Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Bundts, bundts and more bundts with not many pictures to go between them. At first glance on a bookshelf with lots of other cake books vying for your attention, you might be forgiven for putting this book to the side due to its somewhat modest appearance.
That would be a BIG MISTAKE to make. This is another of those books that can be best described as a "hidden secret". It is packed full of recipes and good information and it also serves as a damn good base to experiment from or develop your own ideas for the future. A good confidence builder even.
Starting with an introduction to the author you get a bit of a flavour to her background and what drove her to open a boutique bakery. Then it is on with the show, starting with "what is a bundt?" Even though this is a predominantly American term many people still ask that when they visit the bakery - and they are not confused, curious Europeans either.
The inexperienced wannabe bundt baker is given a great "beginner's course" to bundt making, written not to patronise but to educate in plain language (something many chefs/authors could note well). Close attention is even given to the ingredients (building blocks), the methodology to be used and, of course, the tools that are necessary to build that wonderful edifice.
Thereafter you get to have a go in the kitchen making your own basic cakes (or vanilla cakes as the author calls them) but you are not stuck with a couple of boring recipes but can soon produce such exotic items as a Pina Colada cake or an Aphrodisiac Cherry Vanilla Almond Cake. Yummy! So-called "basic" pound cakes and their variations are also covered.
Not tired of cakes yet? Good as then there is a wide range of chocolate bundt cakes to consider along with marble bundts, savoury bundts and "others". To top it off (sic) you then get a brief overview of frosting and decoration for your cakes to add even more variety. A host of resources, troubleshooting tips and supply suggestions close the book off.
For such a small book you get a lot for your dough (no more food puns - ed) but the information given is clear and easy-to-understand and you don't feel hectored or dazzled by "cooking language" either. A little gem of a book, in fact, that could be a template for other recipe books with ease.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 1 March 2012
Great Bundt cake recipes - but more than a recipe book - a great read too! Lots of anecdotes regarding recipe 'creation' - lots of scope for tweaking each cake 'idea' Small handy size - not heavy and bulky - just perfect. (and I'm not a baker) Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 28 June 2013
This little book is a total wow, I really love it... The recipes are in American weights i.e. in cups so if you are going to purchase the book buy some cups measures which are not too expensive and come in useful for lots of other books. I have tried two cakes so far and took one to work and it was a total success with several people asking for the recipe which was a compliment.
The book takes you from start to finish of the how to bake the prefect bundt......
Buy the book.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 2 May 2013
This is a book you may easily miss on a bookshelf - small and unassuming. However, once you delve in you will find it is full of little treasures. So far I have made the coconut bundt with coconut buttercream frosting, and the lemon bundt, both of which have had great flavour and great texture. Hoping to get round to doing more recipes from this book soon. Would love to try some of the smaller bundts but can't seem to find any small tins in the UK, only the large ones.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 20 March 2014
I bought my bundt tin last year and went in search of recipes, only to be disappointed as most of the bundt recipe books call for packet mix. This book is all cooking from scratch. It is only a little book but the recipes are clear and easy to follow. American conversions are easy to find on the internet, so american weights, oven temperatures are really not a problem.
So far i have made the blueberry cake and the banana cake which were both delicious and went down very well with the family. The strawberry cake is in the oven as i write this review
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 January 2015
This is a great little book. It IS little and has few photos as others have said. But then it is about half the price of the fancier books. In my opinion it packs a punch far beyond its exterior. The method of giving 'template' recipes and then ringing changes on them, makes a lot of sense and encourages bakers to ring their own changes. As a UK user I wish it gave weight measurements but it is an American book. The author specifies how to measure in cups so at least if you do what she says, using US measuring cups, you get a good result. Or if you are more comfortable with weights, measure a US measuring cup of flour as she specifies, then weigh that in grams; and do the same with sugar. Then just round to the nearest easy-to-remember gram. Eg if you weigh a cup of flour, measuring it in the way specified, and it is 121g, round down to 120g. (5g is roughly 1 tsp). Btw 'a cup of butter' = 8 oz = c225g; '1/4 cup of butter' = 2 oz = c55g. As a rough rule of thumb, a cup of flour is about 4.25 oz or 120g, a cup of caster sugar is about 170-190g, a cup of icing sugar is quite a bit less, more like flour.

If you can get hold of good quality cake flour it does make a tenderer, fluffier crumb, and you don't have to worry about beating for too long after you add the flour. If you use McDougalls Supreme Sponge flour you can leave out the leavening.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2013
Bought this initially because I fancied having a go at a Bundt cake. Instructions clear & easy to follow and this book has loads of recipes that I'm going to enjoy making. Thought it was so good in fact that I bought another one as a present for my daughter in law
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 February 2015
Recipes look really nice but unfortunately lots of american ingredients and measures. I have the measuring cups but got fed up of trying to find some of the ingredients.. Have requested a return!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 March 2013
Great little book. Everything clear & easy to read & understand. Book is set out in sections which you can refer back to when required. Great little book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
This recipe book helped me make a professional cake first time. I am not a very experienced baker and did have to translate the measurements to British ones but that done it was simple to make a bundt cake. I couldn't see how I was going to translate the quantities needed for this size of tin without some help and this book was it. A friendly and interesting book that is very encouraging and informal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Cake Simple
Cake Simple by Matheson (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2011)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Prepare for Christmas with one of Delicious' fantastic online recipes