Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Book 1, 21 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
After going through Book 1 twice, I was ready to take the plunge.
Again, the book shares the same clear layout as Book 1. It contains many different types of learning activity to encourage learners to keep practising.

Each chapter uses a new topic (e.g. my cat) to present the language. The topics chosen seem very relevant to normal life and not as esoteric or specific as some texts, where focus has been on business trips or such like. Here it's down to earth subject matter for everday life. Some of the example conversations are quite funny too which helps memory retention and I think are included for light relief.

Book 1 had some strange little typo's and other odd choices for language but Book 2 seems to have none of those.

There are some particularly excellent sections regarding the explanations of particles, something that should and is done concisely. This is an often recurring theme; concepts are explained with a minimum of fuss.

Above all, the book will increase your fluency. You are exposed to many language patterns and get a chance to practice the language in a multitude of ways. As it should be.

Good job to the authors. Book 3 already on its way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese self taught, 26 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
This is an amazing set of books to have in your library if you are serious about learning Japanese. I bought them for my son as he is learning how to speak and write the language, the books give step by step tuition on how to do both in a very easy to understand way. Learning Japanese, then you'll do well to purchase this wonderful trio of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use., 22 Jun. 2009
By 
LittleJerusha (Somewhere over the Rainbow) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
The second book I own from the series. The grammar is explained in clear and easy to understand manner, and new everyday vocabularies are introduced in every chapter. The drills are made in such a way that they aren't too hard and yet still challenges me to think and practice, therefore motivating me to keep on picking up the book.

You will learn Katakana as you go along. You practice katakana not just by memorizing the characters but practicing them by writing them in words as you go through the book. By the end of the book, just like Hiragana in book 1, you will be able to read and write it well.

Also,as said by the first reviewer, there seem to no more of those spelling errors that are in book 1.

I haven't finished book 2 yet but book 3 is already on its way so I can immediately start on it once number 2 is done. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would say it would be better if it mainly write as kanji with hiragana marked ..., 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
Couldn't find any other books that can clearly teach you the japanese. If there must be a disadvantage thing, I would say it would be better if it mainly write as kanji with hiragana marked on top. great book, thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good study material, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
Clear, easy to read and set out well. I would recommend this series to anyone studying Japanese. Very pleased. Ideal for someone who likes a structured textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Learning made easy, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
I love the layout of this book and I have learnt that it does help if you use the website to help with hearing the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Giovambattista Salerno (Cava Manara, Pavia, IT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
A good method to learn japanese, but being japanese a very difficult language you need the help of other means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Manuel Corte - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
Just Amazing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and simple, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals (Paperback)
I bought this book with books 1 and 3. I'm still working through book 1, but I've glanced through this book. It has the same simplicity and teaching methods as the previous book.

I can't really say much, but from what I've glanced at, I'd still recommend it to anyone that wishes to learn Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Japanese from Zero! 2: Proven Techniques to Learn Japanese for Students and Professionals
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews