Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin!
The strapline for the book says 'a realistic introduction...' and that's exactly what you get.
As a newcomer to BDSM, I was looking for something to give me an introduction to the scene. I had visited several websites' discussion pages, but found the things there a bit cliquey and not very helpful.
SM101, on the other hand, was extremely useful. The book assumes...
Published on 8 Jun 2003 by master_gabriel

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SM or H&S?
This was quite an informative book for the beginner in BDSM practice, and was particularly useful in slave training if that is your area of interest. Although safety is paramount in all activities (safe, sane and consensual, right?), there were times when it became a bit like reading a health and safety manual instead of a new erotic discovery. For example, hot wax uses...
Published on 8 Nov 2007 by Annie Fur Lactic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin!, 8 Jun 2003
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
The strapline for the book says 'a realistic introduction...' and that's exactly what you get.
As a newcomer to BDSM, I was looking for something to give me an introduction to the scene. I had visited several websites' discussion pages, but found the things there a bit cliquey and not very helpful.
SM101, on the other hand, was extremely useful. The book assumes no prior knowledge of S & M, but takes the reader through the principles of playing, how to play safely, use of safewords and contracts. It then goes on to look at some of the techniques used, such as whipping, ropework, blindfolds and gags, and tells you how to improvise some equipment yourself. It has lots of ideas for scenes, and also tells you how to find like-minded people in your area.
The writing style is relaxed, honest and friendly, and throughout the book there are amusing quotes from people in the BDSM community, which help give it a down to earth quality - it's not at all voyeuristic or pervy - although I'm not sure I'd leave it on the coffee table!
The only drawback is that, with it being an American book, many of the contacts and suppliers are unavailable here - though there are of course web addresses and links too.
All in all, an extremely good introduction to the BDSM lifestlye. I found it a real confidence boost... and it gave me several ideas to try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, friendly and honest manual for BDSM players, 9 Dec 2001
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
This book reads like a manual for those wishing to learn more about the practicalities of BDSM relationships. Its honest, friendly and amusing. It doesn't have to be read from beginning to end and dipping into it often yeilds some surprising things.
As said its very practical and you can have hours of fun subjecting one another to various suggestions such as bondage, clothes pegs, flogging and training plans, all of which can be done as seriously or flippantly as desired. There is a lot of really good advice on how to play safe and respectfully
We think this book is a must for anyone wanting a hand finding their feet in the kinky world of BDSM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SM or H&S?, 8 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
This was quite an informative book for the beginner in BDSM practice, and was particularly useful in slave training if that is your area of interest. Although safety is paramount in all activities (safe, sane and consensual, right?), there were times when it became a bit like reading a health and safety manual instead of a new erotic discovery. For example, hot wax uses candles that are a potential fire risk..... no kidding Sherlock?

There are little sayings on each page that describe various fantasies and particular kinks, which were quite delicious however!!! Altogether a useful read but I feel that John Warren's "The Loving Dominant" and Philip Miller/Molly Devon's "Screw the Roses Send me the Thorns" are much better in terms of keeping it practical and safe but exploring the playful aspects with a better overall narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book to move you from fantasy to reality, 27 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
SM 101 presents in an easy to follow format everything you ever wanted to know about sadomasochism but didn't even know enough to ask. The book is impressive in its scope, addressing areas of bondage, pain processing, dom/sub interactions, safety, how to use floggers, whips, clamps and other implements of "torture", finding partners, and even how to start your own SM organization. My favorite part of the book are the random quotes scattered throughout , addressing all aspects of SM from a personal perspective. SM 101 is more than a how-to book (though the novice will find numerous specifics on just how exactly to tie that knot or what to do with that belt folded so innocently in the dresser ), it includes a significant amount of personal reflection and philosophy gleaned from being an active and well known participant in the scene for over 25 years. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners and those already into BDSM., 14 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
"SM101, A Realistic Introduction, Second Edition" by Jay Wiseman is what I consider to be the best book for newcomers to BDSM and those who want additional information about things they haven't yet tried or understanding terms and techniques that they may not be familiar with.
Jay writes in an easy style; the book is written in plain language and is completely understandable... infinitely "readable". He defines most all the current usage terminology, discusses the basics of SM play and Dominance and Submission better than anyone else in my opinion. It is a "How To" and a "How Not to Do" with explanations about every phase of BDSM play.
The best reason to buy this book, however, is to really understand what safety is all about. Also the book contains lots of resources for further information about the lifestyle as well as a wonderful "negotiation" form for new and experienced partners so that their sessions will be mutually safe and pleasurable. He stresses something that I know is true from my many years in the lifestyle and that is that open communication between consensual partners is of the utmost importance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good grounding, 8 Feb 2013
Provides a good grounding in the basic mechanical side is S and M. A large part of the Dom/sub relationships is the emotional/mental dynamic which this book doesn't cover but never the less a good treatise that majors on safety for the submissive. Intelligent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 17 April 2011
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
I expected this book to be an exploration of the reasons that people enjoy s/m - a more pyschological/sociological exploration and justification of s/m. In addition, I thought it would be about techniques and giving inspiration. It's neither of these things.

This is not really suitable for couples who want to try s/m between themselves; it focuses on people within the s/m scene and gives advice (safety and otherwise) about how to conduct oneself at parties and during 'play' as he calls it.

It's good for what it does as it does attempt to overcome some misconceptions that people have about s/m (about it being violent in a bad way, about wanting to hurt the other person for the sake of hurting etc), but only each reader can be the judge of whether he does that successfully or not. He attempts some diagrams of how to tie knots for bondage but to be honest they might as well not be there they are so useless - they are just pencilled diagrams that are really unclear. For a useful book on bondage knots etc I highly reccommend 'Two Knotty Boys Showing You the Ropes' which gives really really clear photographs of knots through the stages.

The book is useful for learning about different ways of doing things - e.g. different types of rope, whips - but the information is not in depth enough and would be better placed in an instruction/advice type book such as the one mentioned above.

Overall not good for learning in-depth techniques or for couples wanting to try s/m together (perhaps more useful for one half of a couple who is unsure about s/m) as I found that a lot of it focused on how to communicate effectively and how important it is to be safe (well they're very very important) but my partner and I found that the book didn't tell us much we hadn't already considered.

Buy it if you're looking to become involved with an s/m scene and will be 'playing' with people you don't necessarily know that well; or if you're one half of a couple that's not sure about it whereas your other half is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction!, 26 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
In contrast to many books on sadomasochism, SM 101 offers an enlightened introduction, complete with safe, easy-to-understand and humorous instructions and ideas. Wiseman's insights into the drives of those who identify as being "into SM" open the doors for many who have kept their desires in the closet to come out and begin to practice in a safe and healthy manner. He allows his readers to benefit from his years of experience, both as a sadomasochist and as a paramedic. This book is a fun read, and enlightening and emotionally involving as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an EXCELLENT book for both beginners and experienced, 22 Feb 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
SM101 is one of the finest books I have ever read regarding the BDSM lifestyle. It is easy to read and goes into nearly every detail from the most basic for novices to the more intricate aspects for the more experienced. There are several related appendices packed with valuable information and where to find more help on subjects of interest not fully covered in this book. So far, it is absolutely the best book I have read for the the general BDSM lifestyle. A MUST read for all people of the BDSM community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SM101, 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: SM 101: A Realistic Introduction (Paperback)
This was a great introduction to BDSM, everything from safety, to bondage, scenes, headspace, how to get started & whips of course. Good explination of terms etc. I couldnt put this book down untill i had finished it & it left me wanting to put theory to practice.
Highly recomended to any novices out there, wanting to have a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SM 101: A Realistic Introduction
SM 101: A Realistic Introduction by Jay Wiseman (Paperback - 8 Dec 1997)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews