Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tantalizing, teasing, taunting and assuring., 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose)) (Paperback)
A seductive introduction to what B&D really is and brings up the most common misconceptions in the story. Fears, pre-concieved ideas and panting dreams are put straight with a firm hand. Yet also delving in to the more psycological aspect of playing. A slave is not a willingless thing - it is the perfect servant in every way - this book eloquently tourments you into a very good understanding of this.
A very well written story of that will do more for you than warm your pelvic region. A perfect mind teaser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 7 Nov 2003
By 
R. Thomas "pipedreamer57" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose)) (Paperback)
Laura Antoniou has made a wonderful name for herself in the world of erotic fiction. So much "erotic" fiction these days isn't worth the paper it's printed on. Antoniou's books are different because they are inherently believeable, fantastical and very intelligent. For anyone who has read the first book and is debating reading the rest, I would strongly encourage you to read them all. The first book is my least favourite, as the characters, particularly Chris Parker, have no room to develop as they do in later books. That said, The Marketplace is a wonderful first effort from one of the most intelligent commentators on BDSM around. It's more than just kinky porn; the books appeal to us through the psychology of S/M, the motives of both slaves and Trainers, and the inherent realism of the world T/they inhabit. Rich in detail, laughter and really hot sex, they provide a stimulating read in more ways than one! As a close adherent to this particular lifestyle, it is wondeful to read something which I can not only closely relate to, but which speaks for all those who aren't just "players" or weekend BDSMers. Thank you, Ms. Antoniou, for such a wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally believable fantasy world., 16 Sep 2003
By 
Ms. L. J. Mcalister "pinklucy" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose)) (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down! Laura Antoniou draws you completely into this world of secret consensual slave rings. The characters and siuations are rich, fascinating, lovable and totally believable. She captures the BDSM psychology in a wonderful way, which ensures that the BDSM interactions are believable, whilst being placed in a completely fantastical context. This is consensual slavery taken to the extremes of fantasy, which makes it fascinating. I usually have no interest in pansexual erotica, but the characters in this book seem so real that I put aside my usual preferences and enjoyed reading about their lives. As an aside, the rest of the series continued to enthral me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A kinky Canterbury Tales, 7 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose)) (Paperback)
This is a classic example that the original is the best. Unlike the 2 sequels, which focus on the dilemmas of a greedy yet self-aware bottom (The Slave) and a shallow guy struggling with Top's Disease (The Trainer), this involves a liaison between 4 individuals with perceived submissive tendencies. It is a beautiful clarification of how submissives struggle with their identity, which makes the reader empathic. It also brings to light the importance of communication, which The Marketplace paradoxically endorses in the place where no safewords suffice. However, it is the character who says the least, Chris Parker, who is the most enticing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good read, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really enjoyable book. Not what I was expecting. It had me after I read the introduction, and I got the other 3 in the series. It certainly didn't disappoint me. Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oo'er Missus!, 10 Aug 2013
By 
C. Rigby-wharton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprisingly well written for kink/erotic fiction. Loved this first installment of the series. Just started no.2, The Slave and loving that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars realistic and gripping, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose)) (Paperback)
brilliatly written, shame about the cost which is why its 4 stars, but still a great read, would recomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Momy porn !, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mommy porn its not. Flipping fantastic it is. This was highly recommended to me by a close friend . "raspberry noise" to the 50 shades series. this knocks its socks of. It uses proper words for intimate parts so you actually get a flaming good idea of what is going off, the story is well written too. its not just about the sex.

Love the Chris Parker character. READ IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original... and Best... Chris ;), 13 Nov 2013
I first read the Marketplace Series years ago when first coming in to kink. I am so very glad I did as it gave me a real insight to the mind of a submissive, and I found myself identifying hugely with the mindset of the slaves. Including some of the struggles they go through in accepting their need to serve, and submitting fully, which is touched upon throughout the series. Anyhow, if you want a realistic insight into the minds of both Master and slave, together with a hot read that will get your mind, your imagination, and your lower bits going, then give this a read. I cannot recommend it any higher.

Also, I've had a crush on Chris Parker for over a decade. Unfortunately I've not found Him yet. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose))
Marketplace, the: Book One (Marketplace (Mystic Rose)) by Laura Antoniou (Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: £5.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews