly comic philosphy as she assists in the abuse of her victims. When I saw that she had published an autobiography i knew I had to read it, she definetly was an intelligent girl with a slightly warped world view. Her book was well written and insightful, explaining her porno career from her first scenes to present day, how someone would get involved in this industry and how it can cause people to un-ravel. She comes across as self assured but is not afraid to point out her own failings and when she had been weak minded and coerced into situations she was not fully comfortable with. All in all a great read and i hope she writes more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More airport trash than porn expose, 15 July 2014
By 
James the King (...under the stairs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girlvert: A Porno Memoir (Paperback)
Firstly, let me address a popular myth. It is a common assumption that because people work in porn, they must be stupid. One of the reviews here begins with "most porn stars find it hard to string a few words together, never mind write anything down". Perhaps this reviewer knows a number of them personally, and thus feels qualifies to make such a statement. I would suggest that he do a little more homework. A quick google search will tell you that among the porn community there are qualified accountants, musicians, people with degrees is all manner of subjects. These people work in porn for two reasons. They enjoy it. And they make a helluva lot of money.

Having dispelled this myth, I am keen to address the praise this book has received. There are a number of great quotes from reviews on the front and back of the book, and the reviews here support my feeling that a huge part of the phenomenon actually has more to do with the fact that everyone expected it to have been written by a total moron. Oriana Small is not a moron, but is she really that smart? Is this book really that well written? My two cents, it's competently written, at best. She has a sense of humour and is engaging as a story teller, but it was clear to me within a few pages that she is not a writer.

The book is called a porno memoir. This is a total misnomer. A lot of the reviews for this book seem to revel in the idea that this is the only honest-to-goodness "real" account of life in the porn industry. It isn't. This is just one person's story. The reason someone decided it was worth releasing this book, is that it's a particularly extreme story, by virtue of the fact that Ashley Blue made her name by being willing to do pretty much anything on camera. If you find that intriguing, just hang on a minute. The majority of the book is not about porn. The bulk is actually made up of stories about Oriana's totally dysfunctional relationships and disgracefully excessive use of drugs. Don't make the mistake though of thinking that this is some cautionary tale about the excesses and pitfalls of getting rich quickly. For the most part, the stories about partying and doing drugs are told in such a way that it's clear they are not exactly regrets. Sure, there's a token "but the drugs were bad" sentiment thrown in at the end, but the tone of the book throughout suggests that drugs are great, they're hip.

There are pages and pages of whining about various deadbeat boyfriends, all of which signposts the attempt to make this book about something more, something deeper, like a woman's self-worth and the need for equality in a relationship. Sadly it's all so contrived - like I said, Oriana Small is not a writer - that the book comes off more like a trashy airport romance.

And what about the porn? Well, like I have already said, the actual role that porn plays in this book is a pretty small one. Most of the stories are purely anecdotal or are simply there to illustrate what a scumbag her boyfriend was by making her do this, that and the other. It's probably worth letting the squeamish know what "this, that and the other" entailed. Ashley Blue's speciality was anything and everything extreme. On a scale of 1 to 10 (1 being the kind of porn you get in a business hotel, 10 being animals, faeces, rape), we're probably talking about a strong 7 or 8. While a great deal of Ashley's, err, "work" was standard smut, the type for which she's famous and the type talks about in the memoir is a little more gruelling. Among other pleasantries, she subjects herself to being slapped around, choked out, urinated on/in and generally humiliated in every way. The Girlvert series, from which the book takes its name, effectively saw her delivering a similar level of abuse and degradation to other women. I guess its different strokes for different folks, but I found most of it about as erotic as my grandmother's socks. Moreover, it all feels a little too much like shock for shock's sake. The horror stories may actually have had more effect if we were given a few tamer stories about Ashley Blue's working life. Ultimately, despite the fairly modest number of genuine porn stories on offer, the shock value wears off pretty quickly.

There are a few token psychological ponderings, but most are pretty thin. We are told of Oriana's ongoing eating disorder, and maybe we begin to feel a tiny bit of empathy, right before she goes on to sexualise and celebrate her "illness". Her bulimia, she suggests, explains her obsession for shoving her fist down her throat (see front cover), not to mention her willingness to put just about anything else in her mouth. We are told that her mother was/is a drug addict. Isn't that terrible? Apparently not, as we're told this between two celebratory stories of Oriana's own indulgences with various substances. We're told that at one point she was spending $1000 a week on cocaine, but she tells us this in such a way that it feels as though she wants us to be impressed, rather than appalled.

So what does it all amount to for her? Not much really. There isn't much of an arc, and it doesn't feel like any lessons are learned. In fact, in the end, Oriana defends her position in the most hilariously ludicrous way. Let me state here that I am a vehement defender of the right to make and to watch porn. I'm what you might call pro-porn. I think it serves its purpose and a huge number of people clearly enjoy it, so what's to dislike? Sure, there are some bad pockets in the industry, but the majority of people who work in porn do so freely and happily. Having said all of that, Oriana Small illustrates the true limit of her intelligence quite perfectly in the last few pages of this book, trying to justify her extremities by calling them... wait for it... snigger... performance art!

You read that right. Performance art. According to Oriana Small, letting a man pee in your mouth is performance art. So, yeah, really smart girl. Again for the record, I am pro-porn, but I can't help but choke at the suggestion that anybody with basic cognitive faculties would refer to it as performance art, no matter how extreme it is.

So, if you're curious or tempted, read it for a giggle, but don't expect to be blown (no pun intended) away. The quote on the back of the book, comparing the book to Hemmingway, is ludicrous (I'm surprised Hemmingway's estate hasn't sued). To be clear, this book is not a revelation in any way. Oriana Small is not an undiscovered talent. She's just not the intellectually subhuman bimbo everyone apparently expected her to be. Don't let that fool you into thinking this book is any more than it is. It is not a vicarious journey into the murky depths of a sordid world, nor is it an exploration of a dark heart which turned to the light. It's the story of a shallow and self-destructive little girl, told with very little reflective insight by a slightly less shallow and self-destructive young woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The amazing thing about the book.....is you can find Ashley Blue on video tube sites.....in all her acting glory.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insider's view of the porn world, 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every wondered what it's really like being a porn star? Find out here, warts and all about the diseases, drugs and damaging relationships that seem to go hand in hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tells it how it was, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlvert: A Porno Memoir (Paperback)
There are many books by and about ex porn stars , mostly very badly written , trash , sleaze , victim . This isn't ,Oriana can most definitely write and her account of sex and drugs isn't always easy to read [ not for lunch times] but she pushes herself as she did in her films to tell how it was . Its very visual , very over powering and although I couldn't imagine how or why she did it this is such an honest gripping book . Amusing too , the scene of the boy friend worry about disease when it was a rash from whole foods toilet paper made me laugh out loud . One of those books you want to discuss with friends and stays in your mind forever [ not always in a good way ] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth reding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. It is an honest account of life in the porn industry and how easily you can fall into the lifestyle. It can be gross in some parts but that makes it memorable. I would recommend to those who are interested in the adult entertainment business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girlvert: A Porno Memoir
Girlvert: A Porno Memoir by Oriana Small (Paperback - 17 Jan. 2013)
£11.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews