Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colours, colours everywhere!
I have a part-time avocation as a graphic designer, having spent many years as a public relations/communications director. One of the elements that always made my print pieces stand out was the use of colour, and I learned how to use colour from Pantone.
This is a good guide for understanding colour and its uses for print and visual media. It discusses how the...
Published on 4 Jan 2006 by Kurt Messick

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Similar to Pantone's "Messages and Meanings"
I already own Pantone's "Color: Messages and Meanings", and bought this book for two reasons. One was on the assumption that it would be markedly different in its content, giving me a wider knowledge of the subject, and also because it was described (and the "Look Inside" excerpt confirmed it) as having colour conversion charts.

My reasons for giving it a very...
Published on 7 July 2011 by small space


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colours, colours everywhere!, 4 Jan 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
I have a part-time avocation as a graphic designer, having spent many years as a public relations/communications director. One of the elements that always made my print pieces stand out was the use of colour, and I learned how to use colour from Pantone.
This is a good guide for understanding colour and its uses for print and visual media. It discusses how the different colours interact, as well as what mixtures produce different kinds of depths and hues in the colour itself. There is a section that addresses the kinds of emotional responses people give to colours - why, for example, McDonalds had for a time such a predominance of the colour red in their stores, or why certain colours of cars are more or less likely to stand out among the others. Even subtle uses of colour are addressed - why does a teacher grading with a red pen become known as being more critical than the teacher doing the same commentary and correction with a green pen? But not all of these are obvious. For example, black in print and colour media often symbolises power, sophistication, style and elegance (think tuxedos) instead of more traditional 'dark' ideas. The guide states that 'In recent years, attitudes about black have changed more than any other colour with positive associations outweighing the negative.'
This book also gives some fascinating insights into the future of colour. Particularly where print media and personal photography is concerned, the use of colour has never been more possible. Illuminated manuscripts of old, which used to be the only full-colour texts, now have the modern full-colour-process productions as competition for grandeur; the typical Sunday comic pages has more colour that the typical production of almost any sort for centuries.
The graphic layout of this book is interesting and thoughtfully done, and, as one can expect, done in glorious colour. The layouts are artistically creative, giving literally hundreds of examples of use of colour in different ways.
This is a good guide, and a fun book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for getting a quick understanding, 8 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
I recently used this book as part of my research into colour theory and psychology as part of my multimedia degree. It quickly covers the properties of each colour and shows various examples of how they can be used to create certain effects on the viewer.
The colour scheme swatches are also useful for when you get stuck in creating a colour scheme for any of your designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and invaluable resource and learning manual, 27 April 2002
By 
Matt Garcia (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
If you are new to colour theory but want to understand the basic principles fast, so that you can create your own colour combinations with confidence and flair, this is the book for you. If you are experienced in the use of colour and want a handy desktop reference of colour families to select for a given mood this is the book for you. It's a tidy well thought out manual of all the essentials and more. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the colour illiterate, 22 May 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
If choosing matching colours successfully is not one of your natural talents, then this is the book for you. I only purchased this book recently, and now would not be without it. There's a section about creating moods with colour, which I particularly liked. This is a very simple, practical book about using colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for color beginners, 1 April 2004
By 
Luis Marques (Queluz - Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
Nice book. If you are new to color design and teory, this book saves you 1 year of study.
If you already learn color teory in school then this book is a waste of time, maybe a little color combinations examples made it worth and it have good examples of color in actual "comercial" projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Similar to Pantone's "Messages and Meanings", 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
I already own Pantone's "Color: Messages and Meanings", and bought this book for two reasons. One was on the assumption that it would be markedly different in its content, giving me a wider knowledge of the subject, and also because it was described (and the "Look Inside" excerpt confirmed it) as having colour conversion charts.

My reasons for giving it a very personal one star are that it failed to deliver on both counts.

As noted by another reviewer, the charts do not exist. The book ends very strangely with nine completely blank pages and I was tempted to think that I'd received a faulty copy shovelled out to Amazon for sale cheaply for this reason, particularly as the Index lists the charts as being there (doubly odd as the page numbers given for the charts are actually the page numbers that the Index itself is on!). However, the Contents page does NOT mention the charts and in this respect is a different Contents page to the one shown in the "Look Inside" excerpt.

The content of the book is also hugely disappointing to me as it is just a re-worded version of the other book. Or rather, "Color: Messages and Meanings", being produced 6 years later, is just a re-worded version of this one, despite the author's claim in her preface that it is a "follow-on". Sections for single colours. Sections for combining colours. Talk about moods and emotions evoked by colours, and lots of glossy photo collages (most of which, inexplicably I admit, make me think of cigarette advertisements). I've not gone through the two page by page, but comparing a few snippets I've read the same information just delivered using slightly different sentences.

I did hesitate in buying this book, given that I already owned "Color: Messages and Meanings", but I trusted the author's assertion that one followed the other. I don't now feel that assertion is a fair and honest one. If you want one, buy this one - it's cheaper. But I can't see any reason for buying both and do feel a little cross to have wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychological Impact of Colors and Color Combinations, 18 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
At the beginning of the book, the author offers a brief overview of psychological and emotional impact of individual colors (red, pink, oranga, yellow, brown, blue, green, purple, white and black), and then follows the section with different color combinations. Color combinations are sorted out according to the impact they would have upon the viewer and what mood would they convey (e.g. serene, earthy, mellow, powerful, spiritual, romantic, sensual, elegant, playful, energetic, etc). The author also suggests products and services where particular colors may be best suited or where some colors are best avoided.

While the psychological and emotional impact of colors is not exhaustive in this book, it is interesting enough to get you intrigues to further look into it elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Section!, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
I had previously owned this book, but lent it too a friend but never got it back. Just be aware that in the original version of this book, there was a section at the back which had the conversion charts of Pantone colors to CYMK which was extremely useful. This section has been removed and replaced with blank white pages. It's a pity Pantone have done this, as this book is little more than a color swatch book now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book!, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Coffee & Vanilla "Margot" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color (Paperback)
Great for beginner but also anyone already working in graphic design. Very useful book that you will be always coming back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color
"Pantone" Guide to Communicating with Color by Leatrice Eiseman (Paperback - 1 Mar 2001)
Used & New from: 2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews