Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent BJJ Companion
Andre Galvao's grappling credentials are without question, so when you have the opportunity to learn even a small amount of what he has to offer, you should jump at the chance.

In `Drill to Win' Galvao sets about giving readers a thorough understanding of the oft overlooked, but massively important, drilling in BJJ. First impressions of the book are that it is...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by M. Kearney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Drill to win
The title tells you wot the book is all about drilling..there are no locks transitions or anything like that, its based on drills movements which yes get you more mobile for your ground game..
Published 19 months ago by John Hassett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent BJJ Companion, 17 Jun 2011
By 
M. Kearney (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
Andre Galvao's grappling credentials are without question, so when you have the opportunity to learn even a small amount of what he has to offer, you should jump at the chance.

In `Drill to Win' Galvao sets about giving readers a thorough understanding of the oft overlooked, but massively important, drilling in BJJ. First impressions of the book are that it is big, colourful and well constructed; this will take the abuse of being in and out of the gym bag, to and from class, with relative ease. A quick flick through the book shows that there are a huge amount of techniques, all backed up by beautiful illustrations and accurate instructions.

The book itself is very well written; it opens with a miniature, and refreshingly frank biography of Galvao and how he came to be the Jiu Jitsu phenomenon that he is today. It's reassuring to know that someone who overcame poverty and chronic asthma became the multiple time BJJ world champion, and is now guiding you through your own journey.

The structure of the book is excellent. It begins with a comprehensive index (an often overlooked, but essential component) before starting into the structured drill program. The program itself is set out in days, weeks and months (as the title suggests, the book is meant to cover you for the next 12 months) with training taking place three to four days per week.

Galvao is realistic and honest when he informs the reader that the new drilling programme is not going to take the place of their usual routine, but rather, when used to supplement their routine they should see massive gains in their performance. As with all good programmes of this nature it highlights the need for improved diet; Galvao tells us that it is the foundation upon which the rest of his BJJ is formed. The book then sets about a course of effective drills, each chapter building on the skills developed in the last. Users can quite easily pick and choose drills to suit their specific needs, or to create their own circuit. However, to get the most use of the book readers should follow the book from cover to cover, in order.

In conclusion, the book is excellent and will become a valuable asset to any BJJ practitioner who follows it. The drills in the book are also substantially good for developing general health and fitness, alongside sport specific technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of the ADCC absolute champion 2011, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
Having followed Andre on Twitter for a while and meeting him first hand at the ADCC'S in Nottingham I bought this book to get an insight into his training regime. I don't follow it religiously but I do introduce a new drill every few weeks to my BJJ training which seems to be helping my movement and agility while rolling with my peers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking book, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
Only had this a couple of days but it is excellent. Good diagrams, simple language, i will learn a great deal from this publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SOLO DRILLS, 27 Sep 2010
By 
J. Klonowski "Marty" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
I really do like the book + layout. For me as BJJ beginner I find the drills especially interesting. These are scheduled for a period of around 3-4 months. Some are quite advanced and shall keep me busier for longer. Definately inspiring book, not only for beginners...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
Interesting offers various balance techniques , only 2 months so cant quiet score it 5 still have 10 months left!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Drill to win, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
The title tells you wot the book is all about drilling..there are no locks transitions or anything like that, its based on drills movements which yes get you more mobile for your ground game..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for all grapplers, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
This book is not just for Jiu jitsu fighters but for all grapplers.the drills within will take all aspects of your grappling game to another level as well as give you a great way in which you can train grappling movements alone,something which a lot of people think is not possible. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flow, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu (Paperback)
I really like this book. I think the concept and idea of it are really good. Not enough people drill as they find it boring!! But this book has countless single, partner drills and most look like fun to do.
I've only done a few and feel i'm not getting the books full worth, through my own fault though.
I'd recommend it to BJJ or no gi player. Not just for fun but to be able to get good whilst having fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu
Drill to Win: 12 Months to Better Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu by Kevin Howell (Paperback - 15 April 2010)
24.10
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews