Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Knowledge - Near perfect
BJ Penn is regarded as one of the best pound-for-pound mixed martial artists in the world. If you watch one of his fights, you will quickly discover that he is a force to be reckoned with. He is currently Lightweight Champion of the UFC and is amongst the top contenders in the Welterweight division. He has a solid ground game, unnatural balance and crisp striking skills -...
Published on 11 Aug. 2008 by Mr. D. S. Malone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected of The Prodigy
Was bit disappointed with this book, expected more Jiu Jitsu from someone like Penn, allthough I suppose if I didnt already own the Fedor book, id be more happier as very similar. All of these Victory belt books seems same with different fighter on the front, they are even co written by same people, Cordoza and Krauss.
Published on 4 April 2010 by S. CHARMLEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Knowledge - Near perfect, 11 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. D. S. Malone (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
BJ Penn is regarded as one of the best pound-for-pound mixed martial artists in the world. If you watch one of his fights, you will quickly discover that he is a force to be reckoned with. He is currently Lightweight Champion of the UFC and is amongst the top contenders in the Welterweight division. He has a solid ground game, unnatural balance and crisp striking skills - a true well-rounded fighter.

So what do you get when a fighter of his calibre writes a book? A vital asset to any practitioner that's what.

The book starts with an entertaining foreword that acts as a nice introduction to Penn's fighting career. He also puts you into the right mentality with the training + drills sections. From there onwards it moves towards the many techniques listed within the book.

The book is clearly split into appropriate sections in a logical order. Stand-up to clinch to ground. The techniques are given a brief write up which is accompanied by pictures from multiple camera angles and easy-to-follow captions. This is especially useful for any submissions novice, as some techniques could be made difficult to learn from just one camera angle.

All techniques within this book provide a wealth of information on the basics of MMA. However, if you are considering a move into MMA this book alone is unlikely to lead you to successful career. It only covers the basic techniques from every field.

I used this book as a teaching tool at my MMA class; newcomers can easily follow the instructions and it allows them to gradually improve all aspects of their game whilst providing tips here and there. At the start of each section there is an introduction and the `DO's' and `DON'Ts' list make for a very informative read.

PROS-

Covers a wide variety of techniques
Multiple camera angles
Effective instructional captions
Can set the foundation of a mixed martial artist to be

CONS-
Techniques from every aspect (striking, clinch work, throws and submissions) are very basic. The ground-game section for example covers the basic submissions such as RNC, guillotine choke, arms bar, kimura, americana, omaplata and triangle choke. Any experienced BJJ/Judo guys buying this book may want to consider an additional purchase if they wish to advance their own ground game. The same goes for any strikers out there - there are limited striking techniques, little to none on kicks. This is why one star is deducted.

In conclusion, this is an excellent book and it provides many of the most effective techniques used to by champions today. It sets the tone for any amateur and anyone who is interesting in the ever-growing sport of mixed martial arts.

This book is indeed a book of priceless knowledge and a must buy (unless you wanna get TKO'ed by some basic technique).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the standard, 27 July 2007
By 
R. Hannis (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
Anyone who has seen BJ fight knows what crazy skills he has. He's unorthodox with a complete skill set that we all aspire to.

This book goes some way to explaining what he does and how he does it. If you think this book will get you anywhere near his level then you'll need some amazing natural ability of your own. What this book does offer is a solid foundation in training for modern mma. It covers every area the fight could take place, standing, against the cage, in the guard, you name it he's covered it.

There are countless techniques covered from real basics to more advanced counters to the previously shown techniques.

One of the great points of the book is that where needed 2 camera angles are used for the techniques. It might seem obvious that such a simple thing makes the techniques so much easier to understand but it's not always used in these type of books. This alone takes the guess work out of positions so you can really understand what he is showing.

Although BJ's background is BJJ this is not a BJJ book, he works on the principle you should stick at what you're good at. So if you are a striker that's your first line of attack, if that fails then you grapple. If you've spent years mastering an art only to be told not to use it in a book that book is quickly discarded. So whatever your number one skill set is this book teaches you to how to make better use of it while giving you a great plan B should you need it.

Awaiting Randy's book now to see if he can deleiver the same standard as BJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledge is Power, 10 July 2007
By 
S. Ali (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
I had high expectations for this book and it didn't fail to deliver. Penn and Kraus have put a great deal of thought into this book. It is well structured and all the major topics (Stand Up, Clinch & Ground) are well covered. Penn describes his MMA game in this book, and the layout makes it very easy to navigate and find what you are looking for.

The striking section in itself was not my favourite as only the basic strikes are covered in this section. But if you look throughout the book as whole then you will see that Penn has covered striking from every position imaginable. The only other thing I would say about the striking is that kicking is not covered in this book at all. But that said, how many times do you see BJ throw a kick in a fight?

My favourite section of this book however has to be the ground game one. I would have bought this book solely for that section. It covers BJJ for the MMA game fantastically. What makes it so good is that unlike a lot of other books, the ground section is aimed at MMA specifically. You don't get your sport JJ stuff here but as always the fundamentals can be transferred.

Penn and Kraus have set the standard by which all future MMA instuctional books will be measured and truth be told, they have set the bar quite high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the Boring Bits Interesting, 27 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
The other reviewers have looked at this as a book for training but I can recommend this for anyone who follows MMA moderately seriously. What I found most helpful was the way that Penn and his co-authors work through what the casual fan sees as the "boring bits" when there are no fists, knees, elbows or feet flying around. At the end I really felt that I had a much better understanding of what was going on when fighters are against the cage or the importance of the struggle for position and posture on the ground - you begin to see a lot of technique at work where before you only saw two blokes leaning against a fence.

It's worth mentioning that for a book that is mostly pictures this is quite a serious read. You really need to pay attention to make sense of the techniques but you are rewarded with a much deeper understanding of what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great For Mixed Martial Arts, 11 July 2008
By 
Sterling (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
Although this book is very good, it is a comprehensive guide to Mixed Martial Arts as a discipline rather than a complete book of all martial arts techniques required for MMA. The information on striking, submissions and wrestling is quite basic and elaborate detail on the execution of techniques isn't brilliant, but the book assumes you have knowledge of submissions, strikes and wrestling and the real gem of information is on applying this to MMA, i.e. how to utilise the fence for takedowns, how to use boxing combos to setup a takedown, and how to use striking to defend against submissions, (as opposed to straight grappling), using a thai clinch to escape wrestling style pummelling etc. In this sense, this book is genuinely a wealth of knowledge, and fantastically displays the application of muay thai, boxing, jiu-jitsu and wrestling to MMA, with a heavy focus on the almalgamation of multiple disciplines to suceed in MMA. However, I would advise against purchasing this book for a comprehensive guide to all areas of MMA, some information on striking leaves out important nuances, and the same goes for submissions (a specific striking/grappling etc. book would be better for this), but as aforementioned, the focus of the book is on mixed martial arts strategies and techniques specifically, and in this sense, 'Mixed Martial Arts: Book of Knowledge' is in no way a misleading title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book of its kind out there, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
A manual like this will never take the place of hands on tuition or practice.

even though it has a fair bit of info it still covers very basic techniques.

some what i consider basic techniques are not even in there (for example applying a guillotine after a take down attempt).

I say it is most usefull when talking about the transitions from striking to grappling & vice versa.

Nice bit of backstory on BJ Penn also.

However if your new to MMA then get it, when your not training pour through the contents & try to envision what might be usefull to you or the little nuances of the techniques that you dont seem to get quite right then try drilling them with a compliant partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one word - awesome!, 19 May 2008
By 
G. Cooke (wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
Quite simply this book is the bible when it comes to MMA. Well written and brilliantly put together its full of high percentage techniques that work.

It wont turn you into a world champ by itself, only you can do that. But it gives you some excellent building blocks and a great basis for you to start drilling, learning and perfecting.

My one criticism (if you can call it that) is that id have liked to have seen a stretching section to have some idea of what BJ does to get that insane flexibility !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 10 July 2007
By 
Mr. B. Barnes "BB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
I found this book very useful it covers all the techniques u need for mma in detail and every page includes numerous colour photos from all angles. It means you can easily grasp and clearly see the techniques demonstrated.

It also covers all positions u will find yourself in during a mma bout, the section on fighting against the and standing up from the cage was very useful.

Overall whether you are a beginner to the sport of a mma or just looking to improve your game you will not be disappointed. It's become my new bible for mma, in short buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected of The Prodigy, 4 April 2010
By 
S. CHARMLEY "cHaRMo" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
Was bit disappointed with this book, expected more Jiu Jitsu from someone like Penn, allthough I suppose if I didnt already own the Fedor book, id be more happier as very similar. All of these Victory belt books seems same with different fighter on the front, they are even co written by same people, Cordoza and Krauss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Buy, 16 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge (Paperback)
After reading all the great reviews on this website I decided to buy it, I was not dissapointed. The book totally exceeded the high expectations I had for it. No matter if you are a fighter or a interested fan listen to the reviews and buy it, it will not dissapoint in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge
Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge by Erich Krauss (Paperback - 31 May 2007)
Used & New from: £20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews