Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Truth
Have you ever thought that the idea of a loving all merciful God was a great idea, but that the various religious doctrines turned you off? Have you thought that much of the contents of the Bible and Koran is just not up to scratch for today's world? And what about the other religions, Hindu, Taoism, Shinto, etc... If there were truly an omniscient, omnipresent Deity,...
Published on 12 Aug. 2011 by Mr. T. D. Outerbridge

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A gargantuan mess
This is probably the only negative review I have ever written. This book is pretentious, rambling and quite honestly almost if not more incomprehensible as Finnegans Wake. There is a CD rom that comes with the book so that if you cant get passed a paragragh then you can settle down and listen to what sounds like an android voice whitter on about galactic this and cosmic...
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by David McIntyre


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Truth, 12 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Urantia Book: A Revelation (Hardcover)
Have you ever thought that the idea of a loving all merciful God was a great idea, but that the various religious doctrines turned you off? Have you thought that much of the contents of the Bible and Koran is just not up to scratch for today's world? And what about the other religions, Hindu, Taoism, Shinto, etc... If there were truly an omniscient, omnipresent Deity, then why would he/she put up with all the errors, and all the misguided and perverted religious prejudices that abound?

The answer is to read The Urantia Book. This is a work authored by a compilation of spiritual beings, angels if you will, who asked for and were given authorization to complete this tome of 1096 pages; a veritable feast for genuine Truth-Seekers everywhere. The exact techniques as to how these revelatory papers were commissioned and put into print has spawned another industry, but the positively overwhelming conclusion of most of those who have read and studied The Urantia Book, is that this book is an official communication from intelligent life outside our local solar system and from the planetary angels still here on Earth. Urantia is the local universe name of our planet, and Nebadon is the name of our local universe. Details of the creditable reason (i.e. The Lucifer Rebellion) are revealed as to why our world has been cut off from normal universe circuits of communication; and for how long we have been - and can further expect to remain - in quarantine.

To accept this book for what it claims to be, ie the Fifth Epochal Revelation, one has to consult one's conscience with a view to favoring the influence of the Spirit of Truth. If you are interested in historical truths about Adam and Eve, the Garden of Eden and the evolution of Man, the Lucifer Rebellion and the downfall of Man; and if you are interested to learn more about the Universe and God's participation in his creation, then The Urantia Book will tickle you pink. "Your short sojourn on Urantia [Earth] - is only a single link, the very first in the long chain that is to stretch across universes and through the eternal ages." The Urantia Book, (39:4.13 )

After we die there is an eternal new adventure in store. The Urantia Book gives a preview of how you can expect your universal career to unfold as you progress ever upwards and inwards, as you traverse seven super-universes to the very center of creation and to Paradise, the infinite dwelling place of God the Father.

If you are interested in the Life and Teachings of Jesus Christ, and would like to know what happened in the so-called "missing years"; if you have a love for the Master or just a fascination for his character; if you have a yearning to know exactly what he taught without the Bible misquotes due to the writer's memory lapses or inaccurate language translations, then read Part IV, the last part of the revelation. There you will find a wonderful account of Jesus of Nazareth which accurately surpasses any other in writing today.
Also The Urantia Book discloses the full narrative of Jesus' betrayal by Judas Iscariot, the real reason for his crucifixion and his traumatic death; and it dispels the accepted argument that he was 'sacrificed' and that his 'blood was shed for our redemption.'

"Though it is hardly proper to speak of Jesus as a sacrificer, a ransomer, or a redeemer, it is wholly correct to refer to him as a saviour. He forever made the way of salvation (survival) more clear and certain; he did better and more surely show the way of salvation for all mortals of all the worlds of the universe of Nebadon." p2017

Many Christians will balk at the number of revelations which directly contradict entrenched beliefs which stem from the Holy Bible, but as The Urantia Book states on page 1732, "You must cease to seek for the word of God only on the pages of the olden records of theologic authority. Those who are born of the spirit of God shall henceforth discern the word of God regardless of whence it appears to take origin. Divine truth must not be discounted because the channel of its bestowal is apparently human." Religion cannot be bestowed, received, loaned, learned, or lost. It is a personal experience which grows proportionally to the growing quest for final values.

The Urantia Book is destined to be found in every household on Earth one distant day in the future. It provides the documentary road map to bring the nations, the countries, the peoples and the families under one umbrella of the Love of God and Brotherhood of Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best printed edition of The URANTIA Book ever., 11 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Urantia Book: A Revelation (Hardcover)
The Uversa Press edition of The URANTIA Book is superior to the "alternative" ones because:

a) the text is laid out in two columns, making it easier to read.

b) the paragraphs are numbered, making it easier to locate or refer to a place in the text.

c) Index

d) the list of all changes compared to 1955 first edition. The only other edition that I know of which lists these changes is my son's "English Study Edition" but it is too expensive (in printed format) for an average reader.

e) DVD with the Audio recording (in mp3 format) of the entire Urantia Book in "one section per file" format, nicely laid out in a hierarchical directory tree of papers.

Overall, excellent work --- thank you, Uversa Press!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urantia Book hardback with audio CD, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Urantia Book: A Revelation (Hardcover)
This book is a wonderful expansive view of the reality and world we live in, it answers many questions that you are left asking after reading the Bible and many other texts of this nature. The style is good, the language is strange at first but always uplifting; at times it become difficult to understand this is when you should rest and reflect on what you have read, do not try to read too much it is a big read the first time and this is where the audio CD that is with the book is a fantastic idea. Have you ever read a book and did not know how to say that or pronounce this, well you can read word for word as the CD plays on you computer mac or pc, walkman what ever, this CD will suit all. IT is a perfect well thought through experience and gives you so much more enjoyment and understanding of Urantia which at times is full of complex ideas and levels.

Chapter IV about the life and teachings of Jesus is the reason why I got this book. Being a Christian with an open mind has meant that the agnostic texts not included in the Bible were more interesting and revealing than the interpretations offered in study in the church scene and I began to wonder why that should be the case. Now after reading Urantia a can see why I was right to keep an open mind and to feel a little short changed when reading about the teachings and message of Jesus from just the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressions, 23 Dec. 2011
The book is a positively challanging read. As a bible reader I found the Urantia book delves deeper into explanations not readily available in the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urantia - The Celestials' Name For Our Planet Earth, 25 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I quite agree with those reviews I have read that say that much of the early theological discussion in this book is somewhat dense and jargonesque, and that it does not make for light, or always particularly intellectually satisfying reading, nevertheless there is a long section in this book, giving a blow by blow, and very scientific, account of the early evolution of our planet, which would be enough to justify buying it in itself. The fact that it then goes on to give the fullest account of the life of Jesus ever written, and written in a scholarly and well-researched way to boot, truly does set this book apart. It is not at all like some of these Gnostic Gospels or some of the other New Age tomes we have had on the same subject. This one is clear, readable, and its manifest and useful content is not hidden behind a long stream of Victorian or Bible-esque language designed to give it a "feeling of genuineness" without revealing anything important or pertinent. This is not merely a good book. It is an historical work, and I can truly say that I can think of many people who would benefit from reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let the light in!, 12 April 2013
This review is from: The Urantia Book: A Revelation (Hardcover)
We are not alone:
The Urantia Book may be the most powerful evidence ever that mankind is not alone and that there is intelligent life in the Universe.

The Urantia Book boldly claims to be a revelation of truth to our world from a friendly and well-ordered universe. A revelation, in book form, intended to help guide humankind into the next era of evolutionary progress. It provides a deeper appreciation and understanding of our own planetary family, as well as our place in the cosmic family of freewill intelligent beings. It reveals as never before an infinite circle of creation, at the center of which reigns our beneficent and loving creator.

First published in 1955, The Urantia Book is a literary masterpiece that harmonizes science, religion, and philosophy, while illuminating mankind's origin, history and destiny. A full third of the book is devoted to the life and teachings of Jesus and is undoubtedly the most sublimely beautiful story of Jesus ever told.

Part I, The Central and Super Universe, deals with God "the first source and center all things and beings" in a vast creation. It reveals as never before the perfect and loving nature of God, who is not only our Creator but the creator of a "Universe of Universes." It exquisitely portrays God's as the divine source of all that is and the divine parent of every freewill intelligent being. It provides unfathomable depth in describing both the spiritual and physical organization of the entire cosmos.

Part II, The Local Universe, focuses on our part of the cosmos, describing life as it is organized and exists in our "Local Universe." It explains the many celestial helpers who guide us in our journey inward to the center of creation, giving a detailed account of what happens to us when our life on Earth is done, as well as revealing our personal, planetary, and universe destiny.

Part III, The History of Urantia, is an extraordinarily insightful depiction of the evolution of life on Earth. It describes humanity's journey from the most primitive forms of civilization to our current situation, and reveals practical next steps to help us advance to even higher levels of existence. Dedication to the ideals of marriage and family life are revealed as critical to advancing civilization. Eventually, the cosmic reality of the global family of all mankind will carry us on to our ultimate goal of planetary progress. The details and significance of Adam and Eve and Melchizedek further complete our historical knowledge. The presentation of the Divine Spark of God that lives within each individual is one of the major concepts presented.

Part IV, The Life and Teachings of Jesus, lifts Jesus out of the context of the Christian religion and portrays his life and teachings in a way that is inspiring to people of all faiths and all walks of life. This includes a profoundly moving account of Jesus' life in chronological order from birth, through childhood, adolescence, adult years (including his private and public ministries), and eventual death and resurrection.

Readers of The Urantia Book commonly experience profound transformation, and an uplifting desire to grow in spirit and grace, to actually live in partnership with God.

Are you ready to embark on an endless voyage of discovery?

LET THE LIGHT IN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will truly love the Bible after you have read the Urantia Book, 2 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Urantia Book: A Revelation (Hardcover)
After you have studied the Urantia Book not only you will NOT reject the Bible but will indeed enjoy studying it more and more because then you will know the truth of what the Bible is and what it is not.

The revelation contained in the Urantia Book restores the true gospel of the kingdom of God proclaimed by the Lord Jesus, namely the fact of the fatherhood of God and the implied truth of the brotherhood of men. After our Master ascended on high, his original gospel has been distorted into "another gospel", namely a manmade (largely by Paul and Peter) gospel "about Jesus" and thus the main value of the Fifth Epochal Revelation contained in the Urantia Book is to restore and restate the teachings of Jesus in a modern English language accessible to all. No longer do you need (as I have done and gone a long circle to study all these things and came back to where I started, i.e. to the spiritual _origin_ of my faith and the source of my very life) to study several ancient languages in order to get access to the records of the truth.

Behold, the truth is right here, in this very book, but it shall remain locked and hidden from your eyes until you have made a conscious choice to consecrate your will to the doing of the will of God, your Father in heaven, --- then and only then you will receive the Spirit of Truth without whom no man can comprehend the truth, no matter in how "plain" and "accessible" form it is proclaimed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Summation, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Urantia Book: A Revelation (Hardcover)
This text has been able to surmise all the information concerning our basic nature and our origin,that I have accumulated over the last two decades. It truly helps to live a useful and happier life,with a complete understanding of our purpose in this phase of existence. Thank You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A gargantuan mess, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably the only negative review I have ever written. This book is pretentious, rambling and quite honestly almost if not more incomprehensible as Finnegans Wake. There is a CD rom that comes with the book so that if you cant get passed a paragragh then you can settle down and listen to what sounds like an android voice whitter on about galactic this and cosmic that. It sounds like free association theology meets carl Sagan at a dadaist convention run by a fruit bowl. Be warned, smoke something first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's like the Bible but really boring. I lost the book somewhere. It is an extraordinary book, but very repetitive. I was reading it falling asleep on the beach, trying to get to the interesting and exciting part, but never got there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Urantia Book: A Revelation
The Urantia Book: A Revelation by Uversa Press (Hardcover - 27 Feb. 2003)
£16.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews