Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for the littliest room
I really love this book, its so easy to follow and the instructions are well thought out. My friends think that it's great fun and think they must be so hard to do, the "rose" looks hard to do but is easy after the fist one or two. I have been known to make some and leave them when I'm out and about,its just a pity I never see the smiles when they are found. Go on buy the...
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by M. E. Wood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars There are a couple of nice easy ones and then the rest is very involved ...
There are a couple of nice easy ones and then the rest is very involved and too complicated to bother with. Would have preferred to see many more simple ideas in this book
Published 9 months ago by batterseadog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for the littliest room, 6 Feb 2010
By 
M. E. Wood "robbiejay" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
I really love this book, its so easy to follow and the instructions are well thought out. My friends think that it's great fun and think they must be so hard to do, the "rose" looks hard to do but is easy after the fist one or two. I have been known to make some and leave them when I'm out and about,its just a pity I never see the smiles when they are found. Go on buy the book and make someone smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 1 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
This book is well printed and layed out. The instructions are easy to follow, and results look good and make people smile as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book on a whim but it turned out to be great fun. The various designs are easy to follow and the instructions are clear. If you want to turn you boring toilet roll into a piece of art then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Origami loo roll, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
Bought for my sister in law and had a little go myself before wrapping it. Quite fun. My son ask after where had the paper rabbit gone. Told him it had gone for a ride down toilet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not strictly Origami ..., 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Mark Plant "origamimark" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
But does employ origami techniques to create some interesting bog-roll art. The "models" vary from simple to quite involved, but none of them are very difficult - easy intermediate on the conventional origami scale, I would say. The rose on the cover is about the most difficult, but all are explained well with good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun on the toilet seat, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
I have not yet used all the designs in this book as some require some study before you enter the loo to do the business ....and the origami. But it is fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 24 Oct 2009
By 
G. Young "Broontroot" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
Great book to learn how to, when you are fed up with nowt to do, the missus enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its Paper so why not fold it?, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
Toilet Paper Origami (Ed. 2.0) / Toilet Paper Origami - on a Roll (Ed. 1.0)

This review covers both the above books.

I came across these two books by Lynda Wright while looking for something to display/teach at an Origami convention in the UK (yes there are such things!). The theme for the convention was paper - toilet paper (TP) is 'paper' so why not?

For the origami purists out there not all the TP designs in these books are pure origami, i.e. they are not all just folded, most are but not all. Some employ twisting, some employ punching holes and some involve other decoration; there is even very occasional use (say it very quietly) of scissors!

The books are in black and white (except the covers). Every design has a full page photo of the finished article and the instructions for each design are given via photos of each stage with accompanying text. There is even the occassional bit of TP trivia for good measure.

The folding techniques employed are at the simple end of things but because TP is not the sort of paper normally used for folding it presents its own challenges; you are not going to get sharp creases for example. A few of the designs will provide a challenge so might take a few attempts to get a pleasing result.

All TP is not the same; it can be plain; have embossed patterns in it; it may be quilted etc some designs might work better with certain types of TP. Another point to note is that the author is from the USA and it looks like US TP is approx 4 inches (10 cm) square / sheet. In the UK a TP sheet is approx 4 x 5 inches (10 x 12.5 cm); so rectangular not square. You need to take this into account in some of the designs.

The designs are meant to be made and displayed on the end of the toilet roll while it is still on the toilet roll holder (loose end hanging over the top of the toilet roll). The second book also introduces some designs for your spare TP roll.

I haven't made all the designs in these books but taught / displayed a range of the designs (with the authors' permission) as follows:

Taught: Sailboat Afloat (book 1); Heart in a Sleeve (book 1); PaperWhite in a Point (book 1); Rosebud (book 1); Candlestick (book 2); Upsy Daisy (book 2) - this was all done in approx 1 hour and well received.

Display: Upsy Daisy (book 2); Corsage (book 2); Fandangle (book 1); Ship Ahoy (book 2); Bodacious Bow (book 2); Pretty Posy (book 2); Candlestick (book 2).

So overall a fun / quirky off shoot for those into their paper folding (as well as for those that have never tried it). Hopefully it won't drive you around the bend :)

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So easy to do and it just adds that finishing touch. looks so pretty and show your friends your talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of fun, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toilet Paper Origami: Delight your Guests with Fancy Folds and Simple Surface Embellishments (Paperback)
Bought this in a moment of madness but it is a bit of fun and you don't only have to use it on toilet rolls you can use it on any paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews