Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2009
Paul Lima's book is a perfect workbook for authors who, like me, mistakenly believe that writing a book is all about writing.

By presenting the reader with a clear, easy, day-by-day workplan Lima dispells much of the writing mystique. I found out that I was in fact sabotaging my work by not doing the brainstorming, planning and outlining before getting down to work.

I warmly recommend this book to all writers who, having read too many Romantic novels, erroneously believe that in order to write a book you have to lock yourself up in a garret and wrestle with writers' block.

Having read Paul Lima's book I have finished a book that was in the works for 2 (yes, two) years.

Thank you, Paul!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
As someone with an interest in becoming an author, I found this a very easy to read, logical book with great tips for making the whole process less intimidating. The chapter on self publishing is worth a specific mention as it gives a useful insight into how the whole world of publishing on-line works. I am keen to read more of Paul Lima's books now and maybe even attempt to write one myself !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
I was struggling to find a book that simply sets out how to write a non-fiction book.

I wanted a methodology that is proven to work, and I have found it in Paul's excellent book.

Paul takes the best techniques out there (freefall/stream of conciousness writing) (clustering/mind mapping) and integrates them into a logical system that is easy to follow.

I am now on my way to getting my first draft together and I can see light at the end of the tunnel. My writing project has become less fearful thanks to Paul.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Easy to follow book that made a lot of sense and was easy for the Newbie (myself) to follow.
Learning that the writing itself only covers a small percentage of producing a book, was almost a relief to me.
The idea of mapping and outlining took some of the stress out of the worry of how was I ever going to know what information to put into this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
Paul Lima is a self-published POD writer - no problem with that; I am too. But his book doesn't come across as very professional - there's not much to it for a start, and what there is is mostly about outlines. Yes, creating outlines is important for a non-fiction (or fiction) book, but I was expecting more practical advice for the professional writer, whereas this reads as a beginner's book for people who haven't written anything before. I read it in about an hour and didn't get anything from it a professional writer wouldn't already know. Disappointing and not worth the cover price.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
I read Paul's book after writing my own book about a similar topic and have to say I enjoyed it thoroughly. Although Paul's methods differ from mine in places they are every bit as valid and present readers with a very clear pathway from concept to finished manuscript. An excellent book - and I'll be over to buy you a cup of coffee next time I'm in Toronto!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This book is an easy read and I am now inspired to the point that I'm on day 5
of the daily tasks. I am so excited. I look forward to each challenge in a way
that I haven't done in some time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
It's perfect and well-explianed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
A really brilliant book, it takes you by the hand through the whole process with stacks of inside info in a light friendly way. I have read many similar books but none of them have got a single word of my book written down. This book enthused me and gave me confidense to push ahead. I have written three chapters already and loving every minute of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
fantastic book so well presented and really highlighted all I was not doing, not doing wrong as for a writter nothing is really wrong but he points out an easy method to catalogue everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)