Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Meditation CD
This is one of the best meditation cd's I have heard. It does exactly what it says in the title. 9 meditations varying in length from just over 3 minutes to just over 9 minutes and Bodhipaksa has exactly the right voice to put them across. A brilliant antidote to todays hurry and scurry lifestyle.
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by Mrs. C. Heyward Shapcott

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great content, technically spoiled by Audible
This review is about the audio download.

The content is great. Bodhipaksa has a soothing Scottish accent and his pacing is good, the meditations good too.

However, I cannot recommend the Audible download at all.
Firstly, it supplies the whole CD in one track, thus removing any chapter markers between meditations.
For the type of content...
Published 7 months ago by spiralqueen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Meditation CD, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. C. Heyward Shapcott (Beautiful Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
This is one of the best meditation cd's I have heard. It does exactly what it says in the title. 9 meditations varying in length from just over 3 minutes to just over 9 minutes and Bodhipaksa has exactly the right voice to put them across. A brilliant antidote to todays hurry and scurry lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what is says on the box!, 13 Nov 2008
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
If you are keen to develop a regular meditation routine, but would struggle to find even 30 minutes at a sensible hour of day to practice, this 'Guided Meditations' CD meets its promise, with short meditations in the Mindful Meditative Tradition. There are seven meditations between 7 and 9 minutes long and one 3 minute breathing space, for those really tight days! Bodhipasksa has a gentle Scottish voice that I find very pleasant to listen to. I found the themes comparable to those outlined by Jon Kabet Zinn I would also recommend 'Meditations for Busy People' if you are keen to develop a Mindful Practice.

Jon Kabet Zinn brought mindfulness into the mainstream medicine for the management of long term heath problems, depression and stress, and some people will be familiar with this approach through stress, depression and pain management programmes run by the NHS and private clinics. If you are looking for resources to develop this approach, I would recommend this book as an introduction Wherever You Go, There You are and audio CD if you prefer to listen Mindfulness for Beginners and audio CD's of longer meditations Guided Mindfulness Meditation (Guided Mindfulness)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
Great for when you haven't time for a longer session. Pleasant voice, and links well to my Buddhist meditation class yet presumes no prior knowledge. I use this regularly and find it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learned some new things, 5 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
As stated, it is ideal if you have limited time or don't want to hit the high notes of a full blown hour long meditation session. I have tried a number of these meditation CDs, all seem to be along the same lines so I was pleased that this one was a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tiny gem, 10 Feb 2010
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
I never have the time or the energy to get to meditation classes and to be honest, don't always relish the idea of spending time with very `worthy' and `deep' people, so this CD is a Godsend! You can pop it on when you need to recharge your batteries and the short meditations give an excellent jump-start. If you are a busy person, if you don't like group meditation, if you like to be able to pop a cd in your bag and go find somewhere beautiful to sit and meditate, then this is the CD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great content, technically spoiled by Audible, 9 Dec 2013
This review is about the audio download.

The content is great. Bodhipaksa has a soothing Scottish accent and his pacing is good, the meditations good too.

However, I cannot recommend the Audible download at all.
Firstly, it supplies the whole CD in one track, thus removing any chapter markers between meditations.
For the type of content this is, - long & segmented I consider this to be very slack. If you need to stop part way (who can listen straight for an hour or two?) or need to, say, choose a meditation, you can't. You'll have to start from the beginning or waste time scanning through the whole track. It has made the download version of this pretty much unusable. After all, it is supposed to be for people who don't have a lot of time to spare, so I don't have the time to scan a track over an hour long.

Secondly, the bit rate is so low, you can hear a major quality deterioration.

Audible cannot supply a high quality file with proper chapter markings.
Technically, this isn't an audiobook at all, but an instruction CD so Audible shouldn't be selling it anyway, it should be an mp3 download like other meditation CDs.
So my one star is for the great content but it loses four because of the poor technical handling of this by Amazon.
So if you're buying, get the actual CD. Don't bother with the Audible download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEDITATION cd, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
Excellent variety of short guided meditations - including a powerful 3 minute breathing meditation showing how the practice can be integrated into the busiest lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers exactly what it promises, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. C. R. Stillman-lowe "Cathy SL" (Reading Berks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
I have been meditating using the CDs produced by Breathworks, but was looking for some fresh inspiration. This CD, recommended by a friend, proved an excellent choice. I liked the voice (a gentle Scottish accent) and the way you could choose a short meditation from a wide selection to detox the stressed brain and body rapidly. In short, I am glad that I have added this to my collection of meditation CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guided Meditations for Busy People, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic CD for anyone who is new for meditation or is finding it hard to include meditation in their daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars guided meditations, 11 May 2012
By 
A. Cowley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guided Meditations for Busy People (Audio CD)
this was not quite what I was after - too quiet (ie no background music) and not as relaxing as i thought it would be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guided Meditations for Busy People
Guided Meditations for Busy People by Bodhipaksa (Audio CD - 8 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: 8.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews