Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kult
In The Kult, Shaun Jeffrey makes a move from horror fiction to the field of the the serial killer novel.
Yet again, he manages to firmly plant his flag in an over crowded market. While this is a crime novel, there are scenes of extreme horror .

In this tale of childhood pacts, and the ramification they bring in later life. The brilliantly named...
Published on 28 Jun. 2009 by Ginger Nuts of Horror

versus
3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a disappointment....
I do tend to buy books based on "star" ratings and really looked forward to discovering a new author and some good intelligent crime/horrror writing....what a disappointment!:(( There is little or no plot, poor characterization, and an ending that I guessed midway through the book (although I use the term book loosely)...so forget all the other reviews (what did they...
Published on 14 Aug. 2011 by RT Twinem


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kult, 28 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
In The Kult, Shaun Jeffrey makes a move from horror fiction to the field of the the serial killer novel.
Yet again, he manages to firmly plant his flag in an over crowded market. While this is a crime novel, there are scenes of extreme horror .

In this tale of childhood pacts, and the ramification they bring in later life. The brilliantly named Detective Prosper Snow, is faced with a choice does he help his childhood friends, whilst trying to solve the case of the brutal serial killer The Oracle or does he walk away and break the pact?

The Oracle a brutal, and I mean brutal, you can almost smell the burnt flesh coming of the page, serial killer, abducts his victims based on their predictability, he then proceeds to kill them in a series of extreme manners. The key to catching him is in the clues he leaves the police, a series of photographs of each of his victims. I really don't want to say to much more about the plot points, as to do so would really spoil it for the reader. Needless to say I tried to decipher the clues, and failed miserable.

As a protagonist, Prosper, is an interesting character, he blames himself foe everything that has gone wrong, and goes wrong in the course of the story. Even though he has got a lot to blame himself for, you still end up rooting for him. This is a credit to the writing talents of Shaun, if you were to actually list some of the things that Prosper had done prior to the events told here and what transpires, you wouldn't like him. A lot of this is done to the fact the Shaun keeps Prosper firmly in the reams of a normal human being, not some super detective who can do no wrong.

The writing is darkly solid, and keeps the plot moving along at a vivid speed to its explosive conclusion. Shaun manges to keep a strong feeling of impending dread throughout the novel. Questions are raised throughout the novel, who or what is the Kult, will Prosper do what is asked of him, who is the Oracle? All of these questions are answered extremely well, I was certainly caught out by the identity of The Kult. And the way in which Shaun handles the decision that Prosper makes in helping or not helping his fiends is handled really well.

This is Shauns' second novel in six years, I for one really hope that his third novel is out soon, and hope hat we haven't seen the last of Prosper Snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kult - Shaun Jeffrey, 23 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. M. P. Smithson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
I am an avid reader of many books of varying genres and my tastes run from horror, crime fiction to comedy.

I have read one of Shaun Jeffrey's previous books "Evilution" and enjoyed that immensely so I eagerly awaited his latest novel.

I would describe The Kult as a crime thriller which, on occassion, put me in mind of the Alex Cross series of books by James Patterson.
The main protagonist is a serial killer who mysteriously calls himself The Oracle for his uncanny ability to predict the way that people will act in a given situation.

The book begins with The Oracle establishing his credentials by committing a series of gruesome murders which also have artistic overtones that seem to mock the Police who are charged with bringing him to justice.

The authorities in this case are represented by Inspector Prosper Snow. Snow, in the first instance seems to be the epitomy of British Policing, a tenacious Detective Inspector but it soon becomes clear that he has a dark secret in his past.
Snow and a group of old school friends have made a secret pact to protect and defend each other and form a gang called "The Kult" hence the book title.

When one of "The Kult" members asks Snow and the others to help him to get revenge on a man by killing him and framing The Oracle for the crime Snow is faced with a dillema that places him between friendship, loyalty and duty.

The Kult is a rivetting read that I could not put down and finished in short order.
The characters are colourful and believable and the plot provides a twist at the end that will leave the reader reeling.

Shaun Jeffrey should be congratulated for another fantastic book. A must read for any fan of the thriller genre and I eagerly await the next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kult Classic From UK Horror Author Shaun Jeffrey, 31 July 2009
By 
Mr. D. J. Cable (Bath, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
Let's face it, there are many authors out there these days, how on earth do you chose something new from what is consistently being thrown at you as the next best seller, or not to be missed from X or Y?

As you trawl the book shelves in search of the book that warrants your hard earned cash the answer is actually easier than you may expect.

I first became aware of Shaun's work a couple of years ago through Voyeurs Of death which was a collection of short stories, a different formula than his latest offering.

The Kult focusses around a serial killer named the Oracle with a rather creative mind but be warned this is not your average thriller or horror book. Shaun has an ability through his unique use of creative wording to once again produce something that is instantly accessible, enjoyable but unnerving at it's very core with incredible twists.

Shaun's work really is one of the best visual experiences you could ever expect in textual form. I really hate to use this ciche but The Kult genuinely is impossible to put down and the only to way to explain this effect is to find out for yourself, because I know for sure that you will not be disappointed. Move over Mr King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and packed with disturbing deaths throughout..., 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
First published in 2009, Shaun Jeffrey's sadistically dark serial killer thriller entitled `The Kult' is his second full length novel to be published.

The tale follows the lead character of Detective Chief Inspector Prosper Snow as a series of disturbing murders begin to take place. The first victim to the psychotic serial killer self-named `The Oracle', is the young and facially disfigured girl Jane Numan. The first that Snow and the rest of the force hear about the murder is when a photograph of the girl's heavily mutilated corpse arrives at the police station in a sealed envelope. From here on in, the victims pile up displaying increasingly elaborate degrees of sadistic mutilation to their corpses - each one in a morbidly artistic pose.

Before long, Snow is contacted by his school time friend Jerel Jones, who is one of four members of a group that was made via a blood pact many years ago. The other two members of the group, Wolfe Weaver and Ty Westwood, collectively known as `The Kult' are also summoned to this meeting. When they are all once again together, Jones divulges a plan he has formulated to have his wife's rapist (The Hatchet Man) murdered by the group. Furthermore, with Snow's insight, Westwood details how he plans to set it up so that `The Oracle' takes the blame for the murder.

After a lot of hesitation from Snow, the group agrees to help out their friend and the murder plot is underway. However, after the abduction and murder of Christine Jones's rapist, events start going from bad to worse when those around Snow, including the members of `The Kult', are suddenly now being targeted by The Oracle.

Snow is put in a difficult position, where he not only has to tackle `The Oracle' who is slowly working his way through his friends and family, but also try to remain unlinked to the murder of The Hatchet Man. Knowing who he can trust becomes one of the greatest challenges for Snow...

From the start, Jeffrey sets the tale off with a triumphant pace, throwing in an abundance of graphically gory murders and morbidly imaginative mutilations that take the likes of David Fincher's 1995 movie `Se7en' to even darker depths.

Jeffrey manages to hook the reader in from the very first page, keeping his foot on the accelerator from then on, making it difficult for the reader to jump off this speeding tale at any one stage. This unrelenting pace is complemented perfectly by the ingenious twists and turns that bombarded the reader, leaving them untrusting of any character that comes along.

With the death toll rising, Jeffrey cleverly pulls the story in to a personal battle for Snow, adding a complex array of desperate emotions that hook the reader still further into the dark depths of the tale.

The use of bold characters displaying an array of individual yet likeable characteristics allows Jeffrey to inject a flowing energy and life to every emotional event that takes place for the members of `The Kult'. With the storyline twisting and turning seemingly with every turn of the page, the underlying tension keeps mounting throughout. Each twist in the plot forms a new ledge for Jeffrey to start again mounting the tension from, until it eventually reaches almost epic proportions, whereby the reader is almost ripping at the pages to discover the truth behind `The Oracle'.

As the storyline races onwards, clues left by `The Oracle' remain un-deciphered, although the solution to these clues seems to be somewhat glaring the reader in the face. This is slightly annoying after a while, with the unsolved `mystery' of the clues left by the killer, simply dragging on. However, this does not ultimately affect the sheer enjoyment of the novel, with its carefully laid subplots creating pure edge-of-the-seat entertainment for the reader.

Hurtling towards the tale's conclusion with the unveiling and final confrontation with `The Oracle', Jeffrey pulls out all the stops with a dramatic grande finale. With such a carefully thought out and elaborate tale, Jeffrey manages to wrap the whole story up perfectly, with each twist that occurred falling perfectly into place, allowing for a truly satisfying conclusion.

Jeffrey purposefully creates an air of mystery that surrounds `The Oracle' and his motives, keeping the reader puzzling over any potential suspects, which manages to draw the reader in to the storyline still further. With the novel over, the reader can reflect upon and admire the subtleties that Jeffrey cunningly injected into the storyline and into the characters at various points throughout the tale, that only at the end become apparent.

This really is a novel that will claw you in to the pages and keep you prisoner within the text until it finally spits you out. This is 328 pages of high pressured tension that will leaving you gasping for air once the final page is turned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Froggy enjoyed his time with Prosper Snow, 3 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
Here's a book that really does live up to these often used phrases for book reviews 'a page tuner of the highest order'... 'a white hot read'... 'sizzling'.

When I first started reading The Kult I was expecting another novel from the school of kooky detective vs sadistic serial killer... thankfully Shaun's novel shattered these expectations and after the initial 70 odd pages I was well and truly hooked.

Two nights later and I'm racing towards the climax of the novel, eager to discover what was in store for our hero, Prosper Snow.

The Kult provided me with one of those great moments when you suddenly realise who the killer actually is just seconds before the author reveals his culprit. I love these moments in books and, indeed films... and as we're talking films for a moment, The Kult brought to mind the giallo's of Argento etc rather than the forensic/police procedural approach of American movies like Silence of the Lambs and others of that ilk.

Shaun's style is very readable and his chapters are quite short and condensed, without sacrificing too much in the way of characterisation, particularly that the main protagonist of the novel. And lets face it, there are plenty of 'house brick' novels out there full of detailed character study, and long multi-part chapters detailing every nuance of a characters life.

The Kult is a THRILLER... and it certainly does thrill, and one that can be enjoyed by horror fans worldwide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gore... Who'd Done It, 17 May 2011
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
The opening of "The Kult" scared me so much, that I thought I'd never finish it (the same happened to me when I read one of Stephen King's stories), but my natural curiosity made me determined to read on. Actually, it was probably not just curiosity, but the great ability of the author to tell the story in such a way that I couldn't put the book down. I'm not the one for the gory bits, but those necessary details were dealt with competently, and as I moved from chapter to chapter, the atmosphere grew ever more gloomy and enigmatic.

The hero, Prosper Snow, comes across as honest and vulnerable, though he presents as tough and resolute to the outside world. He is a great character, and I'll be looking forward to the next novel with his participation.

Having checked out Shaun's profile on the "net", I realise that "The Kult" is going to be made into a movie - not surprising if you take into account the SPECTACULAR denouement of the book, and all I can say is that I wish the book and the author every success, and many more to come - I'll certainly be on the look out for the next one! P.S. - and no, I didn't guess who'd done it, and neither, I think, will you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 24 April 2011
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
I loved this book. Very well written and I was hooked. I ended up going to be later than I want because I couldn't put this book down.If you are into gory and terrifying thrillers than this is a good book for you. Shaun Jeffrey is a awesome writer and is now one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a disappointment...., 14 Aug. 2011
By 
RT Twinem "freeloader" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kult (Paperback)
I do tend to buy books based on "star" ratings and really looked forward to discovering a new author and some good intelligent crime/horrror writing....what a disappointment!:(( There is little or no plot, poor characterization, and an ending that I guessed midway through the book (although I use the term book loosely)...so forget all the other reviews (what did they read?)...best avoided....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kult
The Kult by Shaun Jeffrey (Paperback - 11 May 2009)
Used & New from: £1.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews