Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-Z does it again
I have to admit, I am probably a tad biased. Hooked on smocking since I taught myself 4 years ago, with the aid of the A-Z of Smocking, and becoming a subscriber to AS&E magazine, published by Country Bumpkin, who publish the A-Z series.

However, having said that, all the books I have purchased in the A-Z series have delivered what they promise on the...
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by Mrs. Marysia T. Paling

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little misleading
I bought this book with a view to leaning to smock but found that in fact this book is about heirloom sewing and not really about smocking at all.

If you can already sew you may find this book will not help you learn to smock!

There is another book A-Z of Smocking which goes through smocking techniques. Pity these two books are not amalgamated into...
Published on 9 Jun 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little misleading, 9 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A-Z of Sewing for Smockers (A-Z Needlework 07) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book with a view to leaning to smock but found that in fact this book is about heirloom sewing and not really about smocking at all.

If you can already sew you may find this book will not help you learn to smock!

There is another book A-Z of Smocking which goes through smocking techniques. Pity these two books are not amalgamated into one comprehensive book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-Z does it again, 30 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. Marysia T. Paling (Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A-Z of Sewing for Smockers (A-Z Needlework 07) (Spiral-bound)
I have to admit, I am probably a tad biased. Hooked on smocking since I taught myself 4 years ago, with the aid of the A-Z of Smocking, and becoming a subscriber to AS&E magazine, published by Country Bumpkin, who publish the A-Z series.

However, having said that, all the books I have purchased in the A-Z series have delivered what they promise on the cover.

Clear concise instructions and diagrams that also help the process along nicely. Beautiful pictures of finished work also encourage us to develop our techniques and expand our skills.

I guess to give a balanced review though, I would say that some points are repeated in quite a few of the books though. On reflection though,this is helpful to purchasers who may only buy one or two in the series.............I have bought quite a few over the years, so perhaps repetition is needed.

Perhaps Margie Bauer could bring out the A-Z bible, which covers everything under one cover - Smocking, ribbon embroidery, bullions, etc. What a fabulous tome that would be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully illustrated instructions which demystified the sewing and construction of ..., 23 Sep 2014
This review is from: A-Z of Sewing for Smockers (A-Z Needlework 07) (Spiral-bound)
Clear, beautifully illustrated instructions which demystified the sewing and construction of smocked garments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A-Z of Sewing for Smockers (A-Z Needlework 07)
A-Z of Sewing for Smockers (A-Z Needlework 07) by Susan O'Connor (Spiral-bound - 1 May 2004)
Used & New from: £16.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews