Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
Nothing has motivated me more than Salatin's book, YOU CAN FARM. Finally, we are doing it! Wish I'd had this book 30 years ago, but the author was a child at the time. Extremely well written, shows how a couple willing to work hard can make a profit (when was the last time the average farmer heard that word?) on 20 acres. Very tactfully explains why most...
Published on 20 Jun 1999

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Farming in the USA for Americans
I bought this book hoping to pick up some tips about farming and building a farming business. The book certainly does what it says on the title but is aimed very much at the American farmer who has thousands of acres of land to work with. There is not very much about 'farming' but more of how to turn the farm into a tourist attraction. If you have thousands of acres, then...
Published on 23 July 2009 by Freespirit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 20 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
Nothing has motivated me more than Salatin's book, YOU CAN FARM. Finally, we are doing it! Wish I'd had this book 30 years ago, but the author was a child at the time. Extremely well written, shows how a couple willing to work hard can make a profit (when was the last time the average farmer heard that word?) on 20 acres. Very tactfully explains why most farmers not only are not profitable, but often require someone working off the farm in order to maintain the lifestyle. No longer necessary. But what is necessary is some rethinking of the rules, some creative marketing of what is produced, and a need for the farmer to think of himself (once again) as an independent businessman, rather than a cog in the wheel of agri-industry. Give this one to the young person who wants to go to the land, and watch what happens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious optimism, 31 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
This title caught my eye; I had to make some management choices on some new land we had aquired. We had never grown field crops or livestock before.
I found this book tremendous fun to read. Salatins enthusiasm and self assuredness is refreshing. He knows his subject. This book is biased towards Americians; sometimes it is not clear when he uses certain jargon unfamiliar to Brits. Also, the kind of slagging-off of intensive agriculture to potential customers he proposes you use to highlight your own good produce, seem to be too sensational for use in the UK (eg supermarket chicken = "fecal soup"). You just have to make a few allowances along the way.
I have found this book very helpful in guiding my own thoughts about what farming choices I will be able to make in the future. I helps you to look at your own motivations, and see whether they are right or wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Farming in the USA for Americans, 23 July 2009
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to pick up some tips about farming and building a farming business. The book certainly does what it says on the title but is aimed very much at the American farmer who has thousands of acres of land to work with. There is not very much about 'farming' but more of how to turn the farm into a tourist attraction. If you have thousands of acres, then this book would be a good buy - but if you are looking to expand a small-holding, there are much better books out there aimed at the UK farmer/small holder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, easy to read book, 19 Mar 2008
By 
W. MacLeod (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
This author is obviously a practical, down-to-earth guy who manages to convey his knowledge well through this book. Anyone with an interest in making any money at all out a smallholding should get hold of a copy, the author manages to cover everything from giving you ideas of what to grow/farm through to examples of newsletters to send your customer base. Examples of the authors experiance are scattered throughout and make this a riveting read, even for those of us in the UK. I look forward to purchasing Mr Salatin's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed Full Of Information, 8 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
Wow. This book.

This book has so much information in it that to explain what it is about, well where do i start? In a nutshell it is an encouragement, a guide, an education about ethical, sustainable, profitable farming. Joel explains how if your dream is to be working on the land, that you can do it and make a living off of it, and even eventually a profit. That the old farming models are no longer viable, not just in the sense that they are destroying the environment, pumping the population with chemicals and treating animals inhumanely but that so many farmers are going bankrupt because they can't even break even let alone earn a profit. He gives practical advice on everything from improving the soil to filing your documents. The book is so packed full of information that you are left feeling like you've just eaten at a massive banquet.

It was written in a conversational style (which i love) so it was easy to read and follow. There were some parts which i just did not understand because i live in Australia and the U.S.A can be very different - like their medical system, how that works is the mystery of the universe to me - however there was only a minimal amount and i was able to get through it without ending up too confused.

As the book covered so many bases, there were some chapters that were a little bit tedious to read however to his credit not all of it is meant to be read word for word unless you're actually up to putting that section into practice - like the filing part.

He is quite blunt and honest throughout and shines a lot of light onto the farming and food industry in the U.S.A - it is very eyeopening and he is not afraid of offending anyone in case it gets in the way of the truth. Australia is not as bad as the U.S.A however we are definitely headed that way unless something drastic happens.

He really gave a lot of insight on how to start and run a successful farming enterprise and it has given my husband and i so many tips. I would definitely recommend this book even if you don't want to run a farm, there is just so much useful information on starting your own backyard enterprise no matter what it is. It's also great to read just for the information on the food industry and what you are putting into your body.

This is a book for everyone and i guarantee that you will get at least one useful tidbit out of it - even if it's to convince you that your dream of owning a farm is just that - a unrealistic dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good investment, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
This book already payed for itself a thousand time thousand. And I am not even half-way through it, yet. The guidelines layed out within it will surely destroy any fantasies whilst simultaneously encouraging a realistic way of thinking about farming, gardening, marketing, people, investment of time, money, attention, energy, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book!, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
This book, while written by an American and focusing on the US, is an outstanding step-by-step guide toward farming success. The are many regulatory differences between the US and the UK that need to be considered. Joel Salatin expresses his world view and explains why he has that view... very difficult to debate his view when you understand it. His goal is to make YOU successful. First book I have seen that actually gets into the revenue and expense of farming (again in the US, but probably fair and reasonable). Joel is a cheer leader to get you started and even more passionate about farming. Straight forward written and read with multiple how to guides. If you are debating entering a farming life... even if you live in the CITY, Joel gives you input and advice, if you are considering a Smallholding or more, this book is for you. I have read Adam Henson (CountryFile) and Jimmy Doherty, both good, but this book really gets to the how to. Stop dreaming and get THIS book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joel Salatin and his Polyface Farm, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise (Paperback)
This is the book is for anyone who has ever dreamed of being a farmer. Practical and optimistic, You Can Farm gives prospective farmers a clear, step-by-step approach to turn their vision of a farm into a marketable reality. Illuminating both the pitfalls and the promise of farming, Salatin shows how you can make a living, and even a profit, by working the land. This readable guide is packed with advice that takes into account the whole farm, from getting along with neighbors to deep bedding livestock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Can Farm: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Start & Succeed in a Farming Enterprise
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews