Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars22
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2011
it's an excellent book for both therapists and patients. it explains in comprehensible language exactly what happens in the brain when pain occurs.
it gives grounds for conversation between therapist and patient, thus allowing the patient to understand the underlying reason of the body natural response to pain.
feeling pain is scary, especially when you don't know why. therefore the more you know, the more you understand, the more you get the control back over your body, and at the end pain becomes not so scary anymore.
I know it is and expensive book, but is is worth every penny, and it is written by some of the most informed researcher on pain.
I would recommend also another book to read before or after Explain Pain: The Brain That Changes Itself, by Norman Doidge. I read them both at the same time, and they speak the same language.
they helped me understand how important is the brain in the pain relieving therapy, it shines light on a subject that is obscure to many.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
I first made contact with this book five years ago, and am very happy to see it available on Amazon!
The book takes you from the very personal aspect of pain (why does "my pain" hurt) to a range of therapeutic solutions on how to handle pain.
It helps the reader to understand the underlying neurophysiology of pain, and still it is written in a very easy-to-use way - both for patients, relatives and professionals.You will never regret reading this book!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
As a physiotherapist i deal with patients experiencing chronic pain on a regular basis. This is an excellent book to help to develop clinicians understanding of what the patient is going through, it also has good pictures and strategies to help with communication.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
This text gives really valuable insights into pain, its role and how it can be managed. A real must for those with an interest in pain and those with chronic pain. It really enables the person to take control of their pain experience. Recommended by a physiotherapist - has helped my son and us so much.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
An incredibly informative and useful book for the lay person trying to understand and overcome chronic pain. Packed with fun illustrations and simple concepts to explain complex medical terms and physiology. All medical professionals should also have a copy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2007
This book has been written by 2 highly regarded Australian Physiotherapists for people with persistent pain - that is pain that has not subsided with time or healing or treatment. A lot of people have chronic (persistent) pain and it doesn't work like 'normal' or acute pain which has a reason and is useful for our survival. Chronic pain, in the absence of disease or structural destruction, can make lives miserable. This book goes some way to explaining how it occurs; what makes it worse and touches on how you can manage it better (although it probably won't go away). It is written for people who have little or no knowledge of how the body works in easy terms. try it!
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
I'm not a Clinical Physician but after reading this book which expalins (as the title suggests) and has helped me understand my chronic pain better. I can safely say I know more about pain than any Doctor or Consultant I have come across.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
This book is an excellent resource for all people involved with treating or experiencing pain problems. Up to date and written in easy to understand language it offers key information to all comers. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
As the book says, 'learning about the pain physiology reduces the threat value of pain' (pag 111). By reading this book I learnt ways to stop being constantly scared and constrained by the pain experience. The book really does 'explain pain'; the explanations are accessible and -at the same time- they don't oversimplify the subject. Pain really is a complex subject and a hard experience for everybody who goes through it; this book makes it understandable without making it simple. It also gives you the tools to deal with physicians, be in control, ask and understand explanations about the treatments you are given, and ultimately find the best pain management option for you.
Definitely recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Ifyou have pain or care enough about someone who has BUY THIS BOOK! A mix of stories as useful metaphors and some real science. Excellent
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)