Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fundamental game approach
Now if your the type of person that wants book on ultra cool, super flying armbar and other assorted flashy submissions and techniques, you might not want to read this book. Nor is it an MMA manual.

This is not a 'technique' book, it is a work book laying the foundations of a fundamental and functional BJJ game. What impressed me most is his attitude towards...
Published on 19 Dec 2008 by Mr. C. Bishop

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to other reviews!
Read brilliant reviews about this but this book did not live up to them. V. disappointing. Very limited amount of things shown. I thought it was designed for beginner Jiu Jitsu but only small section is for white belt
Published 27 days ago by laura


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ecellent, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I had one 40 min lesson in BJJ fell in love with the sport, bought this book: I like the pictures. the way its written makes a lot of sense and its broken down into belts so i should know what to expect when i finally start for real, alternativly if i never find the time or if i ever take the red pill; the knowledge is in there for me to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
If you practice BJJ, love BJJ, and want to always learn and improve, this is the complete bible as far as I am concerned. Have not seen any BJJ books as good in its descriptions, demonstrations and principles. If you are as far as considering a book like this, you will only be disappointed if you don't have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
Great book.
Very simple to follow and the techniques work well.
I particularly like the break down of techniques based upon grade.
Highly recommended. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
Great book, not much to say other than that. Ribeiro is one of the best instructors and practitioners in the world, but never comes across as patronising. Very helpful for checking techniques and getting you used to thinking in the right way. Not a learn Jiu-Jitsu book, sorry you'll have to go to class for that (for some reason people seem to think that you can buy these books and become Roger Gracie in a week or two???).

The book is divided into fundamentals at different levels of training across the different grades. However this is the grading system that the author thinks you should be following and what you should be learning and concentrating on, not necessarily what you might be doing at your local dojo.

Best compliment I can pay this book is that after going through it it has made me want to train with Ribeiro if I ever get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of techniques. Well organized., 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
Lots of techniques. Well organized. Great pictures. Good coverage of fundamentals.
If you could only have 1 book of BJJ, let it be this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I have found this book very useful so far. Especially helping my defence. A great aid to my training, Have tried a few things here that I haven't been taught in class and pulled some of them off. Also helps me get the fine detail that I might otherwise forget. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
A very well illustrated book, worth it's weight in gold. The pictures and explanations give a 3D view of techniques
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and educational!, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I was expecting to learn quite a few techniques from this book. I was expecting alot but in return got much much more! The books separates the techniques into belt category so it is easy to progress rather than a random assortment of offences and defences. I particularly like the way the books illustrates the techniques in different viewing angles as well as illustrating and explaining what the mistakes are in certain postures and guards. As I final note I would recommend this book without a doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
This is a great book for those starting out in BJJ or those already practicing. It has great pictures, tecniques and tailors them to all levels. This is a must read for anyone who wants ti improve their game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I have to admit, this is one of the best books if you want to learn techniques of Brazilian jiu jitsu. I thought I know enough, but after reading the book I noticed things there still much much more to learn. I am very pleased with the book and recommend for everyone interested in jiu jitsu to read it. 5 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jiu-jitsu University
Jiu-jitsu University by Kevin Howell (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews