Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars9
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2010
i did read the book but was disappointed with its content..i don't know much about allegory but i couldn't pick out one character from another as to what it was representing..nothing like pilgrims progress.......im not overly versed in literature so it might be me.i purchased it 2nd hand at a very good price so it might be worth a go or borrow from the library.i could not say that i would recommend or reread it....not for me im afraid sorry
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2002
Very simplistic & child-like in conception & execution - doubtless part of its appeal for those who would like nice, simple (and, therefore, ultimately meaningless) answers to complex questions. Hyped as a great allegory drenched in 'profound' symbolism, essentially it's conservative Christian preaching thinly disguised as fiction. Definitely worth avoiding.
0Comment|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2005
I expected a philosophical story, but "Castle of wisdom" is more like a preaching from a fundamentalist christian. Homosexual bashing is what irritated me the most, but the author does not stop there. Just read the part where he explains why Darwin is an idiot and the truth lies in creationism.
Besides, the "Master-Truth" is nothing but a few quotes from the Bible, and the "mysterious" ending to the hero's journey is entirely disappointing.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
This story starts and ends well, using the age old method of a journey to convey the search for life's meaning and purpose. Sadly, the writer represents a very narrow and fundamentalist form of christianity and readers should be aware that the book includes passages of homophobic diatribe and gross negative stereotyping of gay men. Don't give this book to your children, except as an exercise to show how bigoted and misled some people can be.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2001
"Castle of Wisdom" is a Christian book of exceptional quality. I read it in one long sitting. Once I got into it, I could not stop myself. It is decidedly different from most religious or spiritual books. The story line is clever. The writing is not polished, but the descriptions of characters and circumstances are compelling. I especially liked the part where the main character, Elias, is trapped for something like six months on a barren plain with no company but his horse. He loses his mind, but he recovers it in a strange way. I rank this book among my favorite, and I hope to read more by Mr. Ellis.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2002
"Castle of Wisdom" is by far my favorite allegory. Through symbolism, the author tells the story of the quest to find meaning and purpose in life. The main character in the story goes on a journey that lasts for eighteen years. He learns much truth on his path to the Castle of Wisdom, but something of immense importance awaits his discovery inside.
Great book. I highly recommend it to all.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2003
Most people think of The Wisdom of Shepherds as his best, but my favorite is Castle of Wisdom. I think that it gets at the meaning of life better than any book I've yet read.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2001
"Castle of Wisdom" is a great Christian book, but I think it will be enjoyed by Christian and non-Christian alike. The story line is quite compelling, and the points it makes are deep.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2001
Imagine if you can a spiritual road-journey, a sort of Bhagavadghita or Pilgrim's Progress journey. The path to spiritual enlightenment does not run smooth or straight! A mystical story of a young man who learns some hard lessons of life and discovers that the real truths lay near to home all the time. Some hard fights lay along the way and he learns to stand on his own two feet.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse