Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to celebrate the writing life
Unlike many books which treat writers as lowly and desperate, Linda and Diana celebrate the writing life. They don't gloss over realities (like needing to pay your bills) but their advice is upbeat and positive with excellent tips and advice as well as inspiring case studies. The first edition helped me jumpstart my freelance writing career and the new edition is...
Published on 9 Jan. 2006 by Eve (www.coachingwriters.co.uk)

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too American, no regard for British or European markets.
Too American, no regard for British or European markets. The book gives some useful tips but was very much focused on the US market which is very different to those in Britain and Europe. The writing style was also too American and I found it irritating. Not recommended for beginners, in my opinion as a published author.
Published on 29 Jun. 2011 by Roy Brookes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to celebrate the writing life, 9 Jan. 2006
Unlike many books which treat writers as lowly and desperate, Linda and Diana celebrate the writing life. They don't gloss over realities (like needing to pay your bills) but their advice is upbeat and positive with excellent tips and advice as well as inspiring case studies. The first edition helped me jumpstart my freelance writing career and the new edition is superb, too. It's the best advice for freelance writers I've come across and I recommend it to all my writer clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlast! Web-friendly advice for writers! Excellent book!, 26 July 2003
This review is from: The Renegade Writer: A Totally Unconventional Guide to Freelance Writing Success (Paperback)
Welcome to the future! A book for writers that actually acknowledges the web exists! And then some.
Excellent web refs for sources for articles, writer's guidelines and downright USEFUL sites. Written by two hot young writers, this book is a breath of fresh air after all those stuffy, out-dated how-to-be-a-freelance-writer books that offer cautious, tip toeing around the editor 'advice'.
This book is a bold, brazen, fun guide to how to GET ON WITH IT and succeed, not just plod along in hobbyist waters. Like putting on a cool fan on a hot day or diving into icy water, this book really motivates you.
I am not one to gush about books - I am too busy reading them, and even busier building my own freelance career. But this book has given me more practical advice, inspiration and get-up-and-go than about twenty other 'helpful guides' to making a living from writing.
Thanks a lot, Linda and Diana - two sassy writers with initiative, balls and spirit! May you long continue to flourish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, helpful advice, 8 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has got to be one of my favourite books on writing. It is full of useful, helpful information that takes into account the realistic world of writing in the real world - rather than the ideal, rose-tinted one that seems to be in other writing help books. This includes sending multiple queries, rather than being good and waiting for your single query to be returned before sending out another and also solid information on actually getting on with writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Renegade Writer, 20 Aug. 2009
By 
Unconventional in that it takes the usual pieces of advice and turns them upside down, ie Break this Rule.
Chatty and friendly approach, good for those starting out as freelancers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too American, no regard for British or European markets., 29 Jun. 2011
By 
Roy Brookes "roybrookes" (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too American, no regard for British or European markets. The book gives some useful tips but was very much focused on the US market which is very different to those in Britain and Europe. The writing style was also too American and I found it irritating. Not recommended for beginners, in my opinion as a published author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as radical as it thinks it is, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a journalist for 21 years, though for the past decade I've mostly worked as a freelance subeditor. I was hoping for a book on how to tap into new markets, generate better story ideas and improve my pitching. What i got was fairly standard advice for newbies, albeit breezily written and with some thought-provoking ideas thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for anyone starting out, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
C. Dow "Catrisha" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was recommended to me by Butterflyist blogger and freelancer herself, Andrea Wren. It's accessible and full of really useful, highly valuable insider info to anyone looking to get into freelance writing.

While most of the tips and techniques are generic, the writers' featured are talking about the US market, which left me with questions on whether the same applied in the UK (copyright etc.) The good news is these questions are the kind, which gets you talking to established freelancers, editors and networking sounding 'kinda like' you know what you're doing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated but great inspiration for any freelance writer, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit dated but great inspiration for any freelance writer. Very american but applies to all nationalities. Even cycnical old hacks could take something from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful and a bit American for me, 18 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Renegade Writer: A Totally Unconventional Guide to Freelance Writing Success (Paperback)
Mostly good - could do with an English version or some translations and definitions for example the word querying is used repetitively. No definition or example found yet and I am most of the way through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Renegade Writer: A Totally Unconventional Guide to Freelance Writing Success
Used & New from: £0.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews