Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I found this book excellent - it is set out almost as a handbook for behaviourists but at the same time very easy for the general person/pet owner to understand too. Having had food guarding issues with my own pup, I was told all sorts of things by different trainers and people on how to deal with this problem. Jean Donaldson is a very well respected expert on dogs and...
Published on 28 May 2010 by Katie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for trainers
As an average dog owner I found it hard to understand, have to read carefully and study as it includes the psychology. The techniques described are good and work, but don't expect quick fixes with dogs you do have to work at it. it's really aimed at the professional trainer
Published 9 months ago by Kea Plum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 May 2010
By 
Katie (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
I found this book excellent - it is set out almost as a handbook for behaviourists but at the same time very easy for the general person/pet owner to understand too. Having had food guarding issues with my own pup, I was told all sorts of things by different trainers and people on how to deal with this problem. Jean Donaldson is a very well respected expert on dogs and dog behaviour/psychology and I found her very straightforward and step-by-step approach to this issue invaluable. Definitely one to add to the collection if you have this issue with your dog or are a trainer and want to further understand guarding behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
Ok, so I'm a fan of Jean Donaldson and I like her bite size guides. Her approach to resource guarding is pretty much part and parcel of classical and operant conditioning and desensitization and counter conditioning. Her intervention guides are likely to put off novice dog owners as the task ahead is made pretty daunting with the processes split into some 120 hierarchies. The author does make it clear that the interventions should initially and subsequently be under the supervision of a trained behaviourist, which is good advice. I also like the fact that she points out that there will be stumbling points along the way and gives some examples of how to overcome these.
My one criticism is that I often need to keep a dictionary beside me when reading her literature, it seems she goes out her way to include obscure words that I reckon have to be looked for in a Thesaurus!
A previous review mentioned lack of instruction in multi dog households. This is true. If the reader requires more knowledge on this, then perhaps read in conjunction with "Fight" by Jean Donaldson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for trainers, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
As an average dog owner I found it hard to understand, have to read carefully and study as it includes the psychology. The techniques described are good and work, but don't expect quick fixes with dogs you do have to work at it. it's really aimed at the professional trainer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mine!, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has everything you ever wanted to know about how to deal with resource guarding in dogs. Easy to read and you don't need to be an expert to understand it.I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has a dog with this behaviour problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat helpful, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I have a dog which resource guards, but its towards another dog in the pack. This book deals with guarding against the human in the main, so is helpful if you are needing help with this problem.

There was little mention of guarding of food and dealing with the pack..

So didn't help me in any way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
Recommend to me by many others. An excellent guide to both explaining resource guarding and working with it, including lots of step-by-step guides to CC and DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and Practical Guide for Your Possessive Mutt!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
This book is an effective guide on how to deal with resource guarding, including food, toys, locations and people. We have an English Springer Spaniel who growls (sometimes) when he's in his bed and growls 'about' his toys (but will let you take them without snapping). The book has effective step by step guidance based on rewarding good behaviour. This works particularly well if your dog is motivated by food and even better if your dog is clicker trained. Our dog isn't a typical resource guarder but I have been able to use some of the methodology described in this book to make some positive steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
Great book with excellent systematic advise on many different types of guarding behaviours. Easy to understand and implement. The sort of book worth reading for later reference even if you are not the owner of a dog who guards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too complicated to get quick results, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs (Paperback)
Far too complicated, woul;d take the patience of a Saint to somehow work through all the numerous tasks.
Dog bored witless as i tried to apply the techniques !
The author is very well regarded for her training methods,that`s why i bought the book.
Sadly the vast knowledge therein, isn`t explained in a Do-Able way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended read, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Will definitely recommend this book for anyone who has a stubborn selfish spoilt not-so-little dog who is partial to remembering his name
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs
Mine!: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding in Dogs by Jean Donaldson (Paperback - Dec 2002)
7.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews