Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for students and profesionals
This book is a collection of essays by a myriad of professionals in the field, selected and edited by Paula Marincola of the Philadelphia Exhibitions Initiative. As a student of Museum and Curatorial Studies, it caught my eye at the bookstore, and surely enough, less than a month later, in class, we started studying a couple of the essays included...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by Sofia Romualdo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Super Bad
If you want to read something dry, boring and somehow miss your higher education books that say nothing, then by all means get this. I dont know, its strange and weirdly edited and i could not find anything in it related to the title :-(
Published 5 months ago by derek anthony garubo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for students and profesionals, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
This book is a collection of essays by a myriad of professionals in the field, selected and edited by Paula Marincola of the Philadelphia Exhibitions Initiative. As a student of Museum and Curatorial Studies, it caught my eye at the bookstore, and surely enough, less than a month later, in class, we started studying a couple of the essays included.

Theoretically, the essays attempt to tackle the extremely vague and open question that lends itself to the title of the book, and in order to do so, the editor sent a list of questions to the contributors for them to work as they saw fit (this list is available to the reader in the form of a bookmark, besides being part of the cover's original design). However, I found that a lot of the essays didn't actually attempt to answer that question, and instead explored other themes related to curating; that wasn't a problem to me, since they were still interesting and informative, it just feels a bit strange to be told that the book will be something and then find out it's different (if only slightly).

The essays themselves were of mixed relevance and quality. A few of them were in need of revision, with errors in grammar and phrase construction (English isn't my first language and yet I still noticed them), but overall the quality was excellent, and a few of them explored issues and details of exhibition making that I haven't seen explored elsewhere. Ingrid Schaffner's essay on wall text, and Robert Storr's "Show and Tell", were particularly useful.

A great resource for students and professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aspiring curators, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
Bought this for my teenage grand-daughter who hopes to be a curator.

Her feedback is very encouraging - she was delighted with the content.

Has given her many ideas and helpful tips to pursue as she works towards her goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What makes a great book on exhibtions?, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
Marincola cleverly gathered essays on contemporary art exhibitions. She was not aiming at creating a book of answers, rather a book of questions (like the bookmark full of questions inside the book), which will stimulate any curator's mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reference, reminders and ideas, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
This is one of those books that I dip into and go back to time and again. This collection of essays includes interesting insights, thought-provoking ideas and inspiration for artists and curators alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
The book is amazing! It offers everything I wanted to know about producing and curating an Exhibition, giving practical tips and an overview of the art world as it is.

The complete, must-have guide for artists, curators and art students in general.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Super Bad, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
If you want to read something dry, boring and somehow miss your higher education books that say nothing, then by all means get this. I dont know, its strange and weirdly edited and i could not find anything in it related to the title :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Makes a Great Exhibition? (Paperback)
Good read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Makes a Great Exhibition?
What Makes a Great Exhibition? by Glenn Adamson (Paperback - 21 July 2007)
£10.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews