Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING Book You Need To Read!!!!!!
Reading the first few chapters of this book, I became increasingly annoyed with the agressive archtypal Alpha male intend on dominating his woman. However the developing relationship between Kyra, an accountant from Earth, and Zor Q'an Tal, High King of Tryston and Emperor of Trek MiQ'an Galaxy, had in me absolute stitches. There are parts of this book I am desperate...
Published on 18 May 2004 by Book Addict

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Neglegible story, loads of bonkio!
Potentially, this should have been a good read, for I like Sci-fi stories. However, this one had almost no story at all, and was simply a never ending description of kinky sex both between male and female and between females. It was so badly written, that one's mind started to wander to the poor grammar, and the incorrect use of the apostrophe in defining the singular...
Published 23 days ago by D. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING Book You Need To Read!!!!!!, 18 May 2004
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empress' New Clothes (Paperback)
Reading the first few chapters of this book, I became increasingly annoyed with the agressive archtypal Alpha male intend on dominating his woman. However the developing relationship between Kyra, an accountant from Earth, and Zor Q'an Tal, High King of Tryston and Emperor of Trek MiQ'an Galaxy, had in me absolute stitches. There are parts of this book I am desperate to reveal, however I won't spoil your experience by divulging too many details!! All I'll say is watch out for the unusal birthing experience endured by the ignorant and primitive Earthwomen and the subsequent changes to their bodies - I chuckle now as I type.
The language is less delicate than your average sci-fi romance but it gives the book an edgier feel and the lovescenes though no hotter than something written by JOY or KENYON sometimes involve more than the usual 2 participants. This book is therefore not for the softer, more sedate romance reader. You won't cuddle down in a chair with this book, instead you'll be using it to beat your man around the head to make him obey your commands!!
The world BLACK creates, with its strange alien races and outrageous customs is extremely well written. Yes this is a sci-fi yet BLACK never lets the reader lose the belief that this is somewhere REAL. All I say is that if this is the case then beam me up Scotty. As Kyra shows, adjusting to a new life on an exotic planet is difficult, but the advantages she has definitely make up for the uncertainty of a new life literally a million light years away from her previous one. This book is a great find and I'm off now to order the rest of the Trek Mi Q'an series - thank you very much JAID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Hot ...It's sizzling., 24 May 2004
This review is from: The Empress' New Clothes (Paperback)
The Empresses new Clothes is the story of Kyra, a human tax accountant, and Zor, the Emperor of the gaxaly in the seventh dimension. Kyra is Zor's sacred mate, so in the tradition of all dominant males, he kidnap's her. She's definitely not happy about this...at first. But as her love for her sacred mate grows, and Zor introduces her to the sensualpleaures of the flesh, Kyra grows to be happy with her new home. We also get to look at Kyra's best friend Geris, and her sacred mate Dax, Zor's brother.their relationship is developed later on in seized. This was a funny, well developed book that was so entertaining to read.
Definitley worth reading especially if you like Dara Joy and Christine feehan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR ROMANTICA READERS, 4 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Empress' New Clothes (Paperback)
This has got to be the ultimate of all romantica novels. First you cannot go wrong with a Jaid Black story, she writes very hot romantica. Secondly, this story - the first in the Trek Mi'Qan series - introduces you to quite a collection of characters and worlds that anybody worth their salt would beg to go visit.
If you have never partaken in the romantica experience then this is a good place to start - you will not put this book down once you start!
The only drawback is that once you read one you MUST read them all! Which to a reader is really no drawback at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story, can't wait to read the rest., 7 Oct 2004
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Empress' New Clothes (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading reviews on it. It took me 1 day to read it & it is brilliantly amazing. This is my 1st Jaid book & I have ordered all of the rest of the series as well as all her other books. I totally agree with all the other reviewers, you cannot put this book down & you have to get the rest. It is extremly funny & is red hot. It definately reminds me of one of Dara Joy's novels (Knight of a trillion stars) & Like Lorgin from (KOATS) Zor is hot, not to mention his brothers, especially Kil. At Kyra's 1st. birthing scene I howled with laughter, then again when Geris gave birth. No wonder she was angry at the name Dak wanted to name their daughter Pyg.
Jaid's new books are going to be an automatic buy for me in future. There are so few authors I buy without a recommendation first. Chris Feehan & Dara Joy are a couple like that & now Jaid will go on my list.
Thank you Jaid & keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Neglegible story, loads of bonkio!, 26 Mar 2014
By 
D. Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Potentially, this should have been a good read, for I like Sci-fi stories. However, this one had almost no story at all, and was simply a never ending description of kinky sex both between male and female and between females. It was so badly written, that one's mind started to wander to the poor grammar, and the incorrect use of the apostrophe in defining the singular possessive in nouns ending with a "s". It was wrong so many times that it became annoying, although I did note ONE correct use of a possessive ending with an "s". I understand that Sci-fi often extends beyond the laws of physics, but beyond the laws of genetics? If there was so much sex on this group of planets, why was there not a population explosion of nuclear proportions? Not very likely, even for Sci-fi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and hot!, 16 April 2013
By 
Mary Ryan "Scary Mary" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you would expect from Jaid Black, the sex is hot but there are also moments of amusement. Well worth a read and a good start to a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 April 2013
Almost tossed this book aside cus it was slightly boring down the line and I was getting fed up of all that "'twas and tis". But it picked up at the end. I gave it a four cus it's a well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
however.....as much as i loved this book the writing got on my nervers !! All the 'twas .. etc got really annoying... im not Shakesphire so i dont read like him lol... the story was really good but i dont do the slang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah this is good, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empress' New Clothes (Paperback)
this book was a great romp. some seriously hot hot hot sex, phew. some very funny one liners. some action. all the right ingredients. a fun read. thouroughly enjoyed it. have ordered 2 more books. have to say though they are pricey as books go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

The Empress' New Clothes
The Empress' New Clothes by Jaid Black (Paperback - 26 Feb 2003)
11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews