Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to become a quant, this is the book
An excellent book, covering a wide range of basic topics that a would-be quantitative analyst needs to be comfortable with. Something few beginners appreciate is that both during interviews and during subsequent work as a quant analyst, a really deep, intuitive grasp of the basics is infinitely more important that nodding acquaintance with a host of fancy theories...
Published on 13 May 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not delivered
The item wasn't delivered, even though it shows in its status as "delivered". I paid, but I didn't get anything. I'll try to buy it again in a real bookshop, no more shopping online with irresponsible people
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by Manoel Abreu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to become a quant, this is the book, 13 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book, covering a wide range of basic topics that a would-be quantitative analyst needs to be comfortable with. Something few beginners appreciate is that both during interviews and during subsequent work as a quant analyst, a really deep, intuitive grasp of the basics is infinitely more important that nodding acquaintance with a host of fancy theories.

If you want to enter the profession, the 4 books I'd buy and really understand is this and its twin volume on Black-Scholes, Joshi's finance book, and Duffy's C++ book - if you really master the contents of those four, you're well on your way to success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have before you go to any IB interview!, 20 Nov 2008
By 
N. Niemer (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You need to work through that book before you go to ANY IB interview! It had questions I got asked in interviews at MS in both M&A and trading. Heard from a front office IT person that they got asked questions also.

I contains quite a lot of questions and I didn't have the time/nerve to go through all of them only to find out that I was asked a brain teaser at the end of chapter 1 in the interview - if only I had worked through everything more than once! So my advice: work through this book well before you go for interviews.

Having said that, I was also asked lots of questions which were not included in the book so you will also need to work through other relevant books in your area (eg Wilmott/Damodaran).

Re the 1-star review: it's not a general interview book and it's not advertised as such!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ FOR CAPITAL MARKETS INTERVIEW, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read for capital markets interview along with Crack 2009. I found it very useful not only for the quantitative questions, but also for the competency based questions, which are non technical questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book needed.., 16 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a good read for all aspiring Finance applicants.
This gives you a good flavour of the real thing. I love going through brain teasers and this one has some good ones.
I read this book after being in the industry for a while ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practice Quant Interview Questions, 11 Feb 2011
Excellent book - very thorough, and covers almost all of the technical interview questions I've ever heard. A must for anyone applying to quantitative jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good level of detail in explanation, 7 Jan 2011
The writer expresses his views from the interviewers' perspective and also reviews most of the possible solutions to a question
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book!, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a lot to take in. High-recommended!

Every question has long explanation and need the reader to be persistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biblical, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book that contains lots of questions from relatively tough to very tough. Prepares one very well for an IB/Trading/Front office interview. A must purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book and great seller, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The condition of the book was brand new and it arrived on time,

The book itself is great and I found it very useful and in fact vital for my interview preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not delivered, 16 Jan 2011
The item wasn't delivered, even though it shows in its status as "delivered". I paid, but I didn't get anything. I'll try to buy it again in a real bookshop, no more shopping online with irresponsible people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heard on the Street: Quantitative Questions from Wall Street Job Interviews
Heard on the Street: Quantitative Questions from Wall Street Job Interviews by Timothy Falcon Crack (Paperback - 15 Aug 2013)
£28.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews