Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Fifteen-year-old Alfrieda Emerson already had enough to deal with before finding out she has freaky psychic powers.

Crammed into a one bedroom trailer with her mother on her half-uncle's property, Allie's life has been pretty miserable since her mom decided (thanks to Oprah) that she has fibromyalgia and can't work anymore. Every Thursday, her mother's lawyer,...
Published on 12 Aug. 2009 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A light paranormal read
I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.
'Moonstone' is the first of the Unbidden Magic series and for a reader who is looking for a book which would be a light weekend read I would certainly suggest this.
Allie is the story's reluctant heroine, whose magical powers are triggered after she falls off a ladder, onto an electric fence and into a...
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by kirstyv


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moonstone: 1 (Unbidden Magic) (Paperback)
Fifteen-year-old Alfrieda Emerson already had enough to deal with before finding out she has freaky psychic powers.

Crammed into a one bedroom trailer with her mother on her half-uncle's property, Allie's life has been pretty miserable since her mom decided (thanks to Oprah) that she has fibromyalgia and can't work anymore. Every Thursday, her mother's lawyer, "Big Ed," comes to spend the night, and Allie has to escape to her creepy neighbor's opulent home.

The eccentric Kizzy keeps telling Allie that she has the Gift, but Allie never believed her until a fall from a ladder into the bull pasture triggers something strange in Allie's brain, and she's suddenly able to keep the bull from charging her with a mere thought. Later that night, a hippyish ghost named Trilby appears out of nowhere, claiming to be Allie's spirit guide.

Apparently, Allie has passed "the first test," but Trilby refuses to tell her anything more, except that Allie is part of an ancient prophecy.

Things get weirder when Kizzy gives Allie a moonstone pendant that has been in her family for generations, saying that Allie is meant to have it. If this piece of jewelry means even more magic, Allie wants nothing to do with it. But despite her reluctance, she finds herself in the middle of a magical tug-of-war between those who would misuse the power of the moonstone and those who would see the prophecy fulfilled.

It's time for her to live up to her destiny as "The Maiden Who is Strong of Mind" so she can protect the people that she loves.

This first book in the new UNBIDDEN MAGIC series starts off with great promise, and draws the reader into Allie's world, where ancient conspiracy and magic meet the most common of circumstances. Watching the main character grow to take charge of her life and deal with her new role left me itching to read the next book and find out what happens to her.

Reviewed by: Allison Fraclose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tale if you can get past the awful formatting, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is kind of a weird tale to review without going into detail and spoiling it. Instead, I'll try to say what I liked about it:

The female lead, Allie, was only 14, but was non-bratty, seemed to genuinely care for her mother, her mentor and those in danger and being bullied. She was mature beyond her years, having to be a carer to her sponging, ditsy, loving but benefits/welfare-faker of a single mother, and totally took on board what it meant to be the holder of the Moonstone and the powers and responsibilities that came with it. She was such a refreshing change to the spoilt little rich girls from teen novels.

Her gift itself manifested in several weird and funny ways, especially so in the farting prize bull that suddenly put itself into reverse gear when she shouted 'back up, back up' after being zapped by lightning, which activated her birthright powers. The way in which she came into her powers was funny and not one I'd come across before, making it a refreshing change.

The Moonstone was a cool inheritance, enabling her to see auras and gauge what was within people.

Her innocent teen romance with a gorgeous Latino 'bad boy' with a rep, who seemed to want to change for the new girl in his life, Allie, who didn't only want him for his coolness and street-cred, was really sweet.

The baddies themselves and their purpose, and Allie's own type of power were ones that I'd not come across before in any paranormal romance, and I found this totally refreshing.

The whole tale happened in the midst of Allie's everyday life - with social services, school, welfare cheques, living in a trailer, with people she'd befriended looking out for her - it made the tale all the more warm and all the more believable. I really enjoyed it, and to think that I nearly didn't bother, with the frankly AWFUL formatting. Amazon, pls get this sorted!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A light paranormal read, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
kirstyv (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moonstone: 1 (Unbidden Magic) (Paperback)
I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.
'Moonstone' is the first of the Unbidden Magic series and for a reader who is looking for a book which would be a light weekend read I would certainly suggest this.
Allie is the story's reluctant heroine, whose magical powers are triggered after she falls off a ladder, onto an electric fence and into a bull's field. After speaking to a family friend she realises that she is part if a prophecy and the moonstone is passed onto her, to guard and to help her control her powers.
Allie is naive and easily frightened, but on the other hand she cares for her mother, looks after the trailer and herself. Marilee Brothers has used 'Moonstone' to establish Allie as a character and the paranormal aspects of the story, which I felt were original and interesting, but I also believe that there were details lacking from the plot which keep me from wanting to continue with the Unbidden Magic series.
Allie's relationship with Junior was questionable, in my opinion. I am sure most readers would be hoping for more romance, yet I thought there were too many untrustworthy parts of his character for Allie to fall for him so easily.
When my review list has quietened down I know I will probably come back and read book 2, out of curiosity, as Allie is an entertaining character and it will be interesting to see how she progresses and manages her paranormal powers in the later books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great new series, 29 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Moonstone: 1 (Unbidden Magic) (Paperback)
This is the first in the Unbidden Magic series. I got the whole series for review from Netgalley so I'm going to do one book at a time in review but publish them all at the same time when I've finished. So, on with the review!

Allie gets a moonstone from the town "witch" because she has the "gift", she finds out this gift having is in fact true. She has telekinetic powers. But they come at a price, people want her moonstone and they'll happily kill her and her family to get it.

I enjoyed Allie, although she did seem a bit naive at the beginning I soon found this wasn't really true. She's been forced to grow up fast after her mother decided she had fibromyalgia (after seeing it on Oprah), so she's not as young as she appears. I'm glad she didn't turn out to be naive and could actually stand up for herself, I'm sick of reading YAs that have a weak, immature, naive main character. I know they're YAs and therefore have kids as the main characters but they should still be strong enough to lead a book.

Brothers has a nice writing style that kept me intrigued and wanting to read the rest of the book (always a bonus!). I can't wait to read the rest of the series, luckily I have them on my kindle all lined up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonstone: 1 (Unbidden Magic)
Moonstone: 1 (Unbidden Magic) by Marilee Brothers (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2008)
£9.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews