Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very useful.
This book is quite simply the most useful book on CSS I own, and it's great for several reasons.
Firstly, it addresses real world problems (for example, two-pane layout, three-pane layout, navigation tabs, footers, tabular data, drop-down menus, calendars).
Secondly, there is minimal fluff: the introduction is only 10 pages long (and still contains some...
Published on 8 Sep 2005

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who is this book written for?
Before buying this book consider carefully if it is right for you.
If you haven't any grounding in CSS then it isn't a great way of learning: it doesn't walk you through the details of the system, so you will learn by random example - a poor way to learn.
If you are reasonably adept at CSS then the book isn't advanced enough. Case in point: the book steers clear...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by WebSanity


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very useful., 8 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This book is quite simply the most useful book on CSS I own, and it's great for several reasons.
Firstly, it addresses real world problems (for example, two-pane layout, three-pane layout, navigation tabs, footers, tabular data, drop-down menus, calendars).
Secondly, there is minimal fluff: the introduction is only 10 pages long (and still contains some technical information), and the first "How do I ...?" starts on page 11; compare this to some books that pad endlessly with pontification about The Bad Old Days of HTML and cross-browser incompatibility.
Thirdly, the recipes are presented in an extremely approachable, standalone format; typically:
1. The question (for example, "How do I create tabbed navigation with CSS");
2. The solution, usually a complete XHTML page (from DOCTYPE to </html>);
3. A screenshot of the result, sometimes in different browsers;
4. A discussion of the technique used.
More complicated recipes will build up the solution bit by bit, showing screenshots of the intermediate solutions to illustrate precisely what problem next needs to be addressed.
Lastly, the author really seems to "get" how important web standards and accessibility are; she exhorts the web designer to test in text-only browsers like Lynx to ensure web sites are accessible to blind and disabled people, and frequently points out Internet Explorer's poor compatibility, and even knows about "minority" browsers like Konqueror.
Compare this to "CSS Web Design For Dummies", which glibly says:
"Some incompatibility issues still exist, but this book deals with them only occasionally ... you need not write complex workaround code to take into account an audience so small that ... many Web pages simply ignore them. [...] History has elected Internet Explorer as the standard ... Just relax and assume that your Web page visitors [are] using IE."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading the CSS Anthology, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Miguel Witte (Linares, Spain) - See all my reviews
I have enjoyed reading the CSS Anthology because it is one of those (rare?) computer books which gets directly to the point, explaining things in a clear and straightforward manner, from the first to the last page.
Learning how to use CSS for website-building is certainly a difficult task. While it is easy to get a basic grasp of that language from many online-tutorials, I found it very complex to learn how to use CSS for more advanced topics like, how to position elements on a web page. Therefore, I was glad having bought this book.
The title of the book: "The CSS-Anthology - 101 essential tips, tricks and hacks" describes the content of the book very well, since it is exactly that - 101 ways about how to achieve different tasks divided in to nine chapters covering the following topics: 1. Getting Started with CSS, 2. Text Styling and Other Basics, 3. CSS and Images, 4. Navigation, 5. Tabular Data, 6. Forms and User Interfaces, 7 Browser and Device Support, 8. CSS Positioning and Layout, 9. Experimentations, Browser Specific CSS and Future Techniques.
Each and everyone of the 101 tips and tricks comes with an explanation, the respective source code and a discussion part in which the author explains how the CSS-code works and why. It is really like participating in a course, or a workshop and I realized that every tip and trick is based on practical experience and proficiency with CSS. Therefore, I was not surprised to see that Rachel Andrew, the author of the book, works as a professional web developer. Since the same CSS-code can lead to different results in different browsers (depending on the level of CSS implementation in the respective browsers) Rachel Andrew provides also many workarounds and hacks to make sure that one website looks the same, in different browsers.
Learning CSS is something complex and achieving a good level of competence in this field requires a lot of time-consuming online-research, something which can be avoided by reading this book, which covers all important areas for web design, with concrete and practical solutions. Finally I would like to say that, although I am not a native English reader, I found it easy to read the book. It is really a "readable book" and worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 13 Nov 2006
This book was recommended for a course I took on Advanced Web Design and CSS.

I have developed three web sites using it, each one using more and more adventurous and clever little CSS techniques from this book.

I'd recommend it highly. It's very hands on and tackles many of the day to day problems that any beginner or intermediate designer trying to build a web site will inevitably run into pretty quickly.

I've seen quite a few IT books in my time and, let's face it, lots of them are far too 'techie' and so full of information that you don't know where to start on them. Many of them make you want to groan out loud just looking at them.

I found this book refreshingly down to earth and practical and not bogged down with loads of information that the average web designer isn't going to use ever anyway.

If you buy this book, don't forget to go to Sitepoint's web site where you can download all the examples used in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best CSS book you can buy, 13 Oct 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you do a bit of web design on the side, part of a course (like me) or for your living this book will be a godsend. If you're like me and are fairly good at web design - you know HTML well, CSS, some JavaScript maybe and some PHP perhaps, but you're useless at the visual design aspects then this book will again be a godsend.

The book will serve as a handy reference for when you forget those tags which we all do from time to time, failing that it will give the power to produce complete page layouts like a three column layout with links on the left, content in the middle and further images/text on the right, and without a table in site!

This book is perfect for the beginner aswell as it starts from the ground up. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Publication, 2 July 2006
I have recently graduated from University with a degree in Computer Science. As such I have read A LOT of programming books whether its Java, C++, HTML etc. Not being the most talented programmer on the earth I used to go for the "for Dummies books" untill I started reading peoples reviews on Amazon. All the reviews for this book were really positive so I bought it.

NO misakes this is THE best book I have ever read regarding a technical topic. Really well written, really good examples, really good explanations and also it doesn't shy away from grey areas such as browser compatability like many other books. If you write websites either for fun or as a job then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 13 Jan 2006
By 
E. A. Gonzalez "elchenuk" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely great book! I've always found that I learn better when viewing examples or how others do things, this book is the same, it is a collection of 101 tips and every one is useful.
The author has painstakingly picked out the best tips and then goes on to explain how they work and how they were created.
If you are even remotely interested in CSS or need to learn this technology then get this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but get the second edition!, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Richard Kent (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. However, I'm very annoyed as I ordered this book only a week ago and there's absolutely no indication on this page that there is a much newer edition (second edition, August 2007, all in colour and covering modern browsers such as IE7). Great book - but do a search and buy the newer version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who is this book written for?, 26 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before buying this book consider carefully if it is right for you.
If you haven't any grounding in CSS then it isn't a great way of learning: it doesn't walk you through the details of the system, so you will learn by random example - a poor way to learn.
If you are reasonably adept at CSS then the book isn't advanced enough. Case in point: the book steers clear of introducing CSS for full drop down menus - it CAN be done (it is difficult and is very effective for search engine optimisation processes). So, it's not exactly an advanced 'cookbook' to dip into.
So, we guess if you're a middling developer who doesn't want to spend time figuring out how CSS actually works, and are happy to copy and paste fairly simple examples, then this might be the book for you.
However, if you are a beginner, OR looking for more in depth information, then instead go for the excellent "CSS - the missing manual", which will walk you through everything from scratch, give you an excellent grounding in CSS (which you will need if you want to do anything other than copy and pastes of other people's code) AND contains as many examples to base your designs on as this book does anyway (the only downside is that it doesn't match the beautiful print and layout of the Sitepoint books).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for CSS beginners, 15 Sep 2007
By 
This is one of the first CSS books I bought and I still feel it's one of the best for those trying to make the jump from HTML table-layouts to XHTML & CSS layouts. My copy has done the rounds in my office and it's one of the most worn-out, dog-eared books on our shelf which certainly says something about it's popularity and usefulness!

What I like most is the way this book works. It's based around questions, such as "How do I create rollovers in CSS without JavaScript?" or "How do create a fixed-width, centred, two-column layout?" with a solution, clear example images and discussion of the technique. If you're buying your first CSS book then this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any web desingers, 12 Feb 2006
By A Customer
As more of a web developer than a desinger, making websites look good has always been an area I've never been good at. This book is simply a MUST HAVE. It is extremely well written and to the point. It's 'probem' -> 'solution' -> 'discussion' layout gives you the basics of how to make a site look professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The CSS Anthology: 101 Essential Tips, Tricks & Hacks
The CSS Anthology: 101 Essential Tips, Tricks & Hacks by Rachel Andrew (Paperback - 7 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews