Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent!!!
I got this book when I was on the teacher training programme, at the time i didn't have the time to read it, just flicking through the pages. Now my course is over I have stuck my head into it and cannot get it back out. What a brilliant tool!! As a teacher it has helped my understanding of the asanas, breathing etc and as a yogi, it has helped my understanding of...
Published on 23 Nov 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent essential reading
Very indepth but very useful as a yoga teacher - not light reading more kind of book you dip in and out of when need to know something specific. Fantastic reference guide though.
Published on 6 April 2010 by Ms. Cheryl L. Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent!!!, 23 Nov 2005
I got this book when I was on the teacher training programme, at the time i didn't have the time to read it, just flicking through the pages. Now my course is over I have stuck my head into it and cannot get it back out. What a brilliant tool!! As a teacher it has helped my understanding of the asanas, breathing etc and as a yogi, it has helped my understanding of both my body in action and of the whys. if your serious about learning how you body moves and why your body restricts your practice etc then you'd better get this book...I cannot reccomend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demystify yoga, increase confidence, 15 Nov 2005
By 
M MILES "markadm" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anatomy of Hatha Yoga: A Manual for Students, Teachers and Practitioners (Hardcover)
When I ordered this book I had some idea that it explained yoga according to its effects on one's body. I had imagined it would be a big A4 Dorling Kindersley style hardback. Instead I was met with a squat, fat, 625-page tome, bristling with pictures.
By combining the instruction of how to perform the various yoga asanas with all the medical explanations and nomenclature that you would expect, this book is able to demystify yoga. I didn't doubt yoga before, but this book gives me extra belief that it is working.
The book is thorough in explaining variants of many positions. Almost each is illustrated. This is invariable when, either, you find a position too hard or ineffective, or you are becoming adept at a position to the point where it is too easy for you. In either case, the book is easy to use to adapt one's practice to suit.
With illustrations and instructions on the various positions and the actual physical anatomy of the body, the book begins with movement and posture, thereafter covering breathing, before moving on to abdominopelvic exercises, standing posutres, backbending postures, forward bending postures, and twisting postures. A chapter each is devoted to the headstand and shoulderstand, followed by a chapter on relaxation and meditation. The book also comes with a good glossary of anatomical terms, the book also covers the contraindications (don't dos) for various medical conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful approach to physiological aspects of Yoga, 7 Nov 2002
This review is from: Anatomy of Hatha Yoga: A Manual for Students, Teachers and Practitioners (Hardcover)
This book is essential for those who are really willing to know what is behind each posture and each exercise of the yoga practice. It analyses, illustratevely, the physical benefits and functionality of every physical movement in yoga. It is speciallized in Hatha Yoga, one of the very interesting sub divisions of the great Raja Yoga. Great manual indeed... Worthy purchasing it. I'm happy with mine in my mini library at home.. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all the detail about Hatha you will ever need., 25 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Anatomy of Hatha Yoga: A Manual for Students, Teachers and Practitioners (Hardcover)
Coming from a medical back ground I was keen to get down to the anatomical details of Hatha having practised it for two years. This book is heavy going for the beginner but a great deal of info is included for those with a curious mind keen to know the true inner workings of Yoga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good value for money, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Amy J. L. Soska "amy" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book is dense. it is extremely thorough, an anatomical yoga bible. it would be a challenging read for those with no prior knowledge of a&p but for the educated reader seeking clarity i would highly recommend this book. if you have questions relating to anatomy and the alignment of asana this will provide answers. the information is well organised, the writing is clear and the illustrations are helpful. a great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the all in one guide to teaching and practicing HathaYoga, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been written by a medically qualified person who involved himself in Hatha Yoga through expert teachings in India for many years before embarking on writing this guide. I have practiced Yoga for over 30 years and now reading this book has helped me understand better the reasons for the benefits of practicing Yoga on a regular basis. H has kept the level of expertise at just right for most people who have a basic understanding of the anatomy of the human body can understand. Fantastic read and a useful companion for the future. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !, 24 Jan 2011
This is the best book so far to understand the Anatomy of Yoga, it is clearly and precicely written, it conveys through simple laymans terms the anatomy of the body not just applied to Hatha Yoga but as it is, descriptions of the working skeleton etc are amazing, if your only buying one book buy this, it blows Leslie Kaminoffs out of the water !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anatomy of Hatha Yoga: A Manual for Students, 9 July 2009
It is a continous aid and support to my teachings ....very useful and factual, great way to keep learning about the body and the effects it has when doing yoga poses! fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deserved Five Stars, 12 April 2010
For the depth of detail alone this book deserves five stars, however, Coulter has also managed to make, what I find to be a somewhat testingly tedious topic - human anatomy and physiology, come to life. So, if I could I'd award another star for Mr Coulter as I didn't drift off once whilst reading this well illustrated manual.

A really useful book for those studying to be Yoga Teachers with the accredited Western Yoga organisations and also for those dutifully performing their asanas who want to know whats going on within their bodies, if they don't already, and are not put to sleep by anatomy and physiology, Western style.

Coulter also provides translations of the Sanskrit terminology for many of the postures and practices, practices such as 'ashwini mudra' an essential but rarely taught procedure that affects the mental energy as well as corrects and maintains an important and often over looked part of our anatomy.

Good book for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, actually very readable. First time I have actually understood how some bits work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anatomy of Hatha Yoga: A Manual for Students, Teachers and Practitioners
Used & New from: 13.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews