Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivian Maier...who knew?
Another fascinating collection of Maier photos well worth waiting for after Maloof's 'Street photographer' from 2011. This selection is from Jeffrey Goldstein's collection of about sixteen thousand negatives , 225 rolls of film and fifteen hundred colour slides (so expect more books and I'm especially interested in how she handled colour).

The nine chapters...
Published on 28 Oct. 2012 by Robin Benson

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing.
I bought this as I love her photography and the first book by John Maloof is so good. This however is a poorly edited selection of photos that are also badly reproduced. Avoid at all costs and get the Maloof book instead.
Published 23 months ago by T. Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivian Maier...who knew?, 28 Oct. 2012
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
Another fascinating collection of Maier photos well worth waiting for after Maloof's 'Street photographer' from 2011. This selection is from Jeffrey Goldstein's collection of about sixteen thousand negatives , 225 rolls of film and fifteen hundred colour slides (so expect more books and I'm especially interested in how she handled colour).

The nine chapters have photos from 1949 to the mid-seventies and so they are a good sampling of the things that caught Maier's eye. The three chapters that I thought worked the best are: 'America' with forty-seven photos of Los Angeles and New York; 'Maxwell' has twenty photos of this Chicago street market; 'Downtown' with thirty-four taken around the Chicago Loop area. These are photos of Maier at her best, capturing the bustle of big city streets with energy and compassion. One thing missing from Maloof's book was explanation of who was Vivian Maier. 'Out of the shadows' fortunately fills in a lot of detail about her life and interest in photography and each chapter gets a short essay about the photos that follow.

It is inevitable that this book is compared to Maloof's and like another reviewer I prefer his book. It has a much better selection of photos and nearly everyone shows one of Maier's strengths: her ability to create perfect framing. 'Out of the shadows' has many more photos but because of this I thought it also included several that seemed, perhaps, not worth including. The child asleep in a car, page 123, street light on page172, some lit windows floating on a black square, page 277 (it could well be that some some non-specific photos were introduced to create a change of pace as the reader turns the pages, in the 'Street photographer' book several blank pages were used to do this). Maloof's book is also a better production with a good matt art paper for the 200 screen printing which produces solid blacks and mid-tones, something I thought was missing from 'Out of the shadows' though printed with a 175 screen.

Both Maier books, of course, display wonderful photos taken by this extraordinary amateur photographer. Who knew while she was alive? Her legacy will slowly be revealed with each new publication.

>>>LOOK AT SOME INSIDE PAGES by clicking 'customer images' under the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more personal side to her work, than 'Street Photographer'., 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
This book had a profound emotional impact on me. And as a photographer who takes +10000 pictures a year for myself, for indulging in my own interest in photographic images, it has also moved and evolved my views on photography.
One thing that soon stands out very clearly, is that this book is much different from 'Vivian Maier, Street Photographer'. For this reason, anyone interested in Vivian Maier should acquire both. However, I doubt very much these both books gives us any complete or definitive view of Vivian Maier. There is more, must be more, to be revealed.
Another thing that strikes you (with this book), is that Vivian Maier wasn't exactly a "Street Photographer". That's just a label they have applied to her, to position her, in the contemporary establishment of perceptions of photography. Of course many of Maier's images falls into the cathegory of 'Street Photography'. But that's by convenience or accident. Vivian Maier was a photographer. Period. She nurtured an obsessive love for the photographic image and for making them. And she seems to have made an awful lot of them that are truly excellent.
A third thing that strikes you is that she went her own way. All the way. She didn't listen to anybody. She didn't seek any judgement or accolades. She didn't watch or communicate with other photographers. Everything is 100% Vivian Maier, totally 24 carat genuine. She doesn't care if anyone else finds worth in her images. They had immense worth for her. That's all that mattered.
These things are parts of the portrait that this book presents. It's much more personal than 'Street Photographer'. There are a lot of images, and the printing is very good, as it should be.
I've seen some murmurs from others about that the images in this book are not as striking as those in the 'Vivian Maier, Street Photographer' book. Depending upon what you mean by 'striking' or 'strong' that could have some truth in it. However, in my opinion, the images in this book are of the same quality and possibly more interest. They present a more intimate, personal outlook on the world. Many may lack the twist or "moment" of 'street photography', but instead they have a strong sense of the preciousness of time. She captures a sliver of time, for other, more personal and heartfelt reasons, than in the traditional image of life in the public room of street photographers. And it's very easy to read in more value in that. I do it so easy.
Whether the value is there or not, will be up to a lengthy semantic process between gallery owners, critics and art professors (it really is, that's how art works).
In the end it doesn't matter. Vivian Maier's images are still there, whether they are representations of her artistic vision or somebody's selection process. It's enough for me. And it seems to be enough for the big audience as well. I certainly hope interest will be enough to make photography books of her work keep coming out.
I would guard my tounge very carefully, if I were anyone of Vivian Maier's critics. Remember that Van Gogh eventually buried his, in a landslide of ridicule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has a good selection of photos spanning her life journey, 26 Nov. 2013
By 
J. Cheng (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
Another Vivan Maier book and more photos please. If you are a Vivan Maier fan, then you should buy this one. It has a good selection of photos spanning her life journey. If you want more, then check out two other books, the self portrait is a great buy too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing., 7 July 2013
By 
T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
I bought this as I love her photography and the first book by John Maloof is so good. This however is a poorly edited selection of photos that are also badly reproduced. Avoid at all costs and get the Maloof book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book - about an incredible photographer., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
So beautifully presented with clear biographical info - I think the book is excellent value for money and gives a real taste of the talent of Vivian Maier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
brought as a present or my son. it was a randome choice as he has numerous photography books but hel loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great photographer: poor, exploitative product, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
Since 'recently' finding Vivian Maier, I have been a huge fan, but sadly this offering is a blatantly exploitative gathering that does not do her work justice.

To be fair, the book print quality is quite acceptable (if smaller than expected), but (as another, surprisingly isolated reviewer pointed out) the choice and printing of the negatives are *really* poor.

Not every great photographer nails the shot every time, and too many of her 'dud' photos are included (I'd say 70% are indifferent). As for the negative printing, they look like they've been rushed through on low contrast paper all on the same settings and there has been no dodging or burning, even when the pics are screaming for it (e.g. under-exposed faces when backlit etc).

The other John Maloof book is eye-popping both in choice as well as individual care with each shot.

This is going to be returned and I am saddened to have to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
Speedy delivery. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivian Maier Rocks, 14 May 2013
By 
Valerie Houghton (belfast ,ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
This is just exquisite photography.Moments in time...words do not do her pictures justice. I could look at this forever and day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, vivid, powerfull street photography from an undiscovered in their lifetime photographer, 12 May 2013
By 
Aris (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS (Hardcover)
I bought this book after having been in an exhibition of Vivian in the History museum of Chicago. Her photography both in huge enlardgements as well as in this book are stunning, capturing the soul of Chicagos street over a very interesting era.

She is a master of her craft and now a piece of Chicago history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS
VIVIAN MAIER OUT OF THE SHADDOWS by RICHARD CAHAN (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2012)
£32.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews