Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about earth ovens and how to build them, 21 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
This book is comprehensive and instructive, and infused with the enthusiasm and knowledgeability of the author which he is dying to share. I found it useful and informative and interesting reading - I just wish I had a garden big enough and enough people to feed to justify building one of the grander ovens he describes. Photography could be a bit better though, so I knocked off a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well put together book, 14 April 2009
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Whilst I havent actually gone and built a clay oven using the instructions given in the book, Ive read it thouraghly and it certainly answers all my questions relating to Earth Ovens and DIY.

It is well structured and clear.

Having researched the making of Earth Ovens, this was the book that consistantly came up trumps with reviewers.

Simple and do-able..........thats the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Stephen Summers (England, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Written from the heart, but not in any way superficial. Good solid advice and guidance on constructing ovens and baking bread, pizzas etc.

Some of the photos could have been reproduced a bit more clearly, but that's a minor issue. The hand-drawn illustrations are charming and do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clay ovens and more, 17 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Having seen the likes of Hugh F-W and Jamie O building and using clay ovens I wanted to see if they are a realistic alternative to our dilapidated barbeque, and a possible alternative oven for when we turn the Rayburn off in the summer. This book seems to be the perfect guide, giving detailed instruction on construction, inspirational and amazing photos of other earth ovens, and sour-dough bread details which we have already followed - and eaten.
Watch this space for our oven to materialise over the next few months; I have no doubt that we will succeed, and enjoy, with the help of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read . . ., 21 Feb 2011
By 
S. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
This book is clear and easy to read. It has basic oven dimension information which should make the oven "work" 1st time rather than having a "trial and error" approach. After all, these ovens have been used world-wide for '000's of years.
I have yet to build my oven, but I shall be following the plans and dimensions carefully and I have faith in it turning out well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth oven, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Juliet (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Great book - all you need to know about building an earth oven. I haven't done so yet, but this book came highly recommended by a friend who has build one on his allotment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Built three ovens with this - a bible, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Excellent book which if you read carefully gives you all you need to know and steps to achieve it. All you need is mud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Really practical guide to building an earth oven, with all of the instructions and know how all easy to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cobbled together in a good way!, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
Excellent book, You really don't need anything else, except enthusiasm and the materials. Really fired up (sorry bad pun) ! to build a cob oven now. Very inspirational as well as practical. Great delivery. Prompt and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kiko Denzer, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves (Paperback)
All I can say is read,read, and read again.
The book is full of tips, information, pictures, and encouragement in building an earth oven. I have now done all the preliminaries, and am at the stage of final construction, But without the book would have found it very hard to understand the basic fundamentals of oven, cob, building.
Kiko takes you through from start to a finish materials found in the ground, and lots of pictures and diagrams to explain.
The spin off to the book I found made me want to look out on the internet and see what others have done, most of them following the basics Kiko writes about in his book.
Thanks Kiko Great Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Build Your Own Earth Oven: A Low-cost Wood-fired Mud Oven; Simple Sourdough Bread; Perfect Loaves
Used & New from: 7.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews