Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2012
This is a brilliant book. Very readable, well written and perfectly balanced between technical information, descriptions of riding, history and back story. Despite his many achievements, Mark Gardiner manages to remain close to normal. A bit as if you or me had managed to get a AMA Pro license, and went off racing on the isle of Man. Inch by inch he tunes in his performance on the island, and describes it in a way that any reader can appreciate and imagine, as he doesn`t set himself apart or let on he was just born fast. He also showcases the TT and it`s history making one want to read and watch more about the races there.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Having read and enjoyed Mark's bike magazine contributions for a number of years I stumbled upon this book when looking for some holiday reading. I honestly struggled to put this down and needless to say it never made it to the holiday as I had finished it before we left for the airport.

For me the beauty of the TT is that it 'belongs' to everyone. There are not many events where the brave skint amateur can pit themselves against the greatest course in the world, alongside the finest road racers/teams in the world.

Riding Man takes you through one man's passion for racing, bikes, people, culture and beyond. Mark's Isle of Man brings the spirit of this wonderful place to the reader like no other I have read.

Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
A gem of a book !! What does it take to be able to do the T.T.? Especially as a newcomer with no team backing and little more than the dream to carry him through. A great run through the inspiration and commitment of someone prepared to sell up and move across the world to live the dream, despite the risks and dangers of one of the toughest but most exciting motorsport events anywhere in the world! This is a must read for any bike race or motorsport enthusiast but it also has a much wider appeal to anyone interested in what might drive people to do extraordinary things in their lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
If you like the Isle of Man TT races you will like this book Canadian Mark Gardiner gave up his job 10 years ago to live his dream to ride in the TT.He tells you a little of his history then goes into his time in the Island his trails and tribulations learning the circuit and getting the bike set up for the races. Also in the story information on the reople that helped him another guy gave up his job to film gardiner in his quet to ride the TT. this book keeps you interested from the begining until the end. I read it in Kindle but it is also available in paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
really enjoyed this book anyone who has raced or would love to have a go should read this book mark gardiner comes across as a very modest man who tells it as it is
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
As a. huge fan of both the TT and the Isle of Man I had high hopes for this book before I'd even started and I wasn't disappointed. I was completely engrossed from the very first page. Completely different from any other book I'd read but an absolutely amazing read. I kept reading snippets to my husband(who very rarely reads a book) and he was so impressed he bought it too!!! I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who's been to the TT or has any interest in Road Racing. Best book I've read in years - and I read a lot!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
A really enjoyable book. Not just for the insight into being a newcomer at the TT, but a really good insight into Mark as a person. I've watched the film (One Man's Island) several times, and enjoyed it thoroughly, but that purely covers the 2 weeks of the TT. The book takes you back to the beginning of the process that led Mark to chuck everything in and have a crack at the TT. It's a compelling read, and would probably be of interest to many non-motorcyclists as well from the human interest point of view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
An amazing insight into what it takes to be a tt racer. Really feel like you are there experiencing it all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Slightly disjointed style but a true insight in to a racers mentality. Brings the danger of the tt into sharp focus, while perfectly describing how a rider can accept the risk for the end goal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Great read once mg had got to the island, maybe the build up and life story was a little protracted but very enjoyable all the same
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)