Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to read and to read again
it's an excellent book for both therapists and patients. it explains in comprehensible language exactly what happens in the brain when pain occurs.
it gives grounds for conversation between therapist and patient, thus allowing the patient to understand the underlying reason of the body natural response to pain.
feeling pain is scary, especially when you don't...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by pain central

versus
13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmm!
I hate to put the cat amongst the pigeons but I think this book is rather over rated! A friend of mine swears by it and the reviews I read were all very good so I decided to buy it due to some chronic back pain I have been having.
So having got it myself , I am not that impressed with it. Firstly, I think it is very expensive for what it is.... secondly it contains...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by A. M. Joaquim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to read and to read again, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
it's an excellent book for both therapists and patients. it explains in comprehensible language exactly what happens in the brain when pain occurs.
it gives grounds for conversation between therapist and patient, thus allowing the patient to understand the underlying reason of the body natural response to pain.
feeling pain is scary, especially when you don't know why. therefore the more you know, the more you understand, the more you get the control back over your body, and at the end pain becomes not so scary anymore.
I know it is and expensive book, but is is worth every penny, and it is written by some of the most informed researcher on pain.
I would recommend also another book to read before or after Explain Pain: The Brain That Changes Itself, by Norman Doidge. I read them both at the same time, and they speak the same language.
they helped me understand how important is the brain in the pain relieving therapy, it shines light on a subject that is obscure to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changes the world, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
I first made contact with this book five years ago, and am very happy to see it available on Amazon!
The book takes you from the very personal aspect of pain (why does "my pain" hurt) to a range of therapeutic solutions on how to handle pain.
It helps the reader to understand the underlying neurophysiology of pain, and still it is written in a very easy-to-use way - both for patients, relatives and professionals.You will never regret reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explain Pain, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
As a physiotherapist i deal with patients experiencing chronic pain on a regular basis. This is an excellent book to help to develop clinicians understanding of what the patient is going through, it also has good pictures and strategies to help with communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
This text gives really valuable insights into pain, its role and how it can be managed. A real must for those with an interest in pain and those with chronic pain. It really enables the person to take control of their pain experience. Recommended by a physiotherapist - has helped my son and us so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Amazing book, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
This is a fantastic book
It is a bit annoying with its 'Austrailian-isms' but absolutely changed my relationship with my chronic pain condition.
Really great for managing pain and understand the nature of pain and so making a real change to my life and what I could and couldn't do.
Took a lot of fear of pain away.
Really great
Changed my life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explain Pain, 5 May 2009
By 
Lucas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
An incredibly informative and useful book for the lay person trying to understand and overcome chronic pain. Packed with fun illustrations and simple concepts to explain complex medical terms and physiology. All medical professionals should also have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good companion for everyone who experiences chronic pain, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
As the book says, 'learning about the pain physiology reduces the threat value of pain' (pag 111). By reading this book I learnt ways to stop being constantly scared and constrained by the pain experience. The book really does 'explain pain'; the explanations are accessible and -at the same time- they don't oversimplify the subject. Pain really is a complex subject and a hard experience for everybody who goes through it; this book makes it understandable without making it simple. It also gives you the tools to deal with physicians, be in control, ask and understand explanations about the treatments you are given, and ultimately find the best pain management option for you.
Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explaining Chronic Pain, 27 Jun 2007
By 
Babs Sharp (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
This book has been written by 2 highly regarded Australian Physiotherapists for people with persistent pain - that is pain that has not subsided with time or healing or treatment. A lot of people have chronic (persistent) pain and it doesn't work like 'normal' or acute pain which has a reason and is useful for our survival. Chronic pain, in the absence of disease or structural destruction, can make lives miserable. This book goes some way to explaining how it occurs; what makes it worse and touches on how you can manage it better (although it probably won't go away). It is written for people who have little or no knowledge of how the body works in easy terms. try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
Ifyou have pain or care enough about someone who has BUY THIS BOOK! A mix of stories as useful metaphors and some real science. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Boook, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. James Davis "Mr JD" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Explain Pain (Spiral-bound)
I'm not a Clinical Physician but after reading this book which expalins (as the title suggests) and has helped me understand my chronic pain better. I can safely say I know more about pain than any Doctor or Consultant I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb33292a0)

This product

Explain Pain
Explain Pain by G. Lorimer Moseley (Spiral-bound - Jun 2003)
Used & New from: 90.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews