Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still incomparable
If there's any justice, the success of 50 Shades is bringing the focus back on this classic.
Did it all, said it better than anyone else years ago.
Few have improved on it. Drop dead Grey and Anastasia, this is the real stuff....
Published on 23 July 2012 by Real erotica

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars None
Obviously a classic cult novel, this book is important to most lovers of literature, whatever their perspective. But Amazon and Kindle, despite the overwhelming feedback, have done such a clunky, complacent and useless job at delivering a decent translation that all nuance and meaning has been squeezed out. It even seems too much to ask for a simple spell check. Hang your...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by Charles Money-Kyrle


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still incomparable, 23 July 2012
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
If there's any justice, the success of 50 Shades is bringing the focus back on this classic.
Did it all, said it better than anyone else years ago.
Few have improved on it. Drop dead Grey and Anastasia, this is the real stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary and explicit tale of enslavement and bondage., 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story of O (Hardcover)
The story of "O" is an an extraordinary and explicit pornographic novel presenting a montage of sexual mistreatment, bondage, whips, masks and chains. Pauline Réage, the author, was a pseudonym for Dominique Aury, an eminent literary figure in France.

The Story of O relates the enslavement of a young and beautiful Parisian fashion photographer, O, by a secret society in a chateau, where her body is ravaged and exploited. As she learns her duties she is put in chains, whipped and branded; any man may use her as he wishes.

This is not a book for the faint hearted, but its beautifully written, elegant and disapassionate prose takes much of the sting out of the subject, and the book offers a powerful evocation of a woman who is willingly enslaved, understanding that the harsher the treatments she endures, the more she is ennobled by her enslavement and the more she proves her love for her master. This english translation is much more euphemistic than the original and very earthy french, but overall the translation is faithful to the spirit of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!!, 6 July 2010
By 
Helen Dixon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
Loved this book, just saddened that it ended so 'unfinished' and that the reviews for the follow up of this book are all pretty negative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, sexy, dangerous and beautiful., 22 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
Well,... stumbled on this one a while ago and I suppose I've no choice but to call it pornography, but that sounds a bit low-brow. If there's such a thing as literary pornography, then this is where the story of O fits. You need to be open minded here - the themes of BDSM are adult in the extreme, but this story also touches the human condition. It will haunt you, it will arouse you, and and it will make you think. O will touch you! Truly a classic, and should be read by all open minded adults who are not afraid to venture over to the dark side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got totally lost in this book., 7 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
If you are looking at these reviews then you are obviously interested in erotic novels. You won't be disappointed by this time tested fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very, disturbing, 9 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Story of O: 001 (Paperback)
I have just finished the book not more than 5 minutes ago, and I am in a state of shock. The way O gave up everything for her lover, even her individuality, was frightening. The men never gave anything but token displays of love, and she was satisfied in that. She is the image of what women should not be. This book will definately make you think about how much is too much to give up for love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Must Read This!, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
This is the first modern book of its kind. Buy it and enjoy. In many ways however it is outdated by more recent writers such as Kristina Lloyd, Stella Black and John Helmer. This is a great gift idea for the uninitiated though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intriguing, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story Of O (Kindle Edition)
I found this book intriguing, a guilty pleasure. Not the kind of book I would normally read but the way it is written makes it fascinating. I recommend this book, unfortunately I have been unable to find an equivalent. Everything else in the category seems to lack something as this book is sensual and erotic rather than smutty. Why have cotton when you can have silk?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how it should be done., 23 May 2013
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
It May go a bit too far for many of the fifty shades fans but closer to the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The true original erotic masterpiece - forget '50' this is the one to read!, 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
Blurb - "In brief, Story of O relates the progressive willful debasement of a young and beautiful Parisian fashion photographer, O, who wants nothing more than to be a slave to her lover, René.
The test is severe--sexual in method, psychological in substance...
The artistic interest here has precisely to do with the use not only of erotic materials but also erotic methods, the deliberate stimulation of the reader as a part of and means to a total, authentic literary experience."

Summary- This beautiful French classic about a girl known as 'O' - a Parisian photographer who is in love with a gentleman called 'Rene'.
'Rene' is a dominant and brings 'O' to a château where she is taut the meaning of being submissive. 'O' is now in a world she does not understand, but due to the love she has for 'Rene', she is willing to deal with harsh treatment, BDSM and other sexual adventures.

How is 'O' going to cope?
Will she be able to complete her training?
How is she going to deal with serving other men other than the man she loves?
Will this experience break her and how will her relationship with 'Rene' hold up?

My Thoughts - Written in the 50's, this was the start of erotic BDSM (at least in my eyes). I do however, find it hard to believe that E.L. James hasn't taken this masterpiece (a modern story when such things were rather taboo) and just changed the location and a few other bits and bobs to make it her own.
I do feel it has just been duplicated, but nothing can beat the original that is 'The Story of O'.
This is erotica at its absolute best. Masterfully written, beautifully portrayed and in my opinion - erotic literary genius.
Written with women and men in mind, this is a story that can be enjoyed by any adult. It is more than just a pornographic story. 'The Story of O' is a true tale of love, of obedience and a dark portrayal of what some people are willing to go through for the one's they truly love.
I do feel like it is a shame as to how much success 'Fifty Shades of Grey' has gotten, when this is truly the real, original masterpiece rather than James's copy. At least other may look for this book if they have enjoyed 'Fifty Shades'.

My Rating - I have rated this book a 5 out of 5 as well as being an amazing, must read novel.
This should be on the top of any readers list if they are a fan of sexy, saucy, erotic stories. If you like 'Fifty Shades' you are GUARANTEED to love this story.

If you like my review for this novel, please feel free to check out my book blog over at [...]NOW - Where you can read more reviews, authors info, enter competitions, watch book related video's and so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Story Of O
Story Of O by Pauline (trans John Paul Hand). Reage (Paperback - 1993)
Used & New from: £4.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews