Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bust of the Discobolus - an introduction to sight size
This concise book demonstrates the execution of a single cast drawing using the traditional sight size method. As far as I can tell this book is a one of a kind introduction to this type of drawing. The author breifly discusses the nature of sight size and its long history, providing a starting point for the study of its many practitioners. Further chapters are on Setup...
Published on 11 Mar. 2008 by Rhett Harrison

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this!
I recommend it for beginner. Good short description.
At the end of the book, some repition och the same picture, "cast drawing", without referencing to the pictures from the
Text, which decresase the degreee of seriousity.

Even though , very good book for beginner.
Published on 28 Feb. 2011 by My recommendation


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bust of the Discobolus - an introduction to sight size, 11 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
This concise book demonstrates the execution of a single cast drawing using the traditional sight size method. As far as I can tell this book is a one of a kind introduction to this type of drawing. The author breifly discusses the nature of sight size and its long history, providing a starting point for the study of its many practitioners. Further chapters are on Setup and Materials, Beginnings of the drawing, Value and Shading, Edges Focus and Finish, concluding with a section of general advice.

I had heard of sight size but struggled to find a clear explanation of its principles. Now I understand its basic nature and feel well equipped to study the method on my own. The book is clearly written and the advice is honest and perceptive to the needs of the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 Jun. 2010
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
I have seen the sight-size approach in use many times, but never really mastered it. This book, which I believe is the only one devoted to the subject, is really very good. It explores the whole process from start to end, using a single drawing of Bust of the Discobolus (the figure on the cover). It spares no effort in explaining everything, for teacher and student alike.

The "is it finished?" section made me smile - this is a vital part of creating any piece of artwork, but is omitted completely from most books about drawing. Over-drawing can ruin of a piece of work, so it is important to know when to stop!

The only thing that lets it down is the printing. It is soft-bound nicely, but the pages within seem to have been printed on cheap paper (feels like less than 60 gram paper to me). The paper is too thin, which causes some show-through of whatever is on the reverse of any page. I hate to mention this, as it is otherwise such a good book.

If you want to learn how to use the sight-size method, then look no further. This is a great book to have with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book!, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
I gave five stars as I really couldn't find fault with this book. It was very informative about techniques of drawing using the sight size method. However, even if you don't plan on using this particular method there are many other handy hints and tips that can improve your drawing skills too. It's very easy to follow and has a great summary at the end of each chapter to refer back to in future.

I'd recommend this book to artists (beginners or more advanced) who are looking to improve their drawing skills. It certainly helped me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to this technique, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
A great book which clearly indentifies and explains all terminology, practise tips, explanation of technique and so forth. A good and thourough detail which is aiding me in my own self study of this practise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
This book gives all the basic elements of drawing representational work. It's a good grounding for everyone wishing to work in this way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
A good intro to site size drawing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast drawing using the sight-size approach, 18 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
A very well written book. Clear and concise explanation of the sight-size technique. The only problem I have is the pricing which, for its length, is a bit expensive when you consider other art books in the same price range currently being sold by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this!, 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
I recommend it for beginner. Good short description.
At the end of the book, some repition och the same picture, "cast drawing", without referencing to the pictures from the
Text, which decresase the degreee of seriousity.

Even though , very good book for beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain Straight Basics, 22 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) (Paperback)
It's a very simple easy to use instruction art book, plain straight basic step to grasp the idea of how to see and learn to draw correctly from still life. I bought this as as a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library)
Cast Drawing Using the Sight-Size Approach (Sight-Size Library) by Darren R. Rousar (Paperback - 12 Nov. 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews