Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, honest and amusing insights
I don't hesitate to give this five stars, despite the rather amateurish quality of the writing. This isn't about the writing. It's about a successful, talented, world-weary movie editor considerately passing on a whole career's worth of hard-won wisdom and life experience.

It's all done with such humour and honesty that the less than polished writing style...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Mr. Timothy M. Jokl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adventures in the Film Business...or... How NOT to make movies
I was given this book as a present because I am a video editor. So I was really looking forward to reading this, particularly knowing he edited some great classic films. Unfortunately as other reviewers have pointed out, it is quite badly written (and badly edited) and it reads rather like a vague diary which pays more attention to whether the hotel or accommodation he...
Published 9 days ago by jack manfred


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, honest and amusing insights, 3 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
I don't hesitate to give this five stars, despite the rather amateurish quality of the writing. This isn't about the writing. It's about a successful, talented, world-weary movie editor considerately passing on a whole career's worth of hard-won wisdom and life experience.

It's all done with such humour and honesty that the less than polished writing style actual seems to add something. How often do you see the movie business through the eyes of anyone but the directors and actors? In this book it's the Editor, the quiet guy who sees everyone's weaknesses, their poor performances, foolish deviations from the plan, and bad scripts.

The title Dream Repairman refers to the work of pouring over the heart-breaking miles of dull, repetitive footage, working with the poor coverage, bad acting, and then doing the impossible - making it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adventures in the Film Business...or... How NOT to make movies, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
I was given this book as a present because I am a video editor. So I was really looking forward to reading this, particularly knowing he edited some great classic films. Unfortunately as other reviewers have pointed out, it is quite badly written (and badly edited) and it reads rather like a vague diary which pays more attention to whether the hotel or accommodation he was being put up at by the company was any good rather than the film editing. So in that way, it is not very inspiring (almost all the films he writes were terrible even at script stage and he should have not taken the project on), however he reluctantly took these projects on for various reasons and had a nightmare 6 months or so working on or trying to save a dead horse. Jim himself comes across quite well just because of his honesty and there are a few moments in the book that were genuinely interesting like a page or so talking about 'Marathon Man' toning out the graphic violence by using sound over visuals. I wish there were more parts like this but instead, for example on 'Onegin' directed by Ralph Fiennes sister and starring him as the lead he writes for 3 pages about what arty farty tosh it was. 3 pages for 6 months of his life working on what most people would kill themselves to be working on. In fact, he seems more like a producer at times, only caring whether the film makes money back for the company. Although he admits the Bond film 'The World Is Not Enough' was pretty rubbish he writes fondly about it because of the kudos of working on Bond, having a great pay check, cutting it ahead of schedule and the producers all being pleased with it. So in this regard, the book should be called 'Adventures in the Film Business' or 'How NOT to make movies' because he really makes it clear that is a business first of all and secondly, what an utter waste of money it is by people who don't know what they are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight into the making of movies, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
This is a great read from start to finish. Jim Clark's memoir spans early days as a trainee at Ealing Studios to editing big blockbusters and working with great directors. It contains no-holds-barred revelations of the politics and characters behind the movies and gives a great insight on what it is really like to work on a movie and how it can also affect your personal life. You do not have to be working in the film industry to enjoy this book, I would recommend it to any one interested in cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A view from the cutting-room, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Old Salt (Valencia, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
Having spent 12 years, firstly as a Film Editor and latterly as a Video Editor, I enjoyed the book a lot. However, unless you have a professional interest and/or a film buff's interest you may be less than impressed I think. As the author says in the Foreword it is not a book to read if you are in search of gossip/anecdotes. There is no scandal - no saucy stories. But as an account of one man's life in the Film industry it is quite interesting. To me though it is not a book that I am likely to re-read. I am sure a couple of hours with the Author over a few pints in the Pub would be quite fascinating. (By the way I am not Rita but Rita's husband. My wife doesn't drink pints.) :>)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and very funny in parts, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
This is a funny book. Clark, like a lot of old school film editors, appears to be long-suffering, having had a lifetime of staring at hours of junk, all the while being expected to make it work.

His autobiog is written very simply and it cracks along in the manner of "And then I made..." There are some great stories - the clear winner being his escapade with Franco Zefferelli and "the beeeeetch" - and a lot of insight into how, apparently quite often, successful movies are carved out of very thin material.

Very few editors spill the beans - and editors always know where all the bodies are buried. We're lucky that Clark had the opportunity to share. Walter Murch has written some nice books on theory, and The Conversations is ok, but if you REALLY want to know the good stuff, read Sam O'Steen's "Cut to the Chase". He cut the Graduate, Chinatown, Cool Hand Luke, and has some great Dino de Laurentis stories...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful in parts, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
The author must have been 80 years old when this book came out. And he's not a professional (or actually any kind of) writer. So one should be forgiving.

Some of the telling-it-like-it-is about films (many so dire you won't have heard of them) and the people involved is relatively unusual, at least from this perspective. "Tell-all" film books tend not to be put together by people who know/are willing to tell about things like De Niro not knowing his lines; or directors hating their cast; or how awful Barbara Streisand's party was; or the person who says it was "their" film being fired on the third day. He certainly isn't interested in working in film again, and is happy to name names. So this book will stay on the shelf for that reason.

But don't believe the quote by David Puttnam on the back (I guess he was just doing his old friend a favour): "wonderfully well written". But then, after reading this book, I know not to trust Lord Puttnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not enjoy, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing (Paperback)
I must have missed the point. I found the book flat and containing a lot of repetition - basically, the film was rubbish, I edited it as best I could, everyone involved was difficult to deal with, and the film eventually flopped.
I agree with another reviewer that the book just stopped, without any meaningful ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing
Dream Repairman: Adventures in Film Editing by Jim Clark (Paperback - 1 Jan 2011)
15.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews