Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead
Marvellous, haunting, evocative writing. It made me go to Dublin to find the places which Joyce describes.
Most marvellous ending of any short story.
Published 3 months ago by Janet Sawdon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why the formatting change?
I love this story. It's one of my favourites. But this edition ...? In the original text the dialogue is marked with dashes. In this, the dashes have been removed and replaced with speech marks. Why? It reduces the text somewhat. Leave it alone!
Published 23 months ago by Daniel Sellers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why the formatting change?, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Kindle Edition)
I love this story. It's one of my favourites. But this edition ...? In the original text the dialogue is marked with dashes. In this, the dashes have been removed and replaced with speech marks. Why? It reduces the text somewhat. Leave it alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Kindle Edition)
Marvellous, haunting, evocative writing. It made me go to Dublin to find the places which Joyce describes.
Most marvellous ending of any short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Dead, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Kindle Edition)
I like this book but it was quite hard to understand with lots of old fashioned words in. I read this book as a project at school and it was one of the best books I read out of five. It gets easier to understand towards the end and very well thought out.
Love it good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Dead, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read but don't expect it to be like the film.which was produced by John Huston before his death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still think it was the best thing he wrote-unlike some of his other works, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Paperback)
Still think it was the best thing he wrote-unlike some of his other works, no fireworks just a gentle build up in a turn of the century |Dublin dinner party to act as the play out of some of the most powerful truths of the human condition. Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead, The (Art of the Novella)
Dead, The (Art of the Novella) by James Joyce (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
7.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews