Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be taught in all schools
Even if you think the idea of composting your own toilet waste is far too outlandish for you. Once you have finished reading this book, you'll feel guilt at going against complete common sense and doing your business in drinking water, in effect poisoning your own water supply which must be cleaned with poisonous chlorine!

Joseph Jenkins convinces the reader...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by JamJam

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would benefit from being shorter
This book attempts to convince people to compost their faeces rather than flush them down the sewers. This is fundamentally a good idea - it is wasteful to throw away a useful fertiliser, wasteful to flush it away with drinking quality water, and the effluent from sewage plants pollute our rivers. The author spoils his good intentions by wasting pages expounding his...
Published on 26 April 2012 by Gaius Calvus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be taught in all schools, 22 Jan 2012
By 
JamJam (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
Even if you think the idea of composting your own toilet waste is far too outlandish for you. Once you have finished reading this book, you'll feel guilt at going against complete common sense and doing your business in drinking water, in effect poisoning your own water supply which must be cleaned with poisonous chlorine!

Joseph Jenkins convinces the reader how ignorant we've all been for far too long. He explains how the compost is completely safe to use on vegetables, even if the waste originally had parasites and heavy metals. Thermophillic composting appears to break everything down.

I couldn't recommend reading this enough.
I'll be now lending this book to my dad who is a fecophobe in its truest traditional form!

Next job. Build a compost toilet system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The natural way!, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
Most people would find some parts of this book a bit disgusting but that's all because we are all so used to flush toilets which not only waste water but pollute the environment via sewages. I actually think this is how ''toilets'' were back in the time of Christ, of course the bushmen have always recycled this way and they are all disease free. Trust me, there is nothing primitive about this loo, it is the best thing we could all do with, especially those living in the countryside and have loads of space. I'm definitely going for it, thank you Joseph Jenkins, you convinced me - back to the natural reality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Composting genius, 13 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! I'm very much a novice when it comes to composting and have created some pretty smelly heaps in my time, but this book makes composting so simple, I love it! I think the auther manages a healthy balance of experienced knowledge, thorough, scientific research, practical 'how to' with a bit of humour thrown in, with what is a pretty serious and important issue for all of us. It has succeeded in making me so excited, I'm making plans to have my own humanure composting system - can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, read it and if you have the space do it, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
Changed the way I think about things; bought the book two years ago and after following the guidelines on an outdoor toilet for this period of time I'm about to install three indoors. Make sure you read the book a few times and ensure you follow the do's and don'ts to the letter (only two pages in the book) and it will work. It takes me less than five minutes a week to deal with two peoples waste (plus guests) which I'm sure is a lot less time than some people spend per day looking after a flushing toilet! The book may be a bit technical at times and you probably don't think you need all the info, but it's all good stuff to convince yourself and others that this is the right thing to do in an over populated and polluted planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and valuable book, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
This self-published book should, as other reviewers have already written, be read by everyone on the planet. It is extraordinary. The amount of valuable research and advice in one volume, on a totally unglamorous subject is astonishing.
The style is gently humorous (what else could it be?) so the vast amount of information is easy reading.
Thank heavens there are people like Joseph Jenkins who are prepared to do the research and get it out in the public domain.

Check out this book on the Amazon.com site. You can look inside the book there and note that it has 75 five star ratings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical feedback, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
I used a compost toilet for 9 months while living in the Amazon. After the initial squeamishness and fear of dirt, you find out that the reality is that it's completely fine. A properly constructed system with a toilet seat means there's no problems with leakage or spillage or anything like that. You use toilet paper as normal and just cover everything up with a shake of sawdust. Everyone should read this book and start to make changes in their waste management. I'm about to rework my plumbing so that my toilet flushes on wastewater, not drinking water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the environment!, 19 Jun 2007
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
Due to a plumbing fault in the house, my family have been composting in the back garden on a daily basis for over a year. What a bonus to stumble upon this book and find out that our actions have been helping to preserve the future of our planet! A number of residents in our street have complainined that the local environment has been suffering from some rather unpleasant air pollution of late, so we feel proud to be putting something back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, vital subject!, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
Brilliant, practical, down to earth, and deeply needed for our time. A voice of experience, and answering many of the questions I had about compost generally as well as the specifics of recycling human waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be read by everyone on the planet, 9 Dec 2009
By 
J. Cohen "senoritaj" (mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
A reader's quote on the back cover of the book says it should be mandatory reading for everyone on the planet. I couldn't agree more. Joseph Jenkins' argument is compelling and important, and is greatly supported by the many references to other books and studies on the subject.

The only thing which slightly lets the book down is that there is quite a bit of repetition. Nevertheless, I highly recommend reading it and putting into action it's advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would benefit from being shorter, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure (Paperback)
This book attempts to convince people to compost their faeces rather than flush them down the sewers. This is fundamentally a good idea - it is wasteful to throw away a useful fertiliser, wasteful to flush it away with drinking quality water, and the effluent from sewage plants pollute our rivers. The author spoils his good intentions by wasting pages expounding his political and religious views, which are likely to offend a proportion of readers, who may then be less inclined to make humanure, which would be a shame. The book does contain all the practical information you require to make humanure at home, although probably not in a bedsit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure
The Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure by Joseph C. Jenkins (Paperback - 1 Jan 2006)
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews