Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point
This book gave me the core foundation knowledge to kick start my web career. It's by no means comprehensive but it's an ideal starting point for any buddying web designer.

Once you've bought this and mastered the concepts, buy "Transcending CSS" by Andy Clarke.
Published on 29 Mar. 2009 by David Ian Smith

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Critical information is lost in overly complex examples
It's telling that you have to wait until chapter 8 (entitled "Simple CSS Layout") until you reach the key part most web designers will be after; i.e. how to create multi-column, web standard, layouts without tables. The first part of the book is given over to semantic explanations of what various CSS controls can do -- none of which have anything to do with "designing...
Published on 23 July 2007 by Mr. I. A. R. Pollard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Critical information is lost in overly complex examples, 23 July 2007
By 
Mr. I. A. R. Pollard "ipollard77" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
It's telling that you have to wait until chapter 8 (entitled "Simple CSS Layout") until you reach the key part most web designers will be after; i.e. how to create multi-column, web standard, layouts without tables. The first part of the book is given over to semantic explanations of what various CSS controls can do -- none of which have anything to do with "designing without tables". It covers fonts, colours, inheritance, and the like; basically nothing very interesting or useful. Most designers, I'm sure, are using these controls already. The worst thing, however, is that the book's two killer bits of info (how to create a 2 and 3 column box-model layout) are embedded inside massively complex examples with pointless and fussy design flourishes. After pain-painstakingly following the chapters through I realised that 98% of the code they were giving you was nothing to do with the box model at all. I've since downloaded the code for this book and reverse-engineered their box model, but I am still ruing the hours of my time this book has wasted. Never has a book failed so spectacularly to live up to its title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too deep Too soon, 1 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. T. Morrison "northern sole" (lancashire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Would have preferred that the book didn't jump right in at the deep end when designing a site. Would have preferred something simple to code and then progressing from there. I found this a bit too heavy going for a beginner in CSS. The example sites and the coding for them are way too complicated. It's like the authors are saying look at what we can do with CSS rather than trying to teach it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, 29 Mar. 2009
By 
David Ian Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book gave me the core foundation knowledge to kick start my web career. It's by no means comprehensive but it's an ideal starting point for any buddying web designer.

Once you've bought this and mastered the concepts, buy "Transcending CSS" by Andy Clarke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have reference book, 13 Jan. 2007
By 
Herbie (Silverdale, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Well written, easy to follow with a wealth of CSS information in the Appendices. It has changed my approach to coding web pages, and I have found it very easy to use to solve coding problems. Very practical advice. But this is not a book for beginners, you need to have a thorough grasp of HTML and a little experience of using CSS, if you are to benefit from this book. A book for geeks ? No, but a book for someone who is dedicated to creating good, modern Web Pages and is prepared to take a lot of trouble in achieving that goal.

Not that I agree whole-heartedly with all the contents (I avoid fixed width layouts like the plague). But a sensible mix of some of the coding techniques shown, with tabular layouts where this is by far the easiest solution, will result in web pages that are easy to maintain, quick to load, and fast to render.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction, 20 Dec. 2008
This review is from: HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This book assumes knowledge of basic HTML. The first 8 chapters are mainly (quite interesting) reading, introducing CSS. The subsequent chapters build web pages to demonstrate the more complex concepts, including multi column layouts and how to float elements. The authors show that they have in-depth knowledge of CSS and approach even the more difficult concepts in an accessible manner.
The code can be downloaded, at different stages of development.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
If you already have a knowledge of HTML this book is great to learn CSS. It is def worth the money and makes it easy to understand such a complex subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i found it very useful at the time... but things move on., 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outdated now, but at the time of ordering, i found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition
HTML Utopia: Designing Without Tables Using CSS, 2nd Edition by Rachel Andrew (Paperback - 24 April 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews