Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Be Takin' It To The Streets.....Literally!, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Justen Forge (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vietnamese Food.: Vietnamese Street Food Vietnamese to English Translations (Paperback)
It never dawned on this reviewer that I never really understood what I was actually ordering while pointing at pictures on a Vietnamese food menu board. But now, author Bruce Blanshard has done all the legwork for you. Within minutes of cracking this little gem, you'll know your Pho Ga from your Pho Bo and be ordering like a pro straight from the menu.

This luscious lexicon of Vietnamese cuisine, street style, is very well organized, easy to read, comprehensive and accurate - you've got Blanshard's seven years in Hanoi to back that up. As an added bonus, when you hit the back of the book, Blanshard shows that he could easily double as a foodie tour guide with numerous recommended street food addresses and menu items. Well done!

The next time your stomach is growling, grab this guide and head for the ever-growing plethora of food stands and food trucks in your city, driven by hunger and armed with knowledge. Speaking of stomach, I'm craving some Da Day Nuong right now!

5 Stars all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for When Hunger Strikes, 11 Sep 2012
By 
Miss Lavelle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An extremely handy food phrase guide to eating in Vietnam. Full of translated food phrases and also `tried and tested' places to eat in Hanoi. Definitely whets my appetite!

The authors have put this guide together in an easy `simple to read' fashion, which is perfect for when you are travelling to this foreign country and need information fast.

A must-have guide for when you are hungry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traveling to Vietnam? Then you Need this Book!!, 9 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Vietnamese Food.: Vietnamese Street Food Vietnamese to English Translations (Paperback)
You are not going to find a Mc Donald's in Vietnam but what you will find is a huge choice of deliciously prepared Vietnamese street food.

Fat Noodle Vietnamese Food is a must have book for anyone planning on traveling to the country to experience its way of life. The Vietnamese language is very different from ours and if you do not speak it you will miss out on some wonderful culinary delights.

Your standard bookstore travel guide may be able to point you to all the best restaurants in town but it won't translate any of the fine meals offered on the streets that is real Vietnam.

There are over 500 hundred Vietnamese street food dishes that have been translated and put in order to help you get a decent meal without the fuss.

I received a free copy of "Fat Noodle Vietnamese Food" in exchange for a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Idea!, 9 Jun 2014
This book is so useful. Vietnamese food is a favourite of mine so this book was a real find for me. Eating like the locals is a must for me if I want to get real feel for a place and it’s culture... I enjoy it even more when the food’s good value for money and I know exactly what I’m eating. No question about it, there is definitely space in my backpack for this food bible on my trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vietnamese Food.: Vietnamese Street Food Vietnamese to English Translations (Paperback)
This is going to be really useful for our holiday later on this year. I love the way it's written in sections so everything will be easy to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Useful Book on Vietnamese Street Food, 11 Oct 2012
If you are going to visit Vietnam, take this book on street food with you. It's unique in that the author has translated over 500 street food menu items into English. Now you will know what you're eating - anything from beef (Bo) to fish (Ca) to exotic eel (Luon) and frog (Ech). You will no longer have to stare hungrily at menu boards and blindly wonder what you'll choose for lunch when you can't translate from Vietnamese. Fat Noodle's Vietnamese Food has done it all for you.
The book also includes details on how the street food is prepared, and the best places in Vietnam to buy it. Vietnamese Food, created by Bruce and Susan Blanchard, is definitely a buy for anyone visiting Vietnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I can say is WOW!, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Nancy N. Wilson "Book Lover" (Phoenix, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a clear, easy-to-use guide to street food and should be your "instant culinary guide" when traveling in Viet Nam.

Having the desire to enjoy the local, traditional foods in a new country is a big part of the adventure when your goal is to learn as much as possible about the culture. Unfortunately, the language barrier often makes that very difficult.

This book breaks the language barrier for you when it comes to the joy of eating the best food Viet Nam has to offer. Street food is integral to their way of life; and with this guide you can "eat like a local" - what could be more fun than that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eating well out and about in Vietnam, 10 Oct 2012
This review is from: Vietnamese Food.: Vietnamese Street Food Vietnamese to English Translations (Paperback)
With this book, you get exactly what the cover says! A comprehensive (over 500) food guide to the streets of Vietnam. It's not a cookbook, don't expect to whip up Vietnamese dishes via this book. This is about how to find authentic dishes in Vietnam itself. It's a listing of many, many dishes you will encounter while out and about on the streets of Vietnam. The dishes have all been translated and recommended by an Australian foreign resident now living there for seven years. And his guide will help you navigate to the good meals, so of course it's worth it.

My favourite bit: to find specific dishes, the guide includes street addresses and location tips for restaurants and stalls that serve them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to return to Nam and put this book into action, 8 Jun 2014
I have a little secret, I LOVE anything to do with Vietnam. The people, the land, the history, the artists and the food....(to die for!)
This resource is going to come in handy on my next visit to Nam. When you're travelling, it helps if day-to-day things like 'food' are easy - this guide makes it so with its translations and recommendations.

I can't wait to try all the places suggested at the back of the book. I am going to need two months, to work through them all. :-)

If you're heading to Vietnam any time soon or visit there regularly and don't quite have a hold of the 'language' and 'cultural meanings'. Purchase this book, it may well be a lifesaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea!, 13 April 2014
Vietnamese Food: Vietnamese Street Food English Translation is a great idea! In my opinion, if you don’t speak the language, this book is a tourist’s guide to not starving while visiting the heart of Vietnam. If it wasn’t for my husband and his side of the family, my kids and I would have starved when we visited Malaysia and Thailand, for we stayed outside of the tourists areas. I think the concept of this book should be applied to all foreign countries. It will make you look like you know what you are ordering. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vietnamese Food.: Vietnamese Street Food Vietnamese to English Translations
£5.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews