Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fundamental game approach
Now if your the type of person that wants book on ultra cool, super flying armbar and other assorted flashy submissions and techniques, you might not want to read this book. Nor is it an MMA manual.

This is not a 'technique' book, it is a work book laying the foundations of a fundamental and functional BJJ game. What impressed me most is his attitude towards...
Published on 19 Dec 2008 by Mr. C. Bishop

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to other reviews!
Read brilliant reviews about this but this book did not live up to them. V. disappointing. Very limited amount of things shown. I thought it was designed for beginner Jiu Jitsu but only small section is for white belt
Published 2 months ago by laura


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
J. A. Boler (Chesterfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
A really well put together book that explains the grading system as it goes through them in order. It wo'nt work miracles but if you have somewhere to practice it gives some excellent techniques to work on and is really well explained an demonstrated in the many photographs>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BOOK, 30 May 2010
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
Excellent book covering techniques of jiu jitsu with excellent pictures included . Simple to follow and understand .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Jiu-Jitsu university buy!!!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I am happy with this product, it is useful best education tool suitable for serious fighting student. This is best example book to read and help you to learn and improve your martial art defence skills.

Worth recommended quality buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I haven't finished this book yet, but i want to review it now anyway.
The white belt part was a great start. I read it just after starting taking classes and it meant that i quickly became very hard to submit. Guys with blue belts were getting frustrated after 5 minutes of mount position with no submission. This book is the only reason that this happened. It provides simple and well illustrated advise on how to do the most efficient thing in every situation.
I am currently reading the blue belt part, and what i got so far, works just as well.
A great book that will boost your jiu jitsu game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any bjj practitioner, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
This is an amazing book and an essential guide for any bjj practitioner.

It features clear descriptions of techniques, and importantly, it identifies common mistakes which lead to failure or submission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great after training, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
This is a good book. After training I take the book out and read through the techniques to see where improvements can be made. It's easy to follow and understand too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good JJ reference, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I have been practicing JJ intensively for 4 years (blue belt), and own several other books mainly from Royce / Renzo / Royler Gracie (all very good) and a few JJ dvds. What I can say is that this book is very very well put together. The system / structure in terms of main focus of each belt is different but it does makes sense and meets my own demands to improve and evolve in certain areas and techniques. I can say that I think that if you follow this book closely and train hard following this system and approach you can't go wrong. You'll have a proper JJ base. This is exactly what I was looking for, no point in learning very advanced techniques as whit/blue belt, what you need is to have a solid base and work from there, and this is exactly the philosophy behind this book and Saulo's teaching methods. Having said that, this book does contain advanced techniques, but for upper belts. The main focus however is for you to prioritize your learning, and focus on the most important areas according to each belt and your experience along your JJ journey. Brilliant book and Saulo is a brilliant insructor. The only fault I have is that I can't go back in time and start training JJ with Saulo 4 or 5 years ago and build a solid base. Great buy, recommend it for every one from novice to black belt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had this when I started Judo., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
This is an excellent educational resource and manual. The photography is excellent. All the angles are carefully chosen to show you how the techniques are performed. Have never done BJJ but this is invaluable for Judo and BJJ practitioners. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
this book is a must for anyone practicing BJJ, its just so clear, step by step explanations with images from different angles! buy it if you don't want me to choke you out on the mats! oss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth acquiring, 12 Dec 2013
By 
V. A. Millett "vinceabdulazeem" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jiu-jitsu University (Paperback)
I'm a newbie to BJJ, just a couple of months into training. This book is a very useful source of ideas and concepts. Its approach is interesting; dividing the belt structure up by their underlying concepts is helpful eg white belts are learning to survive! I have tried a few of the tactics while "rolling". All good stuff! Plenty here for the more advanced jiujiteiro too. Pictures are clear and showing common mistakes as well as correct technique is a great touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jiu-jitsu University
Jiu-jitsu University by Kevin Howell (Paperback - 17 Nov 2008)
£28.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews