Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars!!!!
Anyone who has actually read this book will rate it 5 stars. Its well written, an easy read for begginers and makes lots of references to other conspiracy books. It's a truely eye opening and educational read and I would highly recommend to anyone. Even if your not into conspiracys its still a fascinating read.
Published 15 days ago by Helen Gurr

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Subject Tainted by Personal and Religious Views. Avoid
A weak affair of a book. Another profiteer of the Illuminati bandwagon. I knew there was little further to be gained from Mark Dice's after reading this paragraph "If there is no afterlife or judgment from God, no Heaven or Hell, then the brief life that we live on this planet would still be infinitely more enjoyable, fulfilling, and safe if we were to live by...
Published 1 month ago by Fat Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Subject Tainted by Personal and Religious Views. Avoid, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A weak affair of a book. Another profiteer of the Illuminati bandwagon. I knew there was little further to be gained from Mark Dice's after reading this paragraph "If there is no afterlife or judgment from God, no Heaven or Hell, then the brief life that we live on this planet would still be infinitely more enjoyable, fulfilling, and safe if we were to live by Biblical principles than if we were to live by the Illuminati’s code of do what thou wilt.". If a writer brings such personal and tainted views to a book of this nature then it stands to reason that it cannot be a work based on factual reasoning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly researched opinion masquerading as profound insight, 15 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
I got this book thinking, for some reason, it might be a genuine look at the history and controversy around Weishaupt's organisation - an intellectually honest examination of the hype and hysteria surrounding the Bavarian Illuminati and the influence they have had on a large range of conpiracy theories over the past 2 centuries.

What I actually got was what seemed like a random series of essay's and opinions from someone keen to tout their own name whenever he put the phrase 'this author' in a sentence (I kid you not - literally 'This Author (Mark Dice) every time as though we'd forget to flip to the front of the book to remind ourselves (apparently us readers are that dumb), that placed weight on the many You Tube videos available on the Illuminati (so reliable as source material as anyone knows) and apparently so proud of actually owning the odd book, mentioning his ownership in the text.

Where attribution is made it's closely followed by an equally wild leap of faith (literally in this case, given his religious convictions) without any support or reference for the many claims (other than 'they' are out there manipulating everyone ... but then you don't need this book to know this surely?). The themes are common to anyone even vaguely interested in the murky world of conspiracy and counter-conspiracy. The Bilderbergers, Tri-Lateral Commission, Skull and Bones, Bohemian Grove, various government agencies (the only ones mentioned are UK and US ... Mossad gets a look in briefly - apparently as the rest of the world doesn't speak English they don't get to be part of the greater plan to control the world) and so on. But nothing, and I mean nothing, is being said here that is new.

Bizarrely obssessed with entertainment Dice spends some time going through films and media looking for obvious signs of Illuminati and Counter-Illuminati taint. Which ends up reading like a bizarre series of reviews (it would have been quicker and easier if he just gave each a 'Eye in Pyramid' rating for each film and tied it to his reactionary Christian outlook ... like 'This one earned 4 pyramids for its attempt to get the word out but lost one due to the bit about being nice to gays'. That would have spared us his asinine review of 'V For Vendetta' anyway). Oh ... and his 'assessment' of Orwell's 1984 was unforgivably poor and superficial though it was interesting he left out any reference to the anti-sex league.

It would take too long to list the many inconsistencies and poorly constructed arguments in this book. Suffice it to say that a reasonable surf on the internet would do you just as well. Seriously, even for those who believe in the version of events Dice is describing would do well to spend their money elsewhere. It takes a special kind of dissonance for an author to decry the many fakers and hype-mongers out there because they want to sell books, then charge us himself. Dice does this frequently and the irony is apparently lost on him.

But then I would say all this as I'm clearly part of the conspiracy ... or am I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No evidence of the Illuminati, 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
I got this book under the assumption that it would, at least in part, document all the facts and proof that the Illuminati still exist and are indeed the hidden hand behind most of the world's organisations today. Instead this book is more like a string of reviews, or an index, of every conspiracy/Illuminati related book, film, tv show, organisation and researcher. Mark Dice does a good job at sticking to the facts when reviewing a certain book, film or researcher, and points out inconsistencies in other people's work, but he fails to provide any actual evidence who the Illuminati are or whether they even exist. He criticises many researchers for doing what they do to sell books, but you can't help but think he is no better. With the exception of 1 or 2 pages, no part of this book consists of Mark Dice's own research, like I said, it is just a review of everyone elses research. He talks about the Bilderberg group, the CFR, the Freemasons, Bohemian Grove, Skull and Bones and many more organisations documenting members and facts about them, but then goes on to say they are all controlled by the Illuminati without presenting any evidence for it whatsoever. I know what these organisations get up to, and that they have powerful members and influence over governments, what I wanted to find out was whether all of these organisations are indeed controlled by the Illuminati - this book left me none the wiser. At the end of the book he gives a brief description of various 'Illuminati controlled organisations' which include the ones mentioned above and many more. One such organisation is the 'Council of 13'. He says it is made up of the heads of the 13 families of the illuminati, but fails to name any of those familes. This sums up the entire book. Plenty of allegations, hearsay and speculation regarding the Illuminati, but no facts or evidence. The best he does in regard to explaining who the Illuminati are is mention the Rockefellers, Rothschilds and Bushes as members, but there's no new information there and he doesn't elaborate. I'd recommend this book to someone new to researching conspiracy theories etc but for someone looking for a deeper understanding of the Illuminati, this is not the book for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars!!!!, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Anyone who has actually read this book will rate it 5 stars. Its well written, an easy read for begginers and makes lots of references to other conspiracy books. It's a truely eye opening and educational read and I would highly recommend to anyone. Even if your not into conspiracys its still a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an eye opener!, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spoke of things I was unaware of but does have a slightly biased theme as the book progresses. It is a subject that I will read into further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars small chunks, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for someone who 'does not read books' - it is the only thing that he hads admitted enjoying. Full of smaller chunks of information it kept him interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... list so I am sure the recipient will be pleased., 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Not sure what it is about as it was bought as a present from a wish list so I am sure the recipient will be pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly enough New information, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not nearly enough New information about the illuminati this would be a good starting point for someone new to the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Bought as a present and have been told it is excellently written and presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction (Paperback)
Good info, but beware of wolves in sheeps clothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction
The Illuminati: Facts & Fiction by Mark Dice (Paperback - 13 April 2009)
£9.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews