Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice for the budding author
Despite the cover art, this has nothing to do with little green aliens - the POD in question is the "Print On Demand" movement that allows budding authors to get their books into print quickly and cost-effectively.

As such, this book will only appeal if you are (like me) one of those budding authors.

Assuming you are, "POD People" represents one of...
Published on 17 Feb 2007 by Mark Harrison

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point, but....
I really wanted to like this book and the author is obviously enthusiastic about his subject and makes several good points about self-publishing, and his opinions on the importance of a good cover are particularly insightful, but at the end of the day the question that haunts every independent publisher, be they one-book POD people or directors of small companies like...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Maxillus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice for the budding author, 17 Feb 2007
By 
Mark Harrison (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma (Paperback)
Despite the cover art, this has nothing to do with little green aliens - the POD in question is the "Print On Demand" movement that allows budding authors to get their books into print quickly and cost-effectively.

As such, this book will only appeal if you are (like me) one of those budding authors.

Assuming you are, "POD People" represents one of the best uses of a tenner that I've yet to find. The book is down-to-earth, well-written, and of course has the credibility of coming from an author who actually hit some best-seller lists with a Print On Demand novel.

There are few books that deserve the "I wish I'd read this 6 months ago" tagline, but for me, POD People qualifies - as my own book enters the final stages of production, POD People represented an interesting mix of reassurance that I'd made the right choices, and revelation that there are some things I need to over the next few weeks to optimise my chances of selling well.

I ought to stress that the bulk of the material concentrates on how best to market your POD book - and it doesn't get sidetracked into the minutiae of how to use any particular bit of software to actually produce it.

For me, this is exactly what I needed to learn, hence I'm giving this five stars...

... just don't buy it if you're expecting little aliens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point, but...., 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma (Paperback)
I really wanted to like this book and the author is obviously enthusiastic about his subject and makes several good points about self-publishing, and his opinions on the importance of a good cover are particularly insightful, but at the end of the day the question that haunts every independent publisher, be they one-book POD people or directors of small companies like myself, remains completely unanswered. How do you persuade bookstores to stock your titles if they consider you to be a nobody?

Distribution is the key to success, advertising and marketing is pointless if the buying public cannot fall over your product, and good design is wasted if your book is not being seen.

If you are an author contemplating self-publishing your work this is a great place to start. If you are an independent publisher you might do better with Aaron Shepard's (appallingly designed) Aiming at Amazon although both books seem to feel that it's OK to design a book interior with Microsoft Word. (Get real guys!)

There are better marketing tips in John Kremer's 1001 Ways to Market Your Book, but all of these works do nothing to address the overwhelming screams of indifference that will greet your independently published work.

The issue of staying motivated in the face of this, along with the eternal conundrum of cracking Borders and Waterstones, remains unaddressed.

This book is a brave effort and well worth buying, but it will not provide you with all the answers that you need to succeed as an independent publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful primer for poddies, 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma (Paperback)
The author's enthusiasm for his subject is evident, and I wish him every success with his POD novels. There were some very useful tips on getting the most out of Amazon, and also with the ever-difficult interface with the book shop acquisition staff.

The main problems I had were:

I felt on a few occasions the author was rather gloating about his POD success.

Several tips are repeated, wasting book space.

The book was entirely dedicated to the self-publishing route, with nothing specifically for the small-press author like me.

Nonetheless, the Amazon tips and several other promotion tools make the book a very useful addition to the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great energy - but more detail please!, 27 Jun 2008
By 
John Joyce "Author - Masterpiece" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma (Paperback)
As someone researching the POD scene I was naturally drawn to this book by its excellent cover and very catchy title, but was somewhat disappointed by the content. While I had been looking for a practical manual on POD similar to Aaron Shepard's books, I found instead a book dominated by an account of the author's own (well-deserved I am sure) success.

Nevertheless, even if it fails as a DIY manual on POD, this book is good value for money as an inspiring story of someone who DID make it in the POD game.

Now, if someone will only tell me how to crack the marketing and promotion business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the curate's Egg, 27 Nov 2007
This review is from: POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma (Paperback)
While this book is good in places, I felt rather unfulfilled about what I had learnt after reading it. It's not actually that long a read and there does seem to be a lot of repetition all based around his one print-on-demand successful book. I was also not very impressed that once he has had this one success, he left the POD route and went mainstream!

I guess the one saving factor is the Americanised marketing speak, as his confidence in himself and his work gives many self-marketing tips you can follow, so it does complement what I had learnt from other titles.

But if you want better advice, try the "Print on Demand Publishing Guide" by Morris Rosenthal or "Aiming at Amazon" by Aaron Shephard. I don't know either of these authors, but every time I read those books I find some new points I can apply to my own self-publishing site adpublishing.eu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Publishing made accessible, 14 Feb 2009
By 
Steven Unwin "Steve Unwin" (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma (Paperback)
The POD in the title is an abbreviation of `Print On Demand', a technology that is revolutionising the book printing industry around the world.

The availability in recent years of high quality desktop publishing software, linked to the development of the internet has provided the means to generate good quality `print ready' material which can be transferred anywhere in the world.
The problem for many would-be publishers and authors has been the printing and distribution process. The internet has to a large degree addressed the later, and the emergence of online book retailers such as Amazon has made the widespread accessibility of books possible without recourse to stocking in physical book stores.

Until recently however the physical process of getting books into print has continued to provide an obstacle. Traditional publishers, driven by economic constraints and the need for guaranteed volume sales have increasingly concentrated on books of proven formula, hence the plethora of cookbooks and celebrity memoirs, in the UK.

So called Vanity publishers have always provided the means for short production runs, but at considerable expense to the author.

All this has changed with the advent of print-on-demand technology which allows for the economic production of very small print runs, or even the production of single copies to order.

This book, written by a POD author, does not focus on the technology, but shares the experience of using the process from an authors perspective, describing the lessons learned. Jeremy Robinson uses his experience in publishing his previous book as an example, and unashamedly promotes that book at every opportunity.

If you've ever dreamed of being in print, then this book might convince you that it's more achievable then you thought possible, and provide a good start point from which to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma
POD People - Beating the Print-On-Demand Stigma by Jeremy Robinson (Paperback - 1 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: 1.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews