Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Bulgakov
This is a very short novel, more a novella really, that is one of Bulgakov's lesser known works. Like most of his books, this was seen by the Russian government as dangerous to their regime, for obvious reasons. There are clear parallels in the plot to the Russian Revolution of 1917, and between the protagonist Persikov and Lenin.

Like most people, I would not...
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by Treefingers

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HG Wells lite
"The Food of the Gods and How It Came to Earth" is one of HG Wells lesser known novels which I read as a teenager and "The Fatal Eggs" takes whole sections of it and transposes it to pre-war Russia. To give credit to Bulgakov he refers to this book in the "Fatal Eggs" making it clear to all that we should read the book from which the original idea for the plot came...
Published on 20 Dec 2007 by M. Bosman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Bulgakov, 24 Oct 2009
This is a very short novel, more a novella really, that is one of Bulgakov's lesser known works. Like most of his books, this was seen by the Russian government as dangerous to their regime, for obvious reasons. There are clear parallels in the plot to the Russian Revolution of 1917, and between the protagonist Persikov and Lenin.

Like most people, I would not regard this work as highly as other Bulgakov novels, it is not even on the same level, for example, as his masterpiece The Master and Margarita. Nonetheless, I would recommend this book as it is a very well-written satire, and the perfect introduction to Bulgakov and Russian authors in general.

The plot is very similiar to one referenced in the text, which is Well's 'The Food of the Gods and How It Came to Earth'. It takes the basic ideas of this and transplants them to Moscow, late 1920s. There are also echoes in it of another Well's novel, War of the Worlds, particularly in the ending.

The plot revolves around a 'Ray of Life' which professor Persikov has invented, and the disastrous consequences when it gets into the wrong hands.

I would advise any fans of Bulgakov's who have not picked this up to do so, even if only to get a complete picture of his writing. And for anyone who is interested in Russian literature, this is the perfect place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HG Wells lite, 20 Dec 2007
"The Food of the Gods and How It Came to Earth" is one of HG Wells lesser known novels which I read as a teenager and "The Fatal Eggs" takes whole sections of it and transposes it to pre-war Russia. To give credit to Bulgakov he refers to this book in the "Fatal Eggs" making it clear to all that we should read the book from which the original idea for the plot came.

I have read all of Bulgakov's works (in English) and would suggest this is his weakest effort. Without a doubt "Master and Margarita" is a work of genius and I would point anyone in that direction. It is somewhat odd and you can't go wrong with anything else by Bulgakov otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 12 Mar 2004
By A Customer
I have read this book in both the original Russian and in Hugh Aplin's SUPERB translation. He delightfully and masterfully conveys the nuances of the original. This is the perfect introduction to Russian literature in translation. BUY THIS BOOK!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant inventor, brilliant invention, brilliantly bloody consequences!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fatal Eggs (Kindle Edition)
If you've never read anything by Bulgakov try this one for starters. It's short, witty, simple but poignant. One-day (or in my case one-night) read. Even if, by the beginning of the end you know what went wrong, you still love it and laugh a lot. Leaving aside political background, satirical sub current ignored, it is a bloody good story (loads of blood). And it's almost hundred years old. Once you'll finish it, you'll buy Master and Margarita. Believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Ray, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fatal Eggs (Kindle Edition)
As an example of early 20th. century science fiction and a sideways look at post-revolutionary Russia from the inside, I found Bulgakov's ideas interesting, funny and exciting. An enjoyable, gripping and sometimes shocking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fatal Eggs
The Fatal Eggs by Mikhail Bulgakov (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews