Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
This is a well written book with useful practical advice. Manages to cover the basics but also some cutting edge ideas. It is concise and to the point. My only (minor) criticism is that I felt the chapter on typography was a little short on opinion and practical advice on choosing a schema, the topic of styling different tags is an important one in the overall design of...
Published on 20 Aug 2007 by W. Ellis

versus
39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat but lightweight
I was a bit disappointed. I'm not a beginner nor an expert. Some technical books give you something that you get energised about, and want to go try straight away; unfortunately I didn't get anything useful from this book, and only slight inspiration.
On the plus side, it is well written and laid out, has a nice informal air.
For example, this is not for you if...
Published on 24 Feb 2008 by D. J. Wilcox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat but lightweight, 24 Feb 2008
By 
D. J. Wilcox (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
I was a bit disappointed. I'm not a beginner nor an expert. Some technical books give you something that you get energised about, and want to go try straight away; unfortunately I didn't get anything useful from this book, and only slight inspiration.
On the plus side, it is well written and laid out, has a nice informal air.
For example, this is not for you if you already know about the differences between GIF, JPG and PNG; or if you know a bit about colour wheels and complementary colours; or if you are familiar with web-safe fonts.
Fine for beginners and a little bit after that. Not really for semi-pros onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 20 Aug 2007
By 
W. Ellis "Paul" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
This is a well written book with useful practical advice. Manages to cover the basics but also some cutting edge ideas. It is concise and to the point. My only (minor) criticism is that I felt the chapter on typography was a little short on opinion and practical advice on choosing a schema, the topic of styling different tags is an important one in the overall design of the site and would have benefited from a more considered treatment. Having said that however, I cannot recommend this book highly enough - absolutely first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and very practical, 5 Aug 2007
By 
H. Ghisari "Kourosh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
This book is the best book I've bought since 5 years ago. It is well written and very practical. It teaches you how to make things beautiful and this is not limited only to websites. It talks about creating a beautiful layout, choosing the right colours, fonts and images. The book goes on talking about giving your site depth, texture and much more. Above all, it's about 10 cheaper than Waterstones ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intro to design for the web, 7 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
I like everything about this book! It's a quick read as it's succinct (even though the tone is relaxed and chatty) and there are lots of images. I agree with the other reviewers, the use of example images to illustrate points is very useful. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book on web design is Unique, 21 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
I am a novice at creating websites and I have struggled especially with page layout and colour. This book answers so many of the questions I have regarding the theory behind actually constructing pages. Other books just tell you it should be done like this, and give you a picture to look at. Jason's book is different in that he is sharing with you the thought process behind each technique, which helps you to construct great looking pages on your own. He seems to explain how you can master the technique he is describing, rather than just leaving you to master it on your own. Although this book only has 168 pages, it covers everything you need to know about designing a website. This should be the first book you buy if you are looking to understand web design and how to create websites of your own. Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, a must read for anyone creating websites!, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
I have an ever growing library of books on css, html, (web)design and web development but this is definitely one of my favourites, both for its excellent content and for Beaird's warm, friendly tone. I remember having plenty of "light bulb moments" on the first read and get something more out of it each time I dip in (which is freqently).

The first section on layout and composition is superb and has already helped me improve existing designs (and quickened the process of getting them from paper to screen).

As for the section on colour, hands up those of you who skip the boring techy bit about rgb and cmyk? Me too. But not any more.

Of all the web design books on my shelf, this is the one I'd reach for first if the house were collapsing (assuming family, dog and computer were safely out of danger of course!)

p.s. I can't agree with the earlier review by "sharp" (the only lukewarm review I've ever seen for this book) - take a look around the internet, there are far too many "real web designers" that would benefit greatly from reading this book and applying some of the advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The author really gets it! A Great Primer..., 1 May 2007
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
Finally! A Design book that gets right into it, without talking down to the reader or smothering them with useless information that they can't apply in real-world designs.

Jason covers all the fundamentals: layout, color, texture, typography and imagery, without assuming one has an art degree. The references to sites for further reading are helpful, as are the plentiful examples throughout.

The author definitely knows what he's talking about, as the website associated with the book is slick & professional, as is the presentation and layout of the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for new people looking into design, 15 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
This book is great for programmers or developers who've never been officially trained in graphic or UI design. Even if you've just started learning html and CSS or perhaps a bit of photoshop, this book will give you some solid knowledge with which to work your new ideas around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit slim but some good stuff, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
Saw some mixed reviews before buying this, so wasn't sure how impressed I'd be. But as someone who is comfortable with CSS and HTML, but never had to give too much thought to the actual look of a site this fills in a lot of gaps.
The volume is a bit thin, so some areas are more introductions to the subject, but as I am now involved in the whole design process it has given me a good overview of design theory and already helped to stimulate ides for a couple of projects.
The author uses a real project for examples through the book - which is fine, but the book would have benefited from more examples like this too.
Overall for techies trying to be a bit more aesthetically minded a good introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It might inspire you, but it might just bore you, 26 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design (Paperback)
This is a very lightweight book on designing for the web. It is easy to be bamboozled by the pretty pictures and great looking websites that are featured in the book, but the material is not very authorative and gives the impression that the author hasn't been long out of college: and the lack of experience really shows.

You will eventually realise that the reason all the example sites look good is because they are simple sites packed with graphic design (legitimate sites, but hardly typical). The book lacks examples of corporate brochure sites, online shops etc. the kind of practical sites that web designers need to build on an everyday basis. They do work up an example of a tile seller brochure site, but it it a very weak example.

Unforgiveably the author mentions search engine optimisation once (I think) throughout the book - no mention whatsoever of designing for optimisation (albeit a different topic, but this OUGHT to be referenced by the book as it is very relevant to structuring).

If you are inspired by pictures of pretty websites then this might well inspire you, however, it you want to get a handle on the process of how to design a great looking, functional website for 95% of the types of websites that exist on the web then you might not find it useful at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Principles of Beautiful Web Design
The Principles of Beautiful Web Design by Jason Beaird (Paperback - 10 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews