Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeker's Of The True
Rudolph Windsor in his book From Babylon to Timbuktu: A History of Ancient Black Races including the Black Hebrews presents a thoroughly comprehensive history of the original Jews within the backdrop of ancient History. He traces their origins in Babylon within the loins of their forefather Abraham up to their birth and growth in the land of Canaan all the way up to their...
Published on 20 Feb. 2012 by Charlene

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Book But Some Info Suspect
The accuracy of the information in this book is in question. Needs to be more thorough research
and to be updated.
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeker's Of The True, 20 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
Rudolph Windsor in his book From Babylon to Timbuktu: A History of Ancient Black Races including the Black Hebrews presents a thoroughly comprehensive history of the original Jews within the backdrop of ancient History. He traces their origins in Babylon within the loins of their forefather Abraham up to their birth and growth in the land of Canaan all the way up to their final dispersion from Palestine in 70 AD into the greater part of Africa, leading west.

Mr. Windsor exhibits a level of truth-telling that I have only seen in a few books.
He traces the history of the black African Hebrews of Egypt and Ethiopia. We are given lucid glimpses into the Tabiban Kamant and Wasambara Jews who are presently known as the Falashim of Ethiopia. He also takes on intellectual excursions into the backgrounds of the Jews of the Malagasy Republic, which is present day Madagascar. And from there, the reader treks in to the world of the North African Jews to the black Jewish kingdom of Ghana. Out of the Jewish kingdom of Ghana, Windsor relays the interesting story of Eldad the Danite who informed the Algerians of this Hebrew empire south of the Sahara in the western Sudan. Eldad lived in the ninth century. (p. 92)

It was from Windsor's book that I began to scientifically consider the so-called "black race" originating from Asia and not Africa. He quotes a Herbert Wendt, a white German scholar who asserts, "All indications point to the fact that Asia was the cradle of the Black race." (p.35) Wendt certainly makes some unsettling conclusions in his book It Began in Babel, another good book that is out-of-print.

Windsor maintains that even the early Talmudic scholars were black, the eminent Moses Maimonides (aka "Rambam") being one of them. (p. 113) He then turns our attention to the black Jews of Angola known as the Mavumba, the Jews among the Ashanti, the Jews of Dahomey, and the Yoruba Jews of Nigeria. The Yoruba Jews in particular called themselves by the name of "B'nai Ephraim" or "Sons of Ephraim."(p.131)

Windsor quotes Godbey, "These facts have peculiar significance when the presence of Judaism among American Negroes is to be considered. Hundreds of thousands of slaves were brought to America from this Western Africa during the days of the traffic, beginning nearly four hundred years ago." He also says: "How much more of Judaism survived among West African Negroes in that earlier time? As persecuted communities, they were rather more in danger than other Negroes of being raided by war parties and sold as slaves. It may be considered certain that many partially (why not fully?, is my question) Judaized Negroes were among the slaves in America. How many of them might still hold some Jewish customs here is another question." (Godbey, p. 246) It has been postulated by scholars that so-called "African-Americans" are descended from Yorubas.

If Godbey is right about "Judaized Negroes being in the traffic" (and I believe he is), then I am led to entertain that American blacks are descendants from the tribe of Ephraim, which is apart of the House of Joseph, Manasseh comprising the other half. I'm also led to think that they could be of the tribe of Asher, also being possible descendants of the Ashanti, the people of Ashan, which I'm thinking could be a derivative from Asher. Windsor, referencing Nahum Slouschz, says that the Hebrew tribes of Asher and Zebulon were in Carthage since the foundation of the city. (p. 108) Could it be that these Hebrews of Asher and Zebulon made their way to West Africa, as well? It is highly probable. Windsor makes an interesting point when discussing the Jewish expulsion from Spain in 1492: "These black Jews would naturally go to African countries most of all, because of less persecution and they could disguise themselves amongst the blacks." (p. 116)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
Since late teens I wondered how on earth Jews living in Israel could be white. An genuine and quite innocently puzzling thought which had been at the back of my mind for some 20 odd years. In recent years this niggling thought is beginning to be answered. The current Jews are not real Jews!

The original Israelites were Black people.

This book provides a history not taught in uk schools or in fact among the Black community but which fills in some of the questions such as how the races came to be, tying this in which Biblical accounts.

We are fallible and no human being has ever been 100% right but this book goes a long way to confirm that the Hebrew Abrahamic race, written of in the Bible, were in fact Black people.

Whether this is your first book in the search for the truth of who are the original Israelites or one of many, this book is a essential read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, insightful book., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
Awesome, insightful book. Even though I don't 100% agree with everything in it as I'm still doing my own research. It's definitely a must read for those who want a more accurate understanding of history, rather than that garbage we were taught in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
am well pleased with this purchase, The product is as seen advertised on Amazon, This book is exactly is i needed for my studies and am well pleased with price and product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some off the information I knew already as I like reading ancient books about the movement of black race, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
Some off the information I knew already as I like reading ancient books about the movement of black race. As an ex nurse and a member of the race I was very intrigued of how we came to be all over the place at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the good books have read so far, its touches areas that you are unlikely to hear in the popular media
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 July 2011
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
From Babylon to Timbuktu is life saving, I learn so much African History (or I'll say Asiatic History).
Self Knowledge of our past is illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this Auther should of received academy awards through Our wown ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
this Auther should of received
academy awards through Our wown PEOPLE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
VERY GOOD BOOK FOR BOTH BLACK AND WHITE PEOPLE EASY READIED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why is this book suddenly risen to £120? which ..., 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Ms. G. Elliott "Gillian Elliott" (UK, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Babylon to Timbuktu (Paperback)
Why is this book suddenly risen to £120? which is it any book that teaches us the origins of who we are as black people becomes an expensive item, and I expect this rise to some silly amount to make it unobtainable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Babylon to Timbuktu
From Babylon to Timbuktu by Rudolph R. Windsor (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2003)
£10.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews