Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book about business process development but...., 2 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
Bruce Silver's book is by far the most valuable book I have read about business modeling and how to be able to use BPMN for that purpose. He looks upon the subject from the standpoint of a business consultant but has also a deep understanding of BPMN. He is able to identify some of deficiencies of BPMN when it comes to use it for business process development in general, not just for creating specifications for how to automate using a computer-based BPMS.
So, it was really interesting for me to read and to compare with my own experiences after having worked with Business Process Development with focus on Value Creation for 20 years and having used BPMN and many other notations.
His approach to modeling and his criteria for what constitutes a purposeful model are well presented and are - according to our experiences - very useful for both the beginner and the more experienced. For us it was most interesting to study the recommendations we did not agree with in order to understand why.
Of course to a certain degree these recommendations inherit the deficiencies of BPMN caused by its short-sighted purpose and its limitations to only model what can be implemented by using a BPMS. Hence, this makes the recommendations less useful - sometimes even counterproductive - when it comes to Business Process Modeling in general which most of the time leads to other types of improvements of the processes than implementing a BPMS. Bruce Silver seems to know that but in order to really understand what he says you have to have a good insight in the principles of a BPMS.
However, we use BPMN as it allows us - in an excellent way - to express in diagrams what value is created and how by the process in focus. But, we almost always have to add details - many times very important for the purpose of the diagram - that violates the rules of BPMN. (We do so by using a program that allows us to do it but gives us warnings about it.)
An excellent book but is lacking an introduction to BPMS and BPMN in order to give the reader a better understanding of why BPMN looks the way it does, the difference in purpose between Business Process Modeling in general and BPMN-modeling and how it could be overcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise and very useful!, 28 April 2010
By 
Carlo Marcoli (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
The book explains history and motivations for BPMN, covers the language semantics and explains how to use BPMN constructs to model typical process scenarios. The focus on "how" to use the language is what makes it extremely useful. It is concise and easy to read, you will enjoy regardless of your previous level of BPMN knowledge.
Just keep in mind that the content is based on BPMN 2.0, if you are using tools supporting older versions of the specs you might want to consider other publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BPMN Method and Style, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
I have been working on a business process modelling project at work which adopted BPMN as the modelling framework. I did a bit of research on the web and found some tutorials and descriptions; however, everything I found was related to the BPMN standard. The standard is great for understanding what all the symbols mean, but I wanted to have a much better understanding of how to fit them altogether to make a real process model. I read several book reviews and decided to purchase Bruce Silver's "BPMN Method and Style". I have not been disappointed. The book uses an example of a car dealership and each chapter of the book introduces new concepts and ideas to make the process model more sophisticated and accurate. The progression is done at rate that makes it easy to follow the explanation. The book will benefit you if you just want and easily digestible overview of BPMN or, like me, if you want to use BPMN in a practical setting - but like all such books, if you want to use BPMN you can't just read, you have to be proactive think about what you are reading and work along with the author with pen and paper. I was not disappointed and highly recommend this for anyone undertaking a business processes modelling project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful!, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
Really useful for adopting BPMN method in the organization across different BPMN users- e.g. system analysts, programmers and business consultants. This book offers for each of these roles different set of BPMN elements and specific rules (style) for modeling processes. The book goes beyond the BPMN specification describing the best BPMN can offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful introduction for BPMN 2, 10 Jun 2011
By 
M. Perry (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
Written in simple English and broken down into two levels of detail. Provides a few example of how not to model as well how to. Very useful Patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for BPMN novices and experts alike, 24 Feb 2011
By 
P. F. Barrett "paulbarrett12" (Hexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
Bruce brings a wealth of experience to this topic and adds a unique slant by providing the 'method and style' mentioned in the book's title. You may take issue with some of what he says (and to be scrupulously fair that's because he has to navigate some of BPMN's idiosyncrasies and shortcomings.)

And I certainly don't subscribe to the view that BPMN is a notation for business people that will bridge the process communications gap between IT and the business.

Nevertheless it's a thought provoking book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BPMN Method and style, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
I am a BPMN aspirant looking for a good book after reading the inconclusive and vague Notations provided by OMG site.I bought this book through a collegues reference and it was really amazing.The way Bruce had handled the notations and the method to explain the importance of the hidden messages behind every notation is brilliant.
I never felt BPMN was so facinating.It was like reading a good novel.
If you need a book to learn BPMN better then this is the book you should opt for.
Thanks Bruce for the time and effort you have put into this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even a non techie can get to grips with it, 2 April 2011
This review is from: BPMN Method and Style: A levels-based methodology for BPM process modeling and improvement using BPMN 2.0 (Paperback)
As an amateur IT guy, I was able to get to get to grips with the key lessons and principles. I got a bit lost in some of the subtleties later in the book, but for my work I only need to understand level 1 as he describes it. Well written, good use of examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews