Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Beyond Sales Scripts to Adding Value for Customers
Hope Is Not a Strategy is most valuable for those who are new to large account and large ticket selling. For those with lots of experience, the book is helpful in providing a structure for sales team planning and coordination.
As a test of the book's relevance, I took a potential sale that our firm is wrestling with and put it through the process. A number of...
Published on 3 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complex selling, a good excercise...
All in all I though the book was good when used in conjunction with other titles I have in my selling library. The book brings you back to the basics of selling the more complex and generally larger opportunities, however I found it a rather slow and monotonous read.
This is a good title to have on the bookshelf as a reference when having difficulties with a large...
Published on 16 Sep 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Beyond Sales Scripts to Adding Value for Customers, 3 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Hope Is Not a Strategy is most valuable for those who are new to large account and large ticket selling. For those with lots of experience, the book is helpful in providing a structure for sales team planning and coordination.
As a test of the book's relevance, I took a potential sale that our firm is wrestling with and put it through the process. A number of valuable insights came from pursuing Mr. Page's process that would probably not have otherwise become part of our approach. Whether the sale will succeed or not, I don't know, but our effort definitely became more effective as a result. I happily give a book that provides that kind of benefit five stars. Thank you!
The book has four sections:
1. The Challenge -- The Complex Sale
2. The Solution -- R.A.D.A.R. (which stands for "R.eading A.ccounts and D.eploying A.ppropriate R.esources")
3. Strategies for Execution
4. Winning before the Battle -- Account Management
The first section was the least helpful to me (after pursuing complex sales for over 30 years, there wasn't really any new background here). If you are new to complex sales, this material will probably be a real eye-opener . . . especially if you are used to individual sales based on a standard approach. The most amusing section was on how to blend talent on a sales team to get the right mix of skills and orientation. You'll learn about Tellers, Sellers, Hunters, Farmers, Business Developers, Partners, and the Industry-Networked Consultant.
The second section was the heart of the book for me, describing R.A.D.A.R. which is "a simplified, six-step process that combines consultative, competitive, and political sales principles into a concise yet comprehensive process." There's a chapter on each element.
Value is the first challenge and you are supposed to link your solutions to the customer's pain or gain at the largest possible scale. Value stretches as a chain of value whose links (from highest to lowest value) are strategic advantage, political risk, financial return, cultural change, operational applications, and future/capability -- tools).
Resource allocation is the second challenge, and your job is to qualify the prospect to see if you can profitably deliver what that customer needs.
Selling strategy is the third challenge, and you try to "win their hearts before it starts" by looking at how you could win or lose in advance so you can build a competitive preference for you and your offering. This frequently involves developing the specifications.
Organizational politics is the fourth challenge, and you should go where the power is and keep climbing to higher levels. You should ideally sell to the CEO.
Teamwork is the final challenge and you accomplish this by communicating your strategic selling plan throughout your team and partners.
In the third section, the most useful part for me was encouragement to change issues and sales tactics to help your potential customer see the maximum advantage you can provide. This may mean changing the scope of the problem and the solutions you offer.
I felt most comfortable with the fourth section because I try to stay in contact with clients for many years in order to help them become alert to opportunities where we can help them. In the consulting business, that approach is important because almost everything is custom made for the client. You need to know each other well before you can help them in the best ways.
Throughout the book, there are sidebars with specific examples of the principles being described in the main text. These were helpful for the most part. My only complaint is that they were too often about selling computer systems.
If all of these points seem like second nature to you, you may find it more valuable to seek out a more advanced book on complex sales.
After you finish reading the book, think back to a complex sale that you unexpectedly lost. How could the process in this book have helped you to avoid that result?
Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for serious sales professionals, 2 Sep 2002
By 
P J Nery (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hope is Not a Strategy: The 6 Keys to Winning the Complex Sale (Hardcover)
This book breaks down and analyses the processes of managing complex sales. That is, sales to businesses of nearly anything more complex than office stationery. It shows clearly how to best manage the multiple issues and motivations that your client will have as they go through the buying process.
If you or anyone you know is trying to sell anything to businesses then this book will be immensely valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complex selling, a good excercise..., 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hope is Not a Strategy: The 6 Keys to Winning the Complex Sale (Hardcover)
All in all I though the book was good when used in conjunction with other titles I have in my selling library. The book brings you back to the basics of selling the more complex and generally larger opportunities, however I found it a rather slow and monotonous read.
This is a good title to have on the bookshelf as a reference when having difficulties with a large and complicated sales situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - Highly recommended, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book - Highly recommended. If you are a sales professional and you need the key messages then this is a great book. Affirms the basics you hopefully already knows and is sensible and pragmatic in the suggestions made. I refer to this book often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed With Knowledge!, 22 April 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope is Not a Strategy: The 6 Keys to Winning the Complex Sale (Hardcover)
This is an excellent handbook for salespeople in search of a simple summary of the principles of selling complex and costly products and services in a difficult environment. Author Rick Page offers nothing startlingly new, but he does a good job of collecting and presenting the most noteworthy points from collective conventional wisdom about selling. He illustrates these points with amusing, memorable anecdotes. His book is well written, well organized and quite readable. He probably has a point or two to offer even the most experienced and successful salesperson. We note that chapter six summarizes the meat of the book in just three pages, so — until you have time to read the book — time-pressed salespeople could start by glancing at this section to begin to learn what really matters most in a complicated sales effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Knowledge!, 10 Mar 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent handbook for salespeople in search of a simple summary of the principles of selling complex and costly products and services in a difficult environment. Author Rick Page offers nothing startlingly new, but he does a good job of collecting and presenting the most noteworthy points from collective conventional wisdom about selling. He illustrates these points with amusing, memorable anecdotes. His book is well written, well organized and quite readable. He probably has a point or two to offer even the most experienced and successful salesperson. Noting that chapter six summarizes the meat of the book in just three pages, so - until you have time to read the book - time-pressed salespeople could start by glancing at this section to begin to learn what really matters most in a complicated sales effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought it twice, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are enough reviews on this page to give you a sense of what's inside. So here's my pitch for the book. I loaned it to a customer who wouldn't give it back. Therefore I bought it again. I've only ever replaced a book in my library twice. This was one of them. Very, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope is Not a Strategy: The 6 Keys to Winning the Complex Sale
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews