Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Great book. Very informative.
Published 10 days ago by Sana Sharif

versus
46 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly researched opinion masquerading as profound insight
I got this book thinking, for some reason, it might be a genuine look at the history and controversy around Weishaupt's organisation - an intellectually honest examination of the hype and hysteria surrounding the Bavarian Illuminati and the influence they have had on a large range of conpiracy theories over the past 2 centuries.

What I actually got was what...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly researched opinion masquerading as profound insight, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
I got this book thinking, for some reason, it might be a genuine look at the history and controversy around Weishaupt's organisation - an intellectually honest examination of the hype and hysteria surrounding the Bavarian Illuminati and the influence they have had on a large range of conpiracy theories over the past 2 centuries.

What I actually got was what seemed like a random series of essay's and opinions from someone keen to tout their own name whenever he put the phrase 'this author' in a sentence (I kid you not - literally 'This Author (Mark Dice) every time as though we'd forget to flip to the front of the book to remind ourselves (apparently us readers are that dumb), that placed weight on the many You Tube videos available on the Illuminati (so reliable as source material as anyone knows) and apparently so proud of actually owning the odd book, mentioning his ownership in the text.

Where attribution is made it's closely followed by an equally wild leap of faith (literally in this case, given his religious convictions) without any support or reference for the many claims (other than 'they' are out there manipulating everyone ... but then you don't need this book to know this surely?). The themes are common to anyone even vaguely interested in the murky world of conspiracy and counter-conspiracy. The Bilderbergers, Tri-Lateral Commission, Skull and Bones, Bohemian Grove, various government agencies (the only ones mentioned are UK and US ... Mossad gets a look in briefly - apparently as the rest of the world doesn't speak English they don't get to be part of the greater plan to control the world) and so on. But nothing, and I mean nothing, is being said here that is new.

Bizarrely obssessed with entertainment Dice spends some time going through films and media looking for obvious signs of Illuminati and Counter-Illuminati taint. Which ends up reading like a bizarre series of reviews (it would have been quicker and easier if he just gave each a 'Eye in Pyramid' rating for each film and tied it to his reactionary Christian outlook ... like 'This one earned 4 pyramids for its attempt to get the word out but lost one due to the bit about being nice to gays'. That would have spared us his asinine review of 'V For Vendetta' anyway). Oh ... and his 'assessment' of Orwell's 1984 was unforgivably poor and superficial though it was interesting he left out any reference to the anti-sex league.

It would take too long to list the many inconsistencies and poorly constructed arguments in this book. Suffice it to say that a reasonable surf on the internet would do you just as well. Seriously, even for those who believe in the version of events Dice is describing would do well to spend their money elsewhere. It takes a special kind of dissonance for an author to decry the many fakers and hype-mongers out there because they want to sell books, then charge us himself. Dice does this frequently and the irony is apparently lost on him.

But then I would say all this as I'm clearly part of the conspiracy ... or am I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No evidence of the Illuminati, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
I got this book under the assumption that it would, at least in part, document all the facts and proof that the Illuminati still exist and are indeed the hidden hand behind most of the world's organisations today. Instead this book is more like a string of reviews, or an index, of every conspiracy/Illuminati related book, film, tv show, organisation and researcher. Mark Dice does a good job at sticking to the facts when reviewing a certain book, film or researcher, and points out inconsistencies in other people's work, but he fails to provide any actual evidence who the Illuminati are or whether they even exist. He criticises many researchers for doing what they do to sell books, but you can't help but think he is no better. With the exception of 1 or 2 pages, no part of this book consists of Mark Dice's own research, like I said, it is just a review of everyone elses research. He talks about the Bilderberg group, the CFR, the Freemasons, Bohemian Grove, Skull and Bones and many more organisations documenting members and facts about them, but then goes on to say they are all controlled by the Illuminati without presenting any evidence for it whatsoever. I know what these organisations get up to, and that they have powerful members and influence over governments, what I wanted to find out was whether all of these organisations are indeed controlled by the Illuminati - this book left me none the wiser. At the end of the book he gives a brief description of various 'Illuminati controlled organisations' which include the ones mentioned above and many more. One such organisation is the 'Council of 13'. He says it is made up of the heads of the 13 families of the illuminati, but fails to name any of those familes. This sums up the entire book. Plenty of allegations, hearsay and speculation regarding the Illuminati, but no facts or evidence. The best he does in regard to explaining who the Illuminati are is mention the Rockefellers, Rothschilds and Bushes as members, but there's no new information there and he doesn't elaborate. I'd recommend this book to someone new to researching conspiracy theories etc but for someone looking for a deeper understanding of the Illuminati, this is not the book for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Great book. Very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an eye opener!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spoke of things I was unaware of but does have a slightly biased theme as the book progresses. It is a subject that I will read into further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars M.D. is a paid shill., 21 July 2014
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Very bad book. Exposes nothing and promotes more of what we have today.
Wouldn't buy it even if it was for a penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly enough New information, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not nearly enough New information about the illuminati this would be a good starting point for someone new to the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book but has silly spelling mistakes, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
I have been interested in the Illuminati for quite a while and this book certainly hits the spot. It give references to further reading, gives examples of Hollywood advising the public and writes the book in a clear and concise way. Mark Dice leaves no stone unturned in his quest to expose the Illuminati and does an excellent job. My only complaint are spelling mistakes. There are a few spelling mistakes which if edited correctly, could have been corrected.

Despite that, I wholeheartedly recommend this book and I am now actively searching for the other books he has researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. Goes into great detail about the "illuminati" and covers a lot of great stuff,great book mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars promising until the end bit, 18 May 2011
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Started off well then came crashing down when the writer turned it into a sermon on how great jesus is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Mark Dice is an interesting guy,i have been following him for a couple of years now.He is not a scammer or crackpot as many in this field are,his research is impeccable and easy to read.
A lot of people are happy to watch there TVs eat junk food and booze and dont really care what is going on around them,its sad but true! Yet more people today are more aware of the ILLUMINATI,MASONS,et al because of guys like Mark!
I highly recommend this book!! Mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction
The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction by Mark Dice (Paperback - 13 April 2009)
9.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews