Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go ahead, you'll love it!
This is an amazing and wonderful book that has great transformative power. Daniel Ladinsky's translations are full of light. I couldn't recommend it more highly.
Published on 14 Oct. 1998

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Subject Tonight is Honesty
I really can't understand how Ladinsky can claim to "translate" Hafiz when he has no knowledge in Farsi. The answer is probably that, when confronted with the fact that none of his poems has ANY equivalent in anything Hafiz has written, he claims that the poems were actually "handed to him in a dream" by Hafiz. Oh yeah. Well, they might be beautiful, but they were...
Published on 2 Jun. 2011 by Pythagoras


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go ahead, you'll love it!, 14 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems (Paperback)
This is an amazing and wonderful book that has great transformative power. Daniel Ladinsky's translations are full of light. I couldn't recommend it more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book makes my soul sing, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems (Paperback)
These are words that leave the page and enter you brain,your heart, your soul; they fizz and delight the senses. The truth and joy of this writing is more than language it is a reawakening of the sense of Universal oneness. There is a beauty in Hafiz that is irresistable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is definitely a Daniel Ladinsky interpretation of Hafiz's exact rhymes, rather than a pure translation, but don't be put off by that. It is a beautiful collection of poetry that has spiritual truth shine through almost every word. Both lyrical and down to earth by turns it's a collection I come back to read and ponder often. Simply put it makes my heart sing. The format is loose and inspired, but the words speak directly to the soul.

The universal truths contemplated here can be found in every religion, and indeed in enlightened psychology. It's not surprising that Hafiz's works are so cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Virus!, 20 Feb. 2015
By 
Joe Rooney (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Rumi's poetry, you are likely to like Hafiz. It can also be funny and "quirky", e.g. "The Happy Virus":

"I caught the happy virus last night
When I was out singing beneath the stars.
It is remarkably contagious -
So, kiss me."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gift for my valentine, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as a gift for my Valentine. We both love poetry and the spoken word and whilst I have enjoyed some of the poems in this collection in the past, they are a joy to return to time and again. Perfect for reading out loud to someone you love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alike to swallowing molten gold..., 16 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems (Paperback)
Opening this book any old how, I read the lines thus presented to me. Great tears welled up in my eyes. And overflowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a wonderful book, and the translation is superb, 14 Aug. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems (Paperback)
I read some of the poems aloud to my meditation group, and we were by turns marveling in awe and rolling with laughter. Hafiz's sensual and deeply emotional spirituality is a revelation, especially to those brought up with the Christian notion of god as a loving but austerely remote force. And the translations are fun, outrageous, very contemporary. You'll love this book, whatever your spiritual or religious preference is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hafiz's poetry is simply breathtaking. From laughter to tears there is more within each poem than words can find to express.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Subject Tonight is Love 60 Wild and Sweet Poems of Hafiz (Compass), 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Drunk on the words and perfumes of Hafiz , I gifted this book to my aunt for her birthday she is enjoying it so much...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful reminder of our true "love quest", 24 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems (Paperback)
The wisdom of a disciple of a living Master rings through this awe-filled version of Hafiz. It's obvious that one who has experienced first hand the miracle of a Master/Disciple relationship can write such beauty. Is this Hafiz' experience or your own, Daniel? You have reminded those who seek the "highest love affair" of all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems
The Subject Tonight is Love: 60 Wild and Sweet Poems by Daniel James Ladinsky (Paperback - Jun. 1996)
Used & New from: £1.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews