Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended
If you wish to learn more about who really runs this troubled world, then read this book and reflect carefully upon its contents. If you have wondered, as I have, why the whole world - governments, corporations and individuals alike - is increasingly mired in debt, then read this book. If you think naively that banks are basically brokers who mediate between depositors...
Published on 13 Aug. 2007 by R. K. Welham

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The premise is correct , the solution is not
"let the govt print the money"

This will solve nothing. Why should we trust the govt any more than the bankers with the money supply ? Look at what Republicans and Democrats have done when trusted with money ? An increase in the supply of money will affect ALL asset prices including agricultural commodities which are assets.

The US constitution says...
Published on 13 Dec. 2009 by Gr Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading in these Difficult Monetary Times, 17 Dec. 2010
By 
Michael C. Bennett (Cornwall. U. K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
A very complex book to read and digest, but to have never read it you will have missed out on learning many important facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone who wants to understand how ..., 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
A must read for anyone who wants to understand how we got where we are with our economies and the truth about why it has happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on the subject so far., 15 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System -- The Sleight of Hand That Has Trapped Us in Debt and How We Can Break Free (Paperback)
-This is a book that should be taught in every school in my opinion, I know of University Economics professors who are unaware of how the banking system really operates, it is not just the "man in the street" who still erroneously believes that banks loan out their depositors funds.
There are some minor factual errors in the book, as can be read in the 1 star reviews, but nothing that detracts from the main thrust that this crooked system is robbing the life blood of society and must stop.
The book is well written in a flowing easy style that doesn't skip facts and does give references, together with the historical background for the events that lead us to this latest crisis point, where we are today. These crises occur every 20-25 years because of the banking system and each is worse than the previous in terms of the size of the "losses" which are then foisted on to the shoulders of the public, citizens, taxpayers or whatever label is in vogue for the sheeple. Thereby shifting the "Wealth to the bankers and the debts to the people". (to reference another work on the subject that can be found on the web)
Even "Primitive" peoples would think us crazy to realize that people were dying in the 1930s crash because they couldn't buy food because they had no job to earn money and yet farmers were leaving food to rot in the fields because they didn't have the money to pay workers to harvest it! For the lack of this thing we call Money, families were starving to death and yet the public could have created it themselves, and still can. (as alluded to as Dorothy's "silver slippers" in the Wizard of Oz).
Families and real people, old and young, are going to die in the West in 2009, as they have been in Third World countries, because of this "Phantom Capital" game that benefits a small clique at the expense of the vast majority. It is already happening where people can afford either Heating OR Food, but not both.
Such a grotesque imbalance cannot be allowed to continue, with the internet and mobile phone technology we should be able to devise an electronic form of Tally Stick using encryption in place of the unique split of the wood of the Tally Stick. Get us back to "interest free" Tally Stick system of the 13th -15th Century where the single bread winner of the family only had to work 25% of the year to meet all the families needs. (this allowed workers to volunteer for communal projects such as the great cathedral building of the time). We are so conditioned by the massive debts created by this phantom money system where we have to work harder and harder for less and less that we find it hard to remember that both parents didn't have to work to meet the bills in times gone by.
Heads of families in tribes up the Amazon only have to work 8 hours a week to meet their needs, I know that they don't have the standard of living expected in the west, but with the mass production and automatic factory technology we have today we should be able to do better in modern society than the 25% per year work load of the 13th Century with their "interest free" Tally Stick system.
There is a huge abundance that nature gives us, mankind has the ingenuity to capitalize on that even further and produce sustainable bounty in harmony with the earth to elevate the quality of life of all, but there are a small number of schemers that would rather prey on mankind itself, like some sort of soul parasite. We need to find the silver bullet that rids us of this vampire. (Please don't write that silver is for werewolves, I know)
The book exposes the Phantom Money clubs' global cancerous spread via IMF, BIS, WTO and World Bank tendrils enabling it to spread the system to other countries and suck the life blood from them with this usurious debt, under the campaign labels of "free trade" and "floating currency".
More importantly for today it details the Banksters' mechanisms for moving the Stock markets with their trillions of phantom dollars and how "naked" share trading is another form of counterfeiting used. The game has got so big that the markets are no longer moved by market forces, but by the machinations of the Banksters. The technical analysts who earn a living predicting stock movements, based on historical market forces, are throwing up their hands in despair as the rules have jumped out of the window and the markets rise and fall totally without rhyme or reason as far as they can see.
Demand for gold is unprecedented, some mints are totally sold out, yet the price of gold is being held down at the $850/Oz level by the Banksters phantom trillions shorting on futures options, which unbalances the supply and demand mechanism that erroneously assumes the cost of money is the same for all players in the market.
It is time to stop the mixing of this phantom capital with real work and value. This capital is created out of thin air and presently is treated the same as real money that is generated by real work by people with a limited time of life, the only real value on earth. This virtual money should be consigned to a virtual world where it can't rob real people of their time and effort. The only way this is going to happen is by the majority becoming aware of the con trick being played on them and this is why this book needs to be taught in schools and put in everyone's hands.
If not, welcome to the plantation planet, now get to work or you don't get fed today.(!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely interesting and very well written., 14 April 2009
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
I am about three fifths through this book and it has told me so many things I didn't know. Systems from all over the world are looked at and much history covered. All these systems tie together because of the small upper elite group who have stopped short of nothing in pursuit of their goal for taking over the world. I wouldn't call it an easy read but everything is explained for the novice. It is also right on cue with the present money situation 09 and there is a website with up to date postings by the author on the latest news. I personally have found myself drawn into the intrigue of it although of course it is rather worrying. It is so nearly five stars but I am reserving that for genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class analysis of a hidden truth!, 5 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
Whilst I wish that the world would open their eyes to the hidden lies that are perpetuated daily to the masses, there are times when that hidden information is explored, dissected and presented in an easy to read and easy to understand format which starts the masses on the path to insight. This is one of those books. Read it, understand it, learn from it and most of all do something about it - the world needs you too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth of the banking system, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. David M. Goodwin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
I have been aware of this corruption from other sources but not in so much detail,a must read !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
TJ MCGINN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, If you do not have money this book will tell you why, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is the poor for are responsible for poverty.
Being nice is cheap, looking nice is very expensive, be nice and visit the bank as often as you can and the shops to make you look nice the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The premise is correct , the solution is not, 13 Dec. 2009
By 
Gr Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
"let the govt print the money"

This will solve nothing. Why should we trust the govt any more than the bankers with the money supply ? Look at what Republicans and Democrats have done when trusted with money ? An increase in the supply of money will affect ALL asset prices including agricultural commodities which are assets.

The US constitution says that only the govt can issue money but the money may ONLY BE GOLD OR SILVER COIN. That will ensure that the govt cannot inflate. Gold and silver coin cannot be inflated. The value , or amount of goods the coin can buy (be exchanged for), will rise and fall IN LINE with the rise and fall of the demand for currency, it cannot be counterfeited like paper, and so will not be inflationary , even in the hands of the govt. It will only be deflationary until any prior residual inflation is wrung out. But, if you dont think we can return to 100% bi-metal coinage, as I don't think we can, then we require a compromise. I would not want to lug a bunch of coins everywhere.

What we need is a money supply out of the control of ANY one group. When a consumer makes an order with a producer, then a Real Bill of Exchange is raised. That bill circulates as money UNTIL the transaction is completed or expires after 90 days without completion. Upon which the bill is settled for gold or silver into the producers bank account, or nothing happens and in both cases the bills dies. ZERO inflation.

Under Real Bills, no cartel owns the money supply. No govt can print money willy-nilly. The amount of money always is in line with commerce. We know from Bush, Obama et al that they cannot be trusted with money. Real Bills work. They have been successfully used before. They went out of circulation when the crime was committed by the usurers to instigate the FED and the other centrl banks so that they could seize control of the most important single factor in the economy : the supply of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fiction., 12 Mar. 2010
By 
Morten Pedersen (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated) (Paperback)
Armed with an extremely shaky understanding of economics, the author has produced a blatantly self-contradictionary, infinitely naive, endless socialistic tirade against the Federal Reserve.

Failing to grasp even simple concepts such as the link between interest rates and default risk, biased to the extent that not once is a counterargument even considered or debated, and with an endless added stream of fabricated or "revised" historical revelations, it's only fitting that just about every left-wing economical conspiracy theory ever generated is contained within this book.

Of historical revelations it can be revealed that Dwight Eisenhower WAS a significant figure before the 2nd World War, Lincoln was assassinated by the banking cartel, and Trotsky was a Wall Street agent! Seriously - I couldn't make this stuff up myself.

Externalities such as the 70'es oil crisis are ignored, and Volcker's interest rate hikes in the 80'es is penned down to "intention of extracting usurious interest payments off 3rd world nations" - blatantly ignoring the global inflation caused by a supply/demand imbalance in terms of oil delivery.

And finally, she claims the main reason for Zimbabwe's hyperinflation was caused by speculators, so if you believe this, I guess this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Web of Debt: The Shocking Truth About Our Money System And How We Can Break Free (Revised and Updated)
Used & New from: £2.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews